Best Selling Books in Mystery & Thrillers - Writing

Discover best selling books in mystery & thrillers - writing from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 295 results
>>
release date: Aug 01, 2017
Check price
From Holmes to Sherlock: The Story of the Men and Women Who Created an Icon
"Mattias Bostrom has done the impossible--encapsulated the journey of Sherlock Holmes from international literary superstar to modern day television hero."--Lyndsay Faye

Everyone knows Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle created a unique literary character who has remained popular for over a century and is appreciated more than ever today. But what made this fictional character, dreamed up by a small-town English doctor in the 1880s, into such a lasting success, despite the author's own attempt to escape his invention?

In From Holmes to Sherlock, Swedish author and Sherlock Holmes expert Mattias Bostrom recreates the full story behind the legend for the first time. From a young Arthur Conan Doyle sitting in a Scottish lecture hall taking notes on his medical professor's powers of observation to the pair of modern-day fans who brainstormed the idea behind the TV sensation Sherlock, from the publishing world's first literary agent to the Georgian princess who showed up at the Conan Doyle estate and altered a legacy, the narrative follows the men and women who have created and perpetuated the myth. It includes tales of unexpected fortune, accidental romance, and inheritances gone awry, and tells of the actors, writers, readers, and other players who have transformed Sherlock Holmes from the gentleman amateur of the Victorian era to the odd genius of today. Told in fast-paced, novelistic prose, From Holmes to Sherlock is a singular celebration of the most famous detective in the world--a must-read for newcomers and experts alike.

release date: Sep 11, 2012
Check price
Autobiography, An
Back in print in an all-new edition, is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the “Queen of Mystery.” Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style. The New York Times Book Review calls Christie’s autobiography a “joyful adventure,” saying, “she brings the sense of wonder...to her extraordinary career.”
release date: Apr 28, 2016
Check price
Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories That Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats
Enthrall Your Readers!

Suspense is one of the most powerful tools a writer has for captivating readers--but it isn't just for thrillers. From mainstream fiction to memoir, suspense creates the emotional tension that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. Mastering Suspense, Structure, & Plot is your hands-on guide to weaving suspense into your narrative. Award-winning author Jane K. Cleland teaches you how to navigate genre conventions, write for your audience, and build gripping tension to craft an irresistible page-turner.

Inside, Cleland will show you how to:
  • Implement thirteen no-fail techniques to construct an effective plot and structure for your story
  • Use Cleland's Plotting Road Map to add elements of suspense like twists, reversals, and moments of danger
  • Write subplots with purpose
  • Improve your descriptions, character development, sentence structure, and more
Packed with case studies, exercises, and dozens of examples from best-selling authors, Mastering Suspense, Structure, & Plot is the key to writing suspenseful, engaging stories that leave your readers wanting more.

------
"Indispensable! For newbie authors and veterans alike, this terrific how-to is your new go-to. Don't write your book without it--it's a treasure." --Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony, Macavity and Mary Higgins Clark award-winning author
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Dec 09, 2014
Check price
Satoshi Kon's: Opus
'Opus' contains the mastery of both realism and surrealism that would make Kon famous in 'Perfect Blue', as a manga artist becomes drawn into his own work and realises the deadline he's up against is to stop a vicious serial killer before he can spill more innocent blood - not merely ink!
release date: Sep 08, 2001
Check price
Plotting and Writing Suspense Fiction

Patricia Highsmith, author of Strangers On a Train, The Talented Mr.Ripley, Found In The Street, and many other books, is known as one of the finest suspense novelists. In this book, she analyzes the key elements of suspense fiction, drawing upon her own experience in four decades as a working writer. She talks about, among other topics; how to develop a complete story from an idea; what makes a plot gripping; the use (and abuse) of coincidence; characterization and the "likeable criminal"; going from first draft to final draft; and writing the suspense short story.
Throughout the book, Highsmith illustrates her points with plentiful examples from her own work, and by discussing her own inspirations, false starts, dead ends, successes, and failures, she presents a lively and highly readable picture of the novelist at work.

