Best Selling Books by Randall Silvis

Discover best selling books by Randall Silvis from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 35 results
>>
release date: Dec 01, 2017
Check price
Only the Rain

When family man and war veteran Russell loses his job as a quarry worker, his life suddenly seems more like a waking nightmare than a chance to finally live the American dream. Facing bills, a new baby, and a bone-dry bank account, he’s got nothing left to lose. Russell comes to the rescue of a naked stranger dancing in the rain, and what was supposed to be a straightforward good deed turns into a spiral of danger. When Russell finds an enticing stash of money in the woman’s house, he knows the cash could be his only hope. Taking just a handful will save his family’s future.

His “victimless crime” seems to be anything but risky—until the criminals he robbed come looking for their dirty money. Russell’s ready to surrender it, but then his daughter gets sick…and he must choose between saving her or giving the devils their due. Someone’s going to pay. The question is, how much?

release date: Jan 10, 2017
Check price
Two Days Gone (Ryan DeMarco Mystery)

"...a suspenseful, literary thriller that will resonate with readers long after the book is finished. A terrific choice for Dennis Lehane fans." ― Library Journal, Starred Review

For fans of Tana French, Two Days Gone is a gripping new literary suspense novel from acclaimed author Randall Silvis that tells the story of a small college town rocked by a gruesome murder, and the beloved English professor presumed to be the culprit.

The perfect family. The perfect house. The perfect life. All gone now.

What could cause a man, when all the stars of fortune are shining upon him, to suddenly snap and destroy everything he has built? This is the question that haunts Sergeant Ryan DeMarco after the wife and children of beloved college professor and bestselling author Thomas Huston are found slaughtered in their home. Huston himself has disappeared and so is immediately cast as the prime suspect.

DeMarco knows―or thinks he knows―that Huston couldn't have been capable of murdering his family. But if Huston is innocent, why is he on the run? And does the half-finished manuscript he left behind contain clues to the mystery of his family's killer?

A masterful new thriller by acclaimed author Randall Silvis, Two Days Gone is a taut, suspenseful story that will will break your heart as much as it will haunt your dreams.

release date: Jan 23, 2018
Check price
Walking the Bones (Ryan DeMarco Mystery)

When long-buried secrets come back to the surface...

The bones of seven young girls, picked clean and carefully preserved, discovered years ago... that's all Sergeant Ryan DeMarco knows about the unsolved crime he has unwittingly been roped into investigating during what is supposed to be a healing road trip with his new love, Jayme.

DeMarco is still reeling from the case that led to death of his best friend months ago and wants nothing more than to lay low. Unfortunately, the small southern town of Jayme's idyllic youth is not exactly a place that lets strangers go unnoticed―especially strangers who have a history of solving violent crimes. And if there's anything DeMarco knows, it's that a killer always leaves clues behind, just waiting for the right person to come along and put all the pieces together...

Walking the Bones is a story about things buried―memories, regrets, secrets, and bodies. Acclaimed author Randall Silvis delivers another heart-stopping investigation as DeMarco finds himself once again drawn into a case that will demand more of himself than he may be willing to give.

release date: Dec 06, 2011
Check price
The Boy Who Shoots Crows
A riveting new psychological thriller from a "a masterful storyteller" (New York Times Book Review).

Yesterday, a local boy went missing in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. Transplanted painter Charlotte Dunleavy was used to seeing him go into the woods, rifle in hand, to shoot at crows. Suffering from the debilitating aftereffects of a migraine, Charlotte is shrouded in a fog of pain and barely remembers the details of the day, just splinters of memory, as if they were a dream-but nothing concrete enough to help the local sheriff in his search.

Outside of Charlotte's windows, the woods are peaceful, the play of light and dark among the leaves offering her inspiration for her art. But the truth can penetrate even the deepest shadows of a forest-and a killer's mind...

release date: Feb 01, 1993
Check price
An Occasional Hell
Elizabeth Catanzaro calls on Ernest DeWalt, a retired private detective and crime novelist, when her husband is killed and his girlfriend and her husband disappear hours after Elizabeth told the man about their spouses' long-time Saturday meetings
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Feb 07, 2017
Check price
On Night's Shore: A Novel (Edgar Allan Poe Mysteries)

"A master storyteller." ― New York Times Book Review

"A riveting tale of murder and betrayal... On Night's Shore drips with descriptive power." ― New York Post

On Night's Shore brings us deep into the troubled psyche of Edgar Allan Poe and the power struggle between the sleazy underbelly and the business elite of nineteenth-century New York City.

Standing on the grimy banks of the Hudson River, street urchin Augie Dubbins spots a young woman toss her baby into the water, then jump in herself. As the only witness to the tragedy, Augie sees an opportunity to make a few pennies recounting the events, and in doing so encounters a struggling young journalist named Edgar Allan Poe, a poet and newspaper hack whose penchant for saying the wrong thing at the wrong time has earned him more than a few enemies.

When the unlikely duo discover the body of yet another young woman shortly after, they become entrapped in a mire of murder, greed, and power that stretches from the Five Points slums to the gleaming heights of Fifth Avenue.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Dec 07, 2004
Check price
Doubly Dead
In 1847, famous author and poet Edgar Allan Poe, haunted by the death of his wife, arrives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to start a new life, only to find a city plagued by a cholera epidemic and a serial killer who is preying on attractive young women from the merchant class. Originally published as Disquiet Heart. Reprint.
release date: Jun 01, 1996
Check price
Dead Man Falling
Helping a young woman find her brother's killer is the biggest risk wildlife filmmaker Mac Parris has ever taken, since he has spent most of his adult life hiding from the FBI and his own past in pursuit of revenge.
release date: May 20, 2002
Check price
Disquiet Heart: A Thriller
After the death of his beloved wife, a devastated Poe decides that a change of scenery is in order. He has been invited to Pittsburgh by a wealthy benefactor, Dr. Alfred Brunrichter, a man of intriguing contradiction who on the one hand was fascinated by subjects so macabre that even Poe did not wish to consider, while on the other hand was solicitous of Poe's comfort in every regard and was a local philanthropist and patron of the arts. Augie Dubbins, now a young man in search of adventure, joins Poe in order to keep an eye on his increasingly maudlin friend.

After an exhausting journey across the length of Pennsylvania, their first glimpse of Pittsburgh is not a heartening one. The city, a tight triangle of enterprise squeezed between the Allegheny and Monongahela Rivers, is gray with factory smoke; its riverbanks clogged with barges, streamboats and freighters, choked with log rafts from the denuded forests farther north. It is at every turn a working-class city, gritty and rough. Moreover, the air of Pittsburgh reeks of death - a cholera epidemic has recently swept through the city, killing hundreds - and Poe and Augie soon learn the real reason behind the city's malaise.

Several young females, all attractive women in their late teens, have disappeared over the past six months. All are of the merchant class - not among the cultural elite but not outright prostitutes either. With Poe almost incapacitated by the lavish attention of their host, Augie finds himself exploring Pittsburgh on his own and begins to investigate the killings.

With great attention to period detail and utilizing all of his skill as a seasoned novelist, Randall Silvis once again crafts a wonderful historical thriller that will leave you gripping the edge of your seats.
release date: Oct 01, 1984
Check price
The Luckiest Man in the World: Winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize
Stories tell of a handyman who overhears a murder plot, a revolutionary who falls asleep on guard duty, a trash man pondering his life, a sidewalk artist, a retired soldier, and a midnight rendezvous
1 - 10 of 35 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.