release date: Aug 29, 2013
Check price
Counting by 7s
In the tradition of Out of My Mind Wonder and Mockingbird this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider coping with loss and discovering the true meaning of family Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions who finds it comforting to count by 7s It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life until now Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash leaving her alone in a baffling world The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy This extraordinarily odd but extraordinarily endearing girl manages to push through her grief Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book This is a gorgeous funny and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget -John Corey Whaley author of Where Things Come Back Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book -Sharon Creech Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons In achingly beautiful prose Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous hilarious and confounding glory Counting by 7s is a triumph -Maria Semple author of Whered You Go Bernadette
Product details
BindingHardcover
Sales rank197364
Pages384
ManufacturerDial Books
EAN9780803738553
List price$23.99
Price$21.59

Google Book Preview



  • Copyright © 2018 Link2Library Inc.