Best Selling Books by Delia Owens

Discover best selling books by Delia Owens from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 18 results
>>
release date: Aug 14, 2018
Check price
Where the Crawdads Sing
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

The New York Times Bestseller

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" --Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
release date: Oct 01, 1984
Check price
Cry of the Kalahari: Seven Years in Africa's Last Great Wilderness
This account of the author's seven-year stay in Africa's Kalahari wilderness covers their adventures of survival, their contact with curious and dangerous animals, and the establishment of their conservation research project
release date: Aug 20, 2009
Check price
The Handbook to Literary Research

The Handbook to Literary Research is a practical guide for students embarking on postgraduate work in Literary Studies. It introduces and explains research techniques, methodologies and approaches to information resources, paying careful attention to the differences between countries and institutions, and providing a range of key examples.

This fully updated second edition is divided into five sections which cover:

  • tools of the trade – a brand new chapter outlining how to make the most of literary resources
  • textual scholarship and book history – explains key concepts and variations in editing, publishing and bibliography
  • issues and approaches in literary research – presents a critical overview of theoretical approaches essential to literary studies
  • the dissertation – demonstrates how to approach, plan and write this important research exercise
  • glossary – provides comprehensive explanations of key terms, and a checklist of resources.

Packed with useful tips and exercises and written by scholars with extensive experience as teachers and researchers in the field, this volume is the ideal Handbook for those beginning postgraduate research in literature.

release date: May 24, 2006
Check price
Secrets of the Savanna: Twenty-Three Years in the African Wilderness Unraveling the Mysteries of Elephants and People
From the best-selling authors of Cry of the Kalahari, the dramatic story of Mark and Delia Owens's last years in Africa, fighting to save elephants, villages, and, in the end, themselves.

Crossing stick bridges over swollen rivers and battling swarms of tsetse flies, Mark and Delia Owens found their way into one of the most startlingly beautiful, wild places on earth, the northern Luangwa Valley in Zambia. As they were setting up camp to launch their lion research, gunfire echoed off the cliffs nearby. Gangs of ivory poachers were not only shooting the elephants but also virtually enslaving local villagers. Against unimaginable odds, Mark and Delia stopped the poaching by helping the villagers find other work, start small businesses, and improve their health care and education.

Living with wild creatures all around (lions sleeping at their toes, an orphan elephant dancing a jig in camp), Mark and Delia observed surprising similarities between the behaviors of humans and those of other animals. The bonding among young female animals and the competition among males reminded them of their own childhoods. As the elephant population slowly recovered from poaching, the Owenses saw parallels to human societies under stress. Older elephants, killed for their tusks, had taken with them the knowledge that had been passed down to the young for generations. The slaughter of the elders led to chaos -- single mothers without older females to guide them, solitary orphans, rowdy gangs of young males -- and a scientific mystery: how could there be so many babies and so few females old enough to be mothers? A young orphan they named Gift eventually provided the clue to the remarkable discovery that revealed the elephants' secret.

After the local ivory poachers were put out of business, they shifted their sights from the elephants to the Owenses. To save themselves, Mark and Delia took a lesson from the elephants, employing one of the last secrets of the savanna.

release date: Oct 01, 1992
Check price
The Eye of the Elephant: An Epic Adventure in the African Wilderness
Two naturalists describe how a battle to save the elephants of Africa turned into a fight for their lives when commercial poachers heard of their work. By the authors of Cry of the Kalahari. 60,000 first printing. National ad/promo. Tour.
release date: Apr 02, 2007
Check price
The Business of Ecotourism
The Business of Ecotourism provides sound advice on building and sustaining your ecotourism business during good and bad economic times. Balance nature and profit while maintaining integrity in the industry.
release date: Mar 21, 1999
Check price
The Handbook to Literary Research

A Handbook to Literary Research is a vital, one of a kind student resource, which has been written specifically for those embarking on a Masters degree in Literature. It provides an introduction to research techniques, methodologies and information sources relevant to the study of literature at postgraduate level. The unique and invaluable guide is divided into four sections:

* a practical guide to the uses of research libraries, research sources and computers, including the Internet
* an introduction to the work of textual scholars and bibliographers, focusing particularly on the practical and theoretical issues faced by textual editors
* an overview of literary research and literary theory, including outlines of feminist theory, deconstruction, reader-response and reception theory, new historicism, and post-colonial theory
* a detailed guide on how to write and present a Masters, including a glossary and checklist for finding guides, reference books and other study sources.

