Best Selling Books by Owen King

Discover best selling books by Owen King from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 100 results
>>
release date: Sep 26, 2017
Check price
Sleeping Beauties: A Novel
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?

In a future so real and near it might be now, something happens when women go to sleep: they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If they are awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed or violated, the women become feral and spectacularly violent. And while they sleep they go to another place, a better place, where harmony prevails and conflict is rare.

One woman, the mysterious “Eve Black,” is immune to the blessing or curse of the sleeping disease. Is Eve a medical anomaly to be studied? Or is she a demon who must be slain? Abandoned, left to their increasingly primal urges, the men divide into warring factions, some wanting to kill Eve, some to save her. Others exploit the chaos to wreak their own vengeance on new enemies. All turn to violence in a suddenly all-male world.

Set in a small Appalachian town whose primary employer is a women’s prison, Sleeping Beauties is a wildly provocative, gloriously dramatic father-son collaboration that feels particularly urgent and relevant today.
release date: Sep 17, 2014
Check price
WHY DARKNESS MATTERS:  (New and Improved): The Power of Melanin in the Brain
The Anthropology and clinical role of melanin and brain or neuromelanin in the evolution and development of the human body and brain, including the higher cognitive and psychological functions, is explored in this well documented book of studies by some of the leading figures in the field.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Mar 20, 2015
Check price
Wreck of the Whale Ship Essex: The Complete Illustrated Edition: The Extraordinary and Distressing Memoir That Inspired Herman Melville's Moby-Dick

Read Owen Chase's memoir which inspired Moby-Dick and In the Heart of the Sea, the major motion picture from Ron Howard,released December 2015.

Owen Chase was the first mate on the ill-fated American whaling ship Essex, which was attacked and sunk by a sperm whale in the southern Pacific Ocean in 1820. The crew spent months at sea in leaking boats and endured the blazing sun, attacks by killer whales, and lack of food. The men were forced to resort to cannibalism before the final eight survivors were rescued. Herman Melville based his 1851 novel, Moby-Dick, on the sinking.

Chase recorded the tale of the ship's sinking and the following events with harrowing clarity in the Wreck of the Whale Ship Essex.

"I turned around and saw him about one hundred rods [500 m or 550 yards] directly ahead of us, coming down with twice his ordinary speed of around 24 knots (44 km/h), and it appeared with tenfold fury and vengeance in his aspect. The surf flew in all directions about him with the continual violent thrashing of his tail. His head about half out of the water, and in that way he came upon us, and again struck the ship." - Owen Chase.

Filled with art, photographs, maps, and artifacts, this is a richly illustrated edition of Chase's memoir, augmented with memoirs of other participants, as well as the perspectives of historians, contemporary and modern.

"If you are interested in a coffee-table book which covers the importance of the whaling industry and the wreck that influenced Herman Melville to write the American classic Moby-Dick, then get the Complete Illustrated Edition: Wreck of the Whale Ship Essex." - William Connery, Author of Civil War Northern Virginia 1861

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Sep 04, 2018
Check price
Small Blows Against Encroaching Totalitarianism (Manifesto Series)

Since the 2016 election, reading the news each day can send even the most placid among us into a paralyzing apoplexia. We are enraged, we are bewildered, and then we get nothing done all day. We go to bed with teeth clenched, wake up, and it begins again.

But there are things we can do to feel a little less powerless.

Gathered here are twenty-two pieces in which powerful voices, from poets and novelists to actors and activists, speak to our predicament, to their state of mind, and to the crucial importance of committing to take action in 2018.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Mar 19, 2013
Check price
Double Feature: A Novel
An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film—from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King—for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

SAM DOLAN is a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film. He has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan—a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam’s dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam’s eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a contractor who can’t stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true-crime show; and a slouching indie-film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster.

Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Dolan family’s friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything—regret, resentment, dignity, moving pictures, the dead—and taking it again from the top. Against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, college campus life, contemporary Brooklyn, and upstate New York, Owen King’s epic debut novel combines propulsive storytelling with mordant wit and brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.
release date: Sep 01, 2003
Check price
Out of the Revolution: The Development of Africana Studies
The introduction of 'Black' studies programs into institutions of higher education was a direct response to the mandate for change at all levels that characterized the civil rights movement and the social rebellions of the 1950s and 1960s. In Out of the Revolution, Delores P. Aldridge and Carlene Young collect thirty-one of the nation's top scholars to provide a complete reference for understanding the impetus for, the development of, and future considerations for the discipline of 'Africana' studies. Topics addressed include epistemological considerations; humanistic perspectives; the role of bureaucracy and the academic institution; the social, psychological, political, and economic dimensions; the position of black women in the field; and how the discipline has empowered the black student. This invaluable resource for educators and students alike concludes with a look at graduates in Africana studies and their careers and a discussion of the future of the field.
release date: Dec 01, 2017
Check price
Time's Reservoir: A Quabbin Quills Anthology (Volume 1)
The Quabbin region of Massachusetts has a storied history. Deep beneath the waters of her reservoir, time has stood still for close to a century in the flooded streets of the cities lost to progress. Join twenty-two contemporary Central and Western Massachusetts authors as they embark on exploring what 'Time's Reservoir' means to them. This is the first Quabbin Quills Anthology. Founded in 2017 by Garrett Zecker and Steve Piscitello, Quabbin Quills is a Massachusetts non-profit writer's group. Our purpose is to unite authors in the Quabbin area to put together high-quality anthologies of our best work. Proceeds from the anthology will be going into future publications, local educational programs, and scholarships. We offer workshops throughout the summer as a means of improving our submissions while building a local community of like-minded artists.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Oct 01, 1987
Check price
release date: Jan 06, 2015
Check price
The Devil's Own Work (Valancourt 20th Century Classics)
"More chills in its little length than in a whole shelf of bestsellers." - Stephen King

"At once moral fable, cautionary ghost story and inspired attack on the whole hellbent drift of modern letters, this is a splendid tale, splendidly told, which Ford or Henry James would have been glad to have written." - Robert Nye, Guardian

"Wry and insightful . . . toys with the notion of demonic possession but becomes a thoroughly realistic and highly original story of revenge; a chilling cautionary tale." - Elaine Kendall, Los Angeles Times

"A brief return to the world of Faust, Mephistopheles and the Devil pact. Mr. Judd . . . achieves a deep polish." - Robert Grudin, The New York Times Book Review

After Edward, a rising young author, pens a savage review of the new novel by the world-famous O.M. Tyrell, he is surprised to receive an invitation to visit the old man at his villa in the south of France. The night of their meeting, Tyrell dies, and soon after, Edward's career mysteriously starts to soar as he earns fame, fortune and critical acclaim. But despite his achievements, Edward seems haunted, even tormented. His friend, the narrator, begins to put together the pieces of the story: an ancient, inscrutable manuscript, a beautiful, ageless woman who attaches herself to any writer who possesses it, and a bargain to achieve success at a terrible price . . .

Winner of Britain's prestigious Guardian Fiction Prize, Alan Judd's modern classic The Devil's Own Work (1991) is, as Owen King writes in the new introduction to this edition, "a perfect novel about the demonic possession that is literary ambition." This edition also features a new afterword by the author, in which he reveals the inspirations for this haunting tale.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Sep 09, 2004
Check price
Patriotism, Democracy, and Common Sense: Restoring America's Promise at Home and Abroad
Why have American policies failed? What alternative policies can return America to its promise, internally and in the eyes of a global community? This book answers these questions in a preposterous way. It asks citizens and policy makers to actually connect the dots―to move America forward by developing mutually supportive and complementary foreign, national security, Middle East, economic, domestic, inner city, media, campaign finance, and voting reform policies.
1 - 10 of 100 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2018 Link2Library Inc.