2012 Notable Children's Books-Best in Best

View all Best Recommendations for Kids book lists; This list was last updated on 2/24/2012
Send to My Email      

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
   
1 - 14 of 14 results
release date: Sep 13, 2011
Check price
Who Has What?
The trusted, New York Times best-selling author of It's Perfectly Normal presents a charming and reassuring picture book series for preschoolers.

Young children are curious about almost everything. Asking questions is one of many ways they learn about themselves and the world around them. Now, this unique series for our youngest children provides easy-to-understand facts and answers to their delightful, thoughtful, and often nonstop questions. Launching the series is WHO HAS WHAT?, a simple story following Nellie and Gus on a family outing to the beach. Humorous illustrations, conversations between the siblings, and a clear text all reassure young kids that whether they have a girl's body or a boy's, their bodies are perfectly normal, healthy, and wonderful. Authoring the series is Robie H. Harris, whose nonfiction books are known as the source for addressing kids' questions about themselves, their families, and their friends. Nadine Bernard Westcott's accurate and entertaining illustrations offer an inviting way for children to discover straightforward, fascinating information about themselves.
release date: Mar 07, 2011
Check price
These Hands
Joseph's grandpa could do almost anything with his hands. He could play the piano, throw a curveball, and tie a triple bowline knot in three seconds flat. But in the 1950s and 60s, he could not bake bread at the Wonder Bread factory. Factory bosses said white people would not want to eat bread touched by the hands of the African Americans who worked there.

In this powerful intergenerational story, Joseph learns that people joined their hands together to fight discrimination so that one day, their hands—Joseph's hands—could do anything at all in this whole wide world.

release date: Mar 22, 2011
Check price
Tell Me the Day Backwards
In this delightful bedtime story, a young bear tells his mama all about his exciting day in reverse inspiring little listeners to do the same.

Just before going to bed, Timmy Bear and his mama play a game they call Tell Me the Day Backwards. Timmy tries to remember everything that happened to him that day in reverse, from watching the sunset on the hill to the picnic supper before that, from being chased by bees to finding honey in an old tree stump, all the way back to waking up that morning from his winter-long hibernation. Albert Lamb and David McPhail spin a charming bedtime story sure to have parents and children sharing their own day backwards with each other.
release date: Jun 14, 2011
Check price
Should I Share My Ice Cream? (An Elephant and Piggie Book)
Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.

Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In Should I Share My Ice Cream? Gerald has a big decision to make. But will he make it in time?
Using vocabulary that is perfect for beginning readers (and vetted by an early-learning specialist), Mo Willems has crafted a funny story about the challenges of doing the right thing. Fans of the Geisel Award-winning duo will eagerly eat it up!
release date: Oct 19, 2011
Check price
Over and Under the Snow
Over the snow, the world is hushed and white.

But under the snow is a secret world of squirrels and snowshoe hares, bears and bullfrogs, and many other animals who live through the winter, safe and warm.

OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW takes readers on a cross country ski trip through the winter woods to discover the secret world of animals living under the snow.
release date: Jan 01, 2011
Check price
Little White Rabbit

One bright spring daya little white rabbitsets out from home on an adventure.What does he find?Look! Everything is new.Anything is possible. . . .

release date: Jan 03, 2012
Check price
Little Treasures
A tender collection of endearments for children the world over.
All over the world, people express their love for their children through endearments, such as “sweetie pie” or “peanut.” A child might be called little angel, angelito, in Spanish or precious, bao bei, in Chinese or my sweet little moon, mera chanda, in Hindi.
Little Treasures offers a wealth of endearments in fourteen languages to share with your own beloved poppet and petit chou.
 
release date: Aug 18, 2011
Check price
King Jack and the Dragon
A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime bookperfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning We're Going on a Bear Hunt.
 
Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book
Bank Street Book Committee Best Children's Books of the Year
Kate Greenaway Award

“It's an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent's embrace.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth.”—Kirkus Reviews
release date: Sep 27, 2011
Check price
I Want My Hat Back
A New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of 2011!

A picture-book delight by a rising talent tells a cumulative tale with a mischievous twist.


The bear's hat is gone, and he wants it back. Patiently and politely, he asks the animals he comes across, one by one, whether they have seen it. Each animal says no, some more elaborately than others. But just as the bear begins to despond, a deer comes by and asks a simple question that sparks the bear's memory and renews his search with a vengeance. Told completely in dialogue, this delicious take on the classic repetitive tale plays out in sly illustrations laced with visual humor-- and winks at the reader with a wry irreverence that will have kids of all ages thrilled to be in on the joke.
release date: Feb 08, 2011
Check price
I Broke My Trunk! (An Elephant and Piggie Book)

Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.

Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.

Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.



Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In I Broke My Trunk! Gerald tells Piggie the long, crazy story about breaking his trunk. Will Piggie end up with a long, crazy story of her own?

Once again, Mo Willems creates another hilarious escapade starring the Geisel Award-winning duo. Vetted by an early-learning specialist, I Broke My Trunk! will have readers breaking into laughter left and right!
release date: Aug 30, 2011
Check price
Grandpa Green
Grandpa Green wasn't always a gardener. He was a boy who lived on a farm and a child who had chickenpox. He was a soldier, a husband and, most of all, an artist. Follow his grandson through a garden where memories are handed down through the shapes of topiary trees and imagination recreates things forgotten. GRANDPA GREEN opens the door to a garden of wonder which parents and grandparents will be able to share with children for generations to come.
release date: May 24, 2011
Check price
Blackout
One hot summer night in the city, all the power goes out. The TV shuts off and a boy wails, "Mommm!" His sister can no longer use the phone, Mom can't work on her computer, and Dad can't finish cooking dinner. What's a family to do? When they go up to the roof to escape the heat, they find the lights--in stars that can be seen for a change--and so many neighbors it's like a block party in the sky! On the street below, people are having just as much fun--talking, rollerblading, and eating ice cream before it melts. The boy and his family enjoy being not so busy for once. They even have time to play a board game together. When the electricity is restored, everything can go back to normal . . . but not everyone likes normal. The boy switches off the lights, and out comes the board game again.
Using a combination of panels and full bleed illustrations that move from color to black-and-white and back to color, John Rocco shows that if we are willing to put our cares aside for a while, there is party potential in a summer blackout.
release date: May 10, 2011
Check price
A Ball for Daisy
Winner of the 2012 Randolph Caldecott Medal

This New York Times Bestseller and New York Times Best Illustrated Book relates a story about love and loss as only Chris Rashcka can tell it. Any child who has ever had a beloved toy break will relate to Daisy's anguish when her favorite ball is destroyed by a bigger dog. In the tradition of his nearly wordless picture book Yo! Yes?, Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka explores in pictures the joy and sadness that having a special toy can bring. Raschka's signature swirling, impressionistic illustrations and his affectionate story will particularly appeal to young dog lovers and teachers and parents who have children dealing with the loss of something special.
release date: Mar 22, 2011
Check price
All the Water in the World
Faucet
            well
raincloud 
            sea …

from each of these
comes water.

But where does
Water go?

To find out, honey,
turn the page,
dive in 
    with tongue 
          or toes, 
with eyes and ears and nose—
and wonder
at the flow
of this great world's
life story.
1 - 14 of 14 results


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.