Anyone who wishes to write crime and suspense fiction, or who enjoys reading it, will find this book an insightful guide to the craft and art of a modern master.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Sep 16, 2014
Check price
Ivy + Bean + Me: A Fill-in-the-Blank Book
Ivy and Bean have millions of fans who relish every twist and turn of the dynamic duo's adventures—whether they're playing pranks on Bean's sister, writing their own newspaper, or solving neighborhood mysteries. Now readers can add their own adventures and ideas to the mix! Funny prompts paired with hilarious illustrations make this journal the perfect place to get creative and join the fun.
release date: Sep 24, 2017
Check price
Being Cool: The Work of Elmore Leonard

Widely known as the crime fiction writer whose work led to the movies Get Shorty and Out of Sight, Elmore Leonard had a special knack for creating "cool" characters. In Being Cool, Charles J. Rzepka looks at what makes the dope-dealers, bookies, grifters, financial advisors, talent agents, shady attorneys, hookers, models, and crooked cops of Leonard's world cool. They may be nefarious, but they are also confident, skilled, and composed. And they are good at what they do. Taking being cool as the highway through Leonard's life and works, Rzepka finds plenty of byways to explore along the way.

Rzepka delineates the stages and patterns that characterize Leonard’s creative evolution. Like jazz greats, he forged an individual writing style immediately recognizable for its voice and rhythm, including his characters' rat-a-tat recitations, curt backhands, and ragged trains of thought. Rzepka draws on more than twelve hours of personal interviews with Leonard and applies what he learned to his close analysis of the writer’s long life and prodigious output: 45 published novels, 39 published and unpublished short stories, and numerous essays written over the course of six decades.

release date: Jan 13, 2017
Check price
Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel Revised and Expanded Edition: The Complete Guide to Mystery, Suspense, and Crime
A Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award Finalist for Best Critical/Biographical Work

Discover the secrets to crafting an unforgettable mystery!

To piece together the puzzle of your mystery novel, you need patience, resilience, a solid understanding of the craft, and a clear blueprint for combining the plot, characters, setting, and more. And while patience and resilience must come from you, the essentials of craft and the plan to execute them are right at your fingertips with Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel. This completely revised and updated edition features solid strategies for drafting, revising, and selling an intriguing novel that grips your readers and refuses to let them go.

New York Times best-selling author Hallie Ephron shows you how to:
  • Create a compelling sleuth and a worthy villain
  • Construct a plot rich in twists, red herrings, and misdirection
  • Bring the story to a satisfying conclusion
  • Sharpen characters and optimize pace during revision
  • Seek publication through both traditional and indie paths
Filled with helpful worksheets and exercises for every step of the process, Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel Revised and Expanded reveals the keys to writing a memorable story that will have fans of mystery, suspense, and crime clamoring for more.
release date: Jun 13, 2000
Check price
Three Uses of the Knife: On the Nature and Purpose of Drama

The purpose of theater, like magic, like religion . . . is to inspire cleansing awe. What makes good drama? And why does drama matter in an age that is awash in information and entertainment? David Mamet, one of our greatest living playwrights, tackles these questions with bracing directness and aphoristic authority. He believes that the tendency to dramatize is essential to human nature, that we create drama out of everything from today’s weather to next year’s elections. But the highest expression of this drive remains the theater.
         With a cultural range that encompasses Shakespeare, Bretcht, and Ibsen, Death of a Salesman and Bad Day at Black Rock, Mamet shows us how to distinguish true drama from its false variants. He considers the impossibly difficult progression between one act and the next and the mysterious function of the soliloquy. The result, in Three Uses of the Knife, is an electrifying treatise on the playwright’s art that is also a strikingly original work of moral and aesthetic philosophy. 

release date: Oct 27, 2015
Check price
Sherlock: Chronicles

Delve deep into the creative minds behind the world’s greatest—and only—consulting detective with this ultimate behind-the-scenes look at the making of the smash PBS television series Sherlock, produced by BBC/Masterpiece and starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.

This is the hit series of Sherlock as you’ve never seen it before, from story development to casting, sets, costumes, props, music, and more. With unprecedented access to the production team’s archives, as well as all-new interviews, unseen script pages, more than 500 illustrations, including color photographs, pieces of concept art, and storyboards, Sherlock: Chronicles unlocks the secrets of each unforgettable case in the words of the show’s creators, cast, and crew.

Discover how the Sherlock team adapted classic adventures and puzzles for a fresh new world. Meet the artists and designers whose creative vision brought the show to life. See how the show’s dedicated crew converted everyday locations into “the great cesspool” of criminal London. Learn the real story about the producers’ and writers’ vision for Sherlock’s clever return from the grave at the beginning of season three, and what the esteemed cast of actors—including Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Rupert Graves, Mark Gatiss, and Una Stubbs—think about bringing Holmes to life.

From 221B Baker Street to St. Bart’s Hospital, from Buckingham Palace to Appledore, discover what lies behind every one of Sherlock’s closed doors with this essential companion for fans of the acclaimed show.

1 - 10 of 295 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.