Best Selling Books in Educational - Computers

Discover best selling books in educational - computers from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 6,238 results
>>
release date: Nov 01, 2016
Check price
Diary of a Wimpy Kid # 11: Double Down
The pressure’s really piling up on Greg Heffley. His mom thinks video games are turning his brain to mush, so she wants her son to put down the controller and explore his “creative side.”
 
As if that’s not scary enough, Halloween’s just around the corner and the frights are coming at Greg from every angle.
 
When Greg discovers a bag of gummy worms, it sparks an idea. Can he get his mom off his back by making a movie . . . and will he become rich and famous in the process? Or will doubling down on this plan just double Greg’s troubles?
release date: Jul 28, 2015
Check price
Pokémon Deluxe Essential Handbook: The Need-to-Know Stats and Facts on Over 700 Pokémon
This comprehensive guide book is an absolute must-have for Pokémon Trainers of all ages! It's got all the facts and figures you ever wanted to know about Pokémon in one convenient, easy-to-read format. And it's the perfect reference for Trainers looking to master the world of  Pokémon Go.
release date: Nov 03, 2015
Check price
Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #10)
Life was better in the old days. Or was it?
 
That’s the question Greg Heffley is asking as his town voluntarily unplugs and goes electronics-free. But modern life has its conveniences, and Greg isn’t cut out for an old-fashioned world.
 
With tension building inside and outside the Heffley home, will Greg find a way to survive? Or is going “old school” just too hard for a kid like Greg?
release date: Dec 01, 2015
Check price
Coding Games in Scratch

Written for children ages 8–12 with little to no coding experience, this straightforward visual guide uses fun graphics and easy-to-follow instructions to show young learners how to build their own computer projects using Scratch, a popular free programming language.

With Coding Games in Scratch, kids can build single and multiplayer platform games, create puzzles and memory games, race through mazes, add animation, and more. All they need is a desktop or laptop with Adobe 10.2 or later, and an internet connection to download Scratch 2.0. Coding can be done without download on https://scratch.mit.edu.

Essential coding concepts are explained using eight build-along game projects that guide young coders step-by-step, using visual samples, easy-to-follow instructions, and fun pixel art. The book teaches important strategies for solving problems, designing projects, and communicating ideas, all while creating games to play with their friends.

Supporting STEM education initiatives and the maker movement, computer coding teaches kids how to think creatively, work collaboratively, and reason systematically, and is quickly becoming a necessary and sought-after skill. DK's computer coding books are full of fun exercises with step-by-step guidance, making them the perfect introductory tools for building vital skills in computer programming.

release date: Oct 04, 2016
Check price
The Way Things Work Now
A New York Times Bestseller

Explainer-in-Chief David Macaulay updates the worldwide bestseller The New Way Things Work to capture the latest developments in the technology that most impacts our lives. Famously packed with information on the inner workings of everything from windmills to Wi-Fi, this extraordinary and humorous book both guides readers through the fundamental principles of machines, and shows how the developments of the past are building the world of tomorrow. This sweepingly revised edition embraces all of the latest developments, from touchscreens to 3D printer. Each scientific principle is brilliantly explained--with the help of a charming, if rather slow-witted, woolly mammoth.
 
An illustrated survey of significant inventions closes the book, along with a glossary of technical terms, and an index. What possible link could there be between zippers and plows, dentist drills and windmills? Parking meters and meat grinders, jumbo jets and jackhammers, remote control and rockets, electric guitars and egg beaters? Macaulay explains them all.
 
release date: Aug 22, 2017
Check price
Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Malala Yousafzai, and John Legend.

 
Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 40,000 girls across America. Now its founder, Reshma Saujani, wants to inspire you to be a girl who codes! Bursting with dynamic artwork, down-to-earth explanations of coding principles, and real-life stories of girls and women working at places like Pixar and NASA, this graphically animated book shows what a huge role computer science plays in our lives and how much fun it can be. No matter your interest—sports, the arts, baking, student government, social justice—coding can help you do what you love and make your dreams come true. Whether you’re a girl who’s never coded before, a girl who codes, or a parent raising one, this entertaining book, printed in bold two-color and featuring art on every page, will have you itching to create your own apps, games, and robots to make the world a better place.
release date: Mar 21, 2017
Check price
How to Draw Pokemon: Learn to Draw Your Favourite Pokemon Go Characters

Learn to Draw Your Favourite Pokemon!

Inside this book you will find 48 awesome one sided coloring pages.Each page will teach to draw one pokemon, step-by-step with written instructions. The pages are 8.5"x8.5".

This book will be great for kids, teens and adults as well. Anyone who loves pokemon!

Order your copy today and gain the ability to draw pokemon! :)

release date: Dec 12, 2012
Check price
Python for Kids: A Playful Introduction To Programming
Python is a powerful, expressive programming language that’s easy to learn and fun to use! But books about learning to program in Python can be kind of dull, gray, and boring, and that’s no fun for anyone.

Python for Kids brings Python to life and brings you (and your parents) into the world of programming. The ever-patient Jason R. Briggs will guide you through the basics as you experiment with unique (and often hilarious) example programs that feature ravenous monsters, secret agents, thieving ravens, and more. New terms are defined; code is colored, dissected, and explained; and quirky, full-color illustrations keep things on the lighter side.

Chapters end with programming puzzles designed to stretch your brain and strengthen your understanding. By the end of the book you’ll have programmed two complete games: a clone of the famous Pong and "Mr. Stick Man Races for the Exit"—a platform game with jumps, animation, and much more.

As you strike out on your programming adventure, you’ll learn how to:
–Use fundamental data structures like lists, tuples, and maps
–Organize and reuse your code with functions and modules
–Use control structures like loops and conditional statements
–Draw shapes and patterns with Python’s turtle module
–Create games, animations, and other graphical wonders with tkinter

Why should serious adults have all the fun? Python for Kids is your ticket into the amazing world of computer programming.

For kids ages 10+ (and their parents)

The code in this book runs on almost anything: Windows, Mac, Linux, even an OLPC laptop or Raspberry Pi!
release date: Aug 21, 2017
Check price
A Smart Girl's Guide: Digital World: How to Connect, Share, Play, and Keep Yourself Safe (Smart Girl's Guide To...)
Digital devices put a whole world at your fingertips. Play a game, listen to music, do research for school, read a story, or make a video―anywhere, anytime. Connect with friends and family in fast and easy ways. Post photos and share ideas and inspiration. And that's only a small part of it. Just like the real world, the digital world is full of exciting, helpful, and even life-changing possibilities. And just as in the real world, you need to know how to navigate it wisely and keep yourself safe. With everything from quizzes that test safety smarts to advice on how to deal with cyberbullying, this book will get you started.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Aug 22, 2017
Check price
The Friendship Code #1 (Girls Who Code)
A New York Times bestseller! Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code.

Loops, variables, input/output – Lucy can’t wait to get started with the new coding club at school. Finally, an after school activity that she’s really interested in. But Lucy’s excitement turns to disappointment when she’s put into a work group with girls she barely knows. All she wanted to do was make an app that she believes will help someone very special to her. 
 
Suddenly, Lucy begins to get cryptic coding messages and needs some help translating them. She soon discovers that coding – and friendship – takes time, dedication, and some laughs!
1 - 10 of 6,238 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.