release date: Feb 08, 2010
Check price
Handbook of Poultry Science and Technology, Secondary Processing (Volume 2)
A comprehensive reference for the poultryindustry—Volume 2 describes poultry processing fromraw meat to final retail products

With an unparalleled level of coverage, the Handbook ofPoultry Science and Technology provides an up-to-date andcomprehensive reference on poultry processing. Volume 2:Secondary Processing covers processing poultry from raw meat touncooked, cooked or semi-cooked retail products. It includes thescientific, technical, and engineering principles of poultryprocessing, methods and product categories, product manufacturingand attributes, and sanitation and safety.

Volume 2: Secondary Processing is divided into sevenparts:

  • Secondary processing of poultry products—anoverview
  • Methods in processing poultry products—includesemulsions and gelations; breading and battering; mechanicaldeboning; marination, cooking, and curing; and non-meatingredients
  • Product manufacturing—includes canned poultrymeat, turkey bacon and sausage, breaded product (nuggets), pasteproduct (pâté), poultry ham, luncheon meat, processedfunctional egg products, and special dietary products for theelderly, the ill, children, and infants
  • Product quality and sensory attributes—includestexture and tenderness, protein and poultry meat quality, flavors,color, handling refrigerated poultry, and more
  • Engineering principles, operations, andequipment—includes processing equipment, thermalprocessing, packaging, and more
  • Contaminants, pathogens, analysis, and qualityassurance—includes microbial ecology and spoilage inpoultry and poultry products; campylobacter; microbiology ofready-to-eat poultry products; and chemical and microbialanalysis
  • Safety systems in the United States—includes U.S.sanitation requirements, HACCP, U.S. enforcement tools andmechanisms
release date: Oct 10, 2014
Check price
It Was A Dark & Stormy Night: A Charity Anthology (Cliches For A Cause) (Volume 1)
It was a dark and stormy night, and the writers of Herding Cats Press decided they wanted to give back. But what could they do? Write, they told themselves. We can write. Thus, Clichés for a Cause was born. Join eleven writers and multiple artists as they take you on a twisted whirlwind ride through this charity anthology. All proceeds benefit The Office of Letters and Light, the organization that hosts National Novel Writing Month, the Young Writers Program, and other writing events throughout the year. Settle in on a thunderous night and prepare to be scared, entertained, and to donate. All at once.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Feb 08, 2010
Check price
Handbook of Poultry Science and Technology, Primary Processing (Volume 1)
A comprehensive reference for the poultryindustry—Volume 1 describes everything from husbandryup to preservation

With an unparalleled level of coverage, the Handbook ofPoultry Science and Technology provides an up-to-date andcomprehensive reference on poultry processing. Volume 1describes husbandry, slaughter, preservation, and safety. Itpresents all the details professionals need to know beginning withlive poultry through to the freezing of whole poultry andpredetermined cut parts. Throughout, the coverage focuses on oneparamount objective: an acceptable quality and a safe product forconsumer purchase and use. The text includes safety requirementsand regulatory enforcement in the United States, EU, and Asia.

Volume 1: Primary Processing is divided into sevenparts:

  • Poultry: biology to pre-mortem status—includessuch topics as classification and biology, competitive exclusion,transportation to the slaughterhouse, and more
  • Slaughtering and cutting—includes theslaughterhouse building and required facilities, equipment, andoperations; carcass evaluation and cutting; kosher and halalslaughter; and more
  • Preservation: refrigeration and freezing—includesthe biology and physicochemistry of poultry meat in rigor mortisunder ambient temperature, as well as changes that occur duringfreezing and thawing; engineering principles; equipment andprocesses; quality; refrigeration and freezing for variousfacilities; and more
  • Preservation: heating, drying, chemicals, andirradiation
  • Composition, chemistry, and sensoryattributes—includes quality characteristics,microbiology, nutritional components, chemical composition, andtexture of raw poultry meat
  • Eggs—includes egg attributes, science, andtechnology
  • Sanitation and Safety—includes PSE,poultry-related foodborne diseases, OSHA requirements, HACCP andits application, and more
1 - 10 of 18 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2018 Link2Library Inc.