Best Selling Books in History & Historical Fiction - Historical Fiction

Discover best selling books in history & historical fiction - historical fiction from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 8,295 results
>>
release date: Sep 01, 2015
Check price
The Infernal Devices, the Complete Collection: Clockwork Angel; Clockwork Prince; Clockwork Princess
All three books in the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices trilogy, are now available together in a collectible paperback boxed set. The books have gorgeous new covers, maps, forewords, and bonus content.

Passion. Power. Secrets. Enchantment.

Enter the secret world of the Shadowhunters with this handsomely packaged boxed set that includes Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, and Clockwork Princess. The villainous Mortmain and his terrifying clockwork army are on the move to destroy the Shadowhunters. Can Tessa, Jem, and Will stop his infernal plot?

This complete collectible set of three paperback volumes is a perfect gift for newcomers to the series and for loyal fans alike.
release date: Sep 19, 2017
Check price
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper)
In this New York Times bestselling sequel to Kerri Maniscalco's haunting #1 debut Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer...or has the depraved prince been brought back to life?

Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the Ripper's true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth has no choice but to flee London and its memories. Together with the arrogant yet charming Thomas Cresswell, she journeys to the dark heart of Romania, home to one of Europe's best schools of forensic medicine...and to another notorious killer, Vlad the Impaler, whose thirst for blood became legend.

But her life's dream is soon tainted by blood-soaked discoveries in the halls of the school's forbidding castle, and Audrey Rose is compelled to investigate the strangely familiar murders. What she finds brings all her terrifying fears to life once again.
release date: Dec 12, 2000
Check price
The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963
The Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of Bud, Not Buddy, a Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott Award Winner.

Enter the hilarious world of ten-year-old Kenny and his family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. There's Momma, Dad, little sister Joetta, and brother Byron, who's thirteen and an "official juvenile delinquent."

When Byron gets to be too much trouble, they head South to Birmingham to visit Grandma, the one person who can shape him up. And they happen to be in Birmingham when Grandma's church is blown up.

AN ALA TOP TEN BEST BOOK
AN ALA NOTABLE CHILDREN'S BOOK
AN IRA YOUNG ADULT'S CHOICE
A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW BEST BOOK
NAMED TO MULTIPLE STATE AWARD LISTS

"Every so often a book becomes a modern classic almost as soon as it arrives on bookshelves. That happened in the mid-'90s when Christopher Paul Curtis released his first book, The Watsons Go to Birmingham — 1963."  —NPR


From the Hardcover edition.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
by: Avi
release date: Sep 01, 2012
Check price
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
Avi's treasured Newbery Honor Book now in expanded After Words edition!

Thirteen-year-old Charlotte Doyle is excited to return home from her school in England to her family in Rhode Island in the summer of 1832.

But when the two families she was supposed to travel with mysteriously cancel their trips, Charlotte finds herself the lone passenger on a long sea voyage with a cruel captain and a mutinous crew. Worse yet, soon after stepping aboard the ship, she becomes enmeshed in a conflict between them! What begins as an eagerly anticipated ocean crossing turns into a harrowing journey, where Charlotte gains a villainous enemy . . . and is put on trial for murder!

After Words material includes author Q & A, journal writing tips, and other activities that bring Charlotte's world to life!
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Apr 18, 2017
Check price
Cuentos de buenas noches para niñas rebeldes (Spanish Edition)
Cuentos de buenas noches para niñas rebeldes reinventa los cuentos de hadas. Elizabeth I, Coco Chanel, Marie Curie, Frida Kahlo, Serena Williams y otras mujeres extraordinarias narran la aventura de su vida, inspirando a niñas ―y no tan niñas― a soñar en grande y alcanzar sus sueños; además, cuenta con las magníficas ilustraciones de sesenta mujeres artistas de todos los rincones del planeta.  Un libro que debe estar en la mesa de noche de todas las niñas o mujeres jóvenes que conozcas. ―Geri Stengel, Forbes  Estos cuentos para antes de dormir no son protagonizados por princesas, sino por mujeres que cambiaron el mundo. ―Taylor Pittman, The Huffington Post Cuentos de buenas noches para niñas rebeldes es una colección de historias protagonizadas por «princesas» reales de los más diversos entornos y épocas.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Sep 01, 1997
Check price
The Bronze Bow
He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. –from the Song of David (2 Samuel 22:35)
The Bronze Bow, written by Elizabeth George Speare (author of The Witch of Blackbird Pond) won the Newbery Medal in 1962. This gripping, action-packed novel tells the story of eighteen-year-old Daniel bar Jamin—a fierce, hotheaded young man bent on revenging his father’s death by forcing the Romans from his land of Israel. Daniel’s palpable hatred for Romans wanes only when he starts to hear the gentle lessons of the traveling carpenter, Jesus of Nazareth. A fast-paced, suspenseful, vividly wrought tale of friendship, loyalty, the idea of home, community . . . and ultimately, as Jesus says to Daniel on page 224: “Can’t you see, Daniel, it is hate that is the enemy? Not men. Hate does not die with killing. It only springs up a hundredfold. The only thing stronger than hate is love.” A powerful, relevant read in turbulent times.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Nov 08, 2016
Check price
Timekeeper
Two o'clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time--and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It's a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny's new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower's clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield's time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he's fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he'll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.
release date: Sep 03, 2009
Check price
Out Of The Dust
This gripping story, written in sparse first-person, free-verse poems, is the compelling tale of Billie Jo's struggle to survive during the dust bowl years of the Depression. With stoic courage, she learns to cope with the loss of her mother and her grieving father's slow deterioration. There is hope at the end when Billie Jo's badly burned hands are healed, and she is able to play her beloved piano again. The 1998 Newbery Medal winner.
release date: Jun 01, 2005
Check price
My Brother Sam Is Dead
The classic story of one family torn apart by the Revolutionary War -- now with special After Words bonus features!

All his life, Tim Meeker has looked up to his brother Sam. Sam's smart and brave -- and is now a part of the American Revolution. Not everyone in town wants to be a part of the rebellion. Most are supporters of the British -- including Tim and Sam's father.
With the war soon raging, Tim know he'll have to make a choice -- between the Revolutionaries and the Redcoats . . . and between his brother and his father.
release date: Apr 05, 2016
Check price
The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn)
A #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“A riveting Game of Thrones meets Arabian Nights love story.” - US Weekly


Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.
1 - 10 of 8,295 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.