G2 Home reading list-Begining

View all Recommendations by Grades > Recommendations for Grade 2 book lists; This list was last updated on 4/25/2013
Send to My Email      
Ensure a brighter and richer future for your child  by encouraging him or her to read each day.
Reading to and with your child will promote growth in his or her reading ability as well as provide an enjoyable experience that will increase your child's motivation to read. A significant growth in reading ability typically occurs in the primary grades. Please spend time reading to and with your child daily. Encourage your child to read sometimes “all by him or herself,” and at other times to read a book with you. All children enjoy listening to stories, so please make this activity a consistent part of your daily plan at home for reading success. The list is created by Pinellas County Schools.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
   
1 - 19 of 19 results
Check price
Young Cam Jansen and the Dinosaur Game
A jar full of toy dinosaurs, a game of musical chairs, and a smudge of chocolate cake. Can Cam Jansen put the clues together to solve a birthday party puzzle?
Check price
Touch the Sky Summer
Luke and his brother Peter spend a week at their grandparents' lakeside cabin, and they experience many childhood joys, such as hiking up a nearby mountain, swimming in the lake, and learning how to fish."
Check price
There Is a Carrot in My Ear and Other Noodle Tales

Meet the silliest family in the world!

Grandpa Brown tries to hatch a baby horse.Mr. Brown shouts at his underwear. And Jane Brown grows a carrot in her ear (she planted a radish). Here are six stories to make you giggle and laugh.

Check price
Teacher Trouble
1984 paperback, high interest, low reading level teen fiction
release date: Apr 24, 1992
Check price
The Seven Treasure Hunts

The Hunt is On!

On Saturday, Jackson and his O best pal, Goat, hide treasures for each other to find. It's the Hunt for the Secret Treasure -- and it's so much fun that the boys decide to do it all over again. This time, the hunts will be trickier, and the prizes will be outstanding.

But everything goes wrong. The best treasure of all disappears from its hiding place. Only one person could be responsible: the ogre, also known as Goat's older sister, Rachel. Can the two friends find the treasure before she gets the last laugh?

Check price
Owl at Home

Celebrated author and illustrator Arnold Lobel welcomes you to Owl's cozy home in this Level 2 I Can Read book. Parents and beginning readers who enjoy Lobel's Frog and Toad series will fall in love with these warm stories featuring Owl. Owl lives by himself in a warm little house. But whether Owl is inviting Winter in on a snowy night or welcoming a new friend he meets while on a stroll, Owl always has room for visitors! This beloved classic was created for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards

Check price
Nate the Great Goes Down in the Dumps

These chapter books introduce beginning readers to the detective mystery genre. Perfect for the Common Core, kids can problem-solve with Nate, using logical thinking to solve mysteries! 

Nate the Great and his trusty dog, Sludge, have a tricky case to solve. Nate's friend Rosamond has started a fortune-telling business, but her money box is missing. Sludge and Nate visit Claude, who helped Rosamond set up her business, and Finley, who collects boxes for his rat. They can't seem to help! It looks like the only way to clean up this case is to get down and dirty in the dumps!

Check price
Check price
Little Bear

Meet Little Bear, a friend to millions of children. And meet Mother Bear, who is there whenever Little Bear needs her. When it is cold and snowy outside, she finds just the right outfit for Little Bear to play in. When he goes to the moon, she has a hot lunch waiting for him on his return. And, of course, she never forgets his birthday.

This classic from Else Holmelund Minarik and Maurice Sendak was written in 1957 and remains as beloved today as it was then. An ALA Notable Children's Book, this Level One I Can Read is full of warm and lovingly playful stories that are perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

release date: Jan 01, 1980
Check price
Junie B. Jones and that Meanie Jim's Birthday
Barbara Park's New York Times bestselling chapter book series, Junie B. Jones, is a classroom favorite and has been keeping kids laughing—and reading—for more than twenty years. Over 60 million copies in print and now with a bright new look for a new generation!
 
Meet the World's Funniest Kindergartner—Junie B. Jones! That meanie Jim has invited everyone in Room Nine to his birthday party on Saturday—except Junie B.! Should she have her own birthday party six months early and not invite Jim? Or should she move to It's a Small World After All in Disneyland?
 
USA Today:
“Junie B. is the darling of the young-reader set.”
 
Publishers Weekly:
“Park convinces beginning readers that Junie B.—and reading—are lots of fun.”
 
Kirkus Reviews:
“Junie's swarms of young fans will continue to delight in her unique take on the world. . . . A hilarious, first-rate read-aloud.”
 
Time:
“Junie B. Jones is a feisty six-year-old with an endearing penchant for honesty.”
release date: Jan 01, 1992
Check price
Henry And Mudge under the Yellow Moon
Henry and his dog Mudge have some Halloween fun in this fourth Ready-to-Read book of their adventures.

Henry and his 180-pound dog Mudge are best friends forever. And when Halloween rolls around, they share jack-o'-lanterns and ghost stories with Aunt Sally.
Check price
Growl!
A simple explanation of what bears look like, how they hunt, what they eat, how they sleep during the winter, and how their cubs are born and raised.
Check price
The Grandma Mix-Up

When Pip's parents go away on a trip, she ends up with two grandmas to baby-sit her. Pip is ready for fun -- but strict Grandma Nan and easygoing Grandma Sal can't agree on anything! It's time for Pip to take charge.

Check price
The Golly Sisters Ride Again
It's show time!

May-May and Rose, those hilarious singing and dancing Golly sisters, return for five more zany adventures in which they find a talking rock, run into some bad luck, and take a vacation that's pure Golly folly.

Betsy Byars' third book about his wacky pair, brought to life by Sue Truesdell, will have beginning readers laughing even louder as the Golly sisters ride again.

Check price
Goldilocks and the Three Hares
What do you get when you put three hares, eight zany mice, two weasels, and a little girl with golden curls in one story? A very punny takeoff of the traditional fairy tale. "Amusing details encourage repeated viewing.Great fun for family sharing." -- School Library Journal "RollickingThe verbal games and the puns are generous, dopey, and entertaining without being condescending.Kids will get a kick out of showing this to their peers or younger siblings." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Check price
Do You See a Mouse?
A mouse is on the loose at the Park Snoot Hotel! Each member of the hotel staff misses the playful fellow as he scampers through the posh hotel, right under their noses. Children will love outsmarting the characters and finding the mouse on each page.
Check price
Cookies and Crutches
Molly Duff watches the clock on the classroom wall--tick, tick, tick. Nearly three o'clock. Time for Pee Wee Scouts! Troop 23 runs out of the classroom and down the stairs--clop, clop, clop.

Tuesday is their meeting day. Molly can't wait. Today Mrs. Peters, their troop leader, will show them how to bake cookies to earn a cookie badage. And next week is the big Skating Party!

But Molly has never baked or skated before. A cookie badge or a skating badge. Will Molly earn a badge at all?
Check price
Check price
Arthur Lost and Found
Arthur and Buster get lost when they take their first bus ride downtown to go swimming. But during the ride they are so busy talking, reading, and sleeping that they miss their stop. Then they spend all their money on a snack and need to put their heads together to find a way home. Full-color illustrations.
1 - 19 of 19 results


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.