Best Selling Books in Sports - Olympics

Discover best selling books in sports - olympics from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 622 results
>>
release date: Aug 02, 2016
Check price
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'

 
For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.
 
At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation—the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.
 
This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.
release date: Jun 07, 2016
Check price
Nadia: The Girl Who Couldn’t Sit Still
Nadia Comaneci was a feisty and fearless little girl who went from climbing trees in the forests of Romania to swinging into history at the 1976 Olympic Games, where she received an unprecedented seven perfect scores in gymnastics. But as readers will see in this first-ever illustrated picture book about Nadia’s journey to Olympic gold, the road from small-town girl to world-class athlete was full of many imperfect moments.
     Expert illustrations that capture the energy and fluidity of Nadia's exuberant gymnastic routines and referential back matter round out this inspirational story of determination and overcoming adversity. A perfect 10.
release date: Nov 28, 2017
Check price
Finding the Edge: My Life on the Ice

Figure skating icon and U.S. National Champion Karen Chen tells the amazing story of her rise to the top, featuring never-before-seen photos and behind-the-scenes details from her journey on and off the ice!

At seventeen years old, Karen Chen has already achieved what some girls only dream of—and yet it’s only the beginning for this incredibly talented athlete.

The daughter of Taiwanese immigrants, Karen began to figure skate at just five years old. Ten years and many grueling training sessions later, she broke out at the 2015 US Championships with a bronze medal. This was after sustaining a nearly career-ending ankle fracture a year earlier.

In 2017, Karen became the US National Champion, winning gold in two programs and receiving the highest score ever recorded for the short program at the US National level.

Now for the first time, Karen shares the story of how she got where she is today—and where she’s going next. Karen has already overcome astounding obstacles, and her grit, determination, and positive attitude have made her future truly limitless.

In Finding the Edge, she shares, in her own words, what it’s like to be Karen Chen—and what it takes to achieve the impossible.

Features a foreword from Kristi Yamaguchi, the Olympic champion, two-time World champion, and U.S. champion.

release date: Jun 21, 2016
Check price
My Weird School Fast Facts: Sports

Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!

Did you know that the only sport that’s been played on the moon is golf? Did you know that an NFL quarterback once threw a touchdown pass to himself?!

Learn more weird-but-true sports facts with A.J. and Andrea from Dan Gutman’s bestselling My Weird School series. This all-new series of nonfiction books features hundreds of hysterical facts, plus lots of photos and illustrations.

Whether you’re a kid who wants to know more about sports or just someone who is curious why Major League Baseball umpires have to wear black underwear, this is the book for you!

With more than 12 million books sold, the My Weird School series really gets kids reading!

release date: Jul 11, 2017
Check price
A Kid's Guide to the 2018 Winter Games
Get ready for the 2018 Winter Olympics with this full-color book for young readers (ages 8-12) that introduces all 15 sport disciplines for the Winter Olympics as well as some of the top Team USA athletes. The book includes a history of the Winter Olympics with some amazing fun facts and trivia, as well as a Medal Tracker to keep track of the gold, silver, and bronze medals that Team USA brings home. Easy-to-read text and dramatic, full-color photographs makes this the perfect book for every kid who loves the Olympics (and their parents, too!)
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Oct 25, 2016
Check price
SNOWMAN PAUL at the WINTER OLYMPICS (Volume 2)
What would you be willing to do for an Olympic gold medal?

"A celebration of winter and competition that will likely appeal to children who've dreamed of Olympic glory"Kirkus Reviews


"Paul,"I said, "you're much too old
To win a silver or a gold.
Besides, it risky, you might fall.
So, let's forget about it, Paul!"

Snowman Paul at the Winter Olympic, is volume two in Yossi Lapid's multiple award-winning Snowman Paul book series. Fast paced and stunningly illustrated by Joanna Pasek, this series carries great messages for kids - don't cheat, apologize when you do wrong, make up for your mistakes, don't allow bullies to intimidate you,love nature, be respectful of others and, above all, pursue your dreams and don't be easily discouraged. 

The lessons embedded in Snowman Paul adventures can be enjoyed by any age, but preschool and kindergarten children will especially love them. They are perfect for both cold winter days and warm summer times. They are great bedtime stories and ideal for beginner readers. They make beautiful gifts and they will show you how much fun winters can be if you let loose your imagination.

Want to experience great winter time fun? Join Dan and Snowman Paul in this exciting Olympic adventure.

Scroll up and grab your copy now!
release date: Aug 11, 2015
Check price
Who Was Jesse Owens?
At the 1936 Berlin Summer Olympics, track and field star Jesse Owens ran himself straight into international glory by winning four gold medals. But the life of Jesse Owens is much more than a sports story. Born in rural Alabama under the oppressive Jim Crow laws, Owens's family suffered many hardships. As a boy he worked several jobs like delivering groceries and working in a shoe repair shop to make ends meet. But Owens defied the odds to become a sensational student athlete, eventually running track for Ohio State. He was chosen to compete in the Summer Olympics in Nazi Germany where Adolf Hitler was promoting the idea of “Aryan superiority.”  Owens’s winning streak at the games humiliated Hitler and crushed the myth of racial supremacy once and for all.
release date: May 04, 2013
Check price
Raising the Bar

After competing in the 2012 London Olympics and winning two gold medals, Gabrielle Douglas’s life changed forever … but in many important ways, it stayed the same. Inside these pages, Gabrielle shares an inside look at her day-to-day world, from the things that are still important to her—time with her friends and family, her favorite comfort foods, and her training routine—as well as what’s it’s like to suddenly walk the red carpet and interviewed by various people. Along the way, Gabrielle also offers tips on how you can raise the bar on your life and accomplish your dreams. Through candid photos taken by Gabrielle to exclusive images taken behind the scenes, experience what it’s like to be an Olympic Champion and a normal teenage girl balancing a life in the spotlight with a life in the gym.

release date: Jan 17, 2017
Check price
Jesse Owens (You Should Meet)
Sprint around the track and get to know Jesse Owens in this fascinating, nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read, part of a new series of biographies about people “you should meet.”

Meet Jesse Owens, an African American runner who won four gold medals at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin! What made his achievement even more memorable was that Adolph Hitler expected the Olympic Games to be a German showcase. In fact, he criticized the United States for even including black athletes on its Olympic roster. According to many reports, after Owens won his fourth gold medal, Hitler stormed out of the stadium. In 1936 Jesse Owens took a stand against racism and made history.

A special section at the back of the book includes extras on subjects like history and math, plus a short article filled with interesting facts about the Olympics. With the You Should Meet series, learning about historical figures has never been so fascinating!
release date: Feb 01, 2000
Check price
Wilma Unlimited: How Wilma Rudolph Became the World's Fastest Woman
Before Wilma Rudolph was five years old, polio had paralyzed her left leg. Everyone said she would never walk again. But Wilma refused to believe it. Not only would she walk again, she vowed, she'd run. And she did run--all the way to the Olympics, where she became the first American woman to earn three gold medals in a single olympiad. This dramatic and inspiring true story is illustrated in bold watercolor and acrylic paintings by Caldecott Medal-winning artist David Diaz.
1 - 10 of 622 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.