Best Selling Books in People & Places - Girls & Women

Discover best selling books in people & places - girls & women from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 17,408 results
>>
release date: Sep 03, 2013
Check price
Rosie Revere, Engineer
Rosie may seem quiet during the day, but at night she's a brilliant inventor of gizmos and gadgets who dreams of becoming a great engineer. When her great-great-aunt Rose (Rosie the Riveter) comes for a visit and mentions her one unfinished goal--to fly--Rosie sets to work building a contraption to make her aunt's dream come true. But when her contraption doesn't fl y but rather hovers for a moment and then crashes, Rosie deems the invention a failure. On the contrary, Aunt Rose inisists that Rosie's contraption was a raging success. You can only truly fail, she explains, if you quit.
release date: May 30, 2017
Check price
She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World
Chelsea Clinton introduces tiny feminists, mini activists and little kids who are ready to take on the world to thirteen inspirational women who never took no for an answer, and who always, inevitably and without fail, persisted.
 
Throughout American history, there have always been women who have spoken out for what's right, even when they have to fight to be heard. In early 2017, Senator Elizabeth Warren's refusal to be silenced in the Senate inspired a spontaneous celebration of women who persevered in the face of adversity. In this book, Chelsea Clinton celebrates thirteen American women who helped shape our country through their tenacity, sometimes through speaking out, sometimes by staying seated, sometimes by captivating an audience. They all certainly persisted.
 
She Persisted is for everyone who has ever wanted to speak up but has been told to quiet down, for everyone who has ever tried to reach for the stars but was told to sit down, and for everyone who has ever been made to feel unworthy or unimportant or small.
 
With vivid, compelling art by Alexandra Boiger, this book shows readers that no matter what obstacles may be in their paths, they shouldn't give up on their dreams. Persistence is power.
 
This book features: Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Clara Lemlich, Nellie Bly, Virginia Apgar, Maria Tallchief, Claudette Colvin, Ruby Bridges, Margaret Chase Smith, Sally Ride, Florence Griffith Joyner, Oprah Winfrey, Sonia Sotomayor—and one special cameo.

Praise for She Persisted:

★ “[A] lovely, moving work of children’s literature [and a] polished introduction to a diverse and accomplished group of women.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Exemplary . . . This well-curated list will show children that women’s voices have made themselves emphatically heard.” —Booklist 

“[She Persisted] will remind little girls that they can achieve their goals if they don’t let obstacles get in the way.” —Family Circle 

“We can’t wait to grab a copy for some of the awesome kids in our lives . . . and maybe some of the grown-ups, too.” —Bustle 

“A message we all need to hear.” —Scary Mommy 

“This will be a great read for kids (especially young girls).” —Romper 

“We cannot wait for the launch of Smart Girl Chelsea Clinton’s new book to help remind kids everywhere that the fearlessness that characterizes the thirteen women in the book is what has emboldened us to constantly strive for progress and justice.” —Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls
release date: Dec 05, 2017
Check price
Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History
This beautifully illustrated book introduces reader of all ages to 40 women who changed the world.

Featuring forty trailblazing black women in American history, Little Leaders educates and inspires as it relates true stories of breaking boundaries and achieving beyond expectations. Illuminating text paired with irresistible illustrations bring to life both iconic and lesser-known female figures of Black history such as abolitionist Sojourner Truth, pilot Bessie Coleman, chemist Alice Ball, politician Shirley Chisholm, mathematician Katherine Johnson, poet Maya Angelou, and filmmaker Julie Dash.



Among these biographies, readers will find heroes, role models, and everyday women who did extraordinary things - bold women whose actions and beliefs contributed to making the world better for generations of girls and women to come. Whether they were putting pen to paper, soaring through the air or speaking up for the rights of others, the women profiled in these pages were all taking a stand against a world that didn't always accept them.



The leaders in this book may be little, but they all did something big and amazing, inspiring generations to come.

release date: Sep 12, 2017
Check price
Princesses Wear Pants

From NBC’s TODAY coanchor Savannah Guthrie and educator Allison Oppenheim comes an empowering fairy tale with a twist. 

In the tradition of Not All Princesses Dress in Pink and Princess in Black, Princesses Wear Pants follows the unflappable Princess Penelope Pineapple, who knows how to get the job done while staying true to herself. Princess Penelope lives in a beautiful palace with a closet full of beautiful dresses. But being a princess is much, much more than beauty. In fact, every morning Princess Penelope runs right past her frilly dresses to choose from her beloved collection of pants!
 
What she wears each day depends on which job she has to do. Will she command the royal air force sporting her sequined flight suit? Will she find her zen in her yoga pants and favorite tee? Or, will she work in the kingdom’s vegetable garden with pocketed overalls for all of her tools?
 
Unfortunately for Princess Penelope, not everyone in the Pineapple Kingdom thinks pants are always appropriate princess attire. When the grand Lady Busyboots demands that Princess Penelope must wear a gown to the annual Pineapple Ball, the young royal finds a clever way to express herself. Penelope’s courage (and style choices) result in her saving the day! 
 
In their debut children’s picture book, Savannah Guthrie and Allison Oppenheim team up for a savvy and imaginative story that celebrates fashion and girl power. Perfect for fans of Nickelodeon’s Nella the Princess Knight, Princesses Wear Pants challenges gender stereotypes in the name of individuality, showing girls it’s not how they look but what they do that matters.
 

release date: Mar 11, 2002
Check price
Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women

In kitchens and living rooms, in garages and labs and basements, even in converted chicken coops, women and girls have invented ingenious innovations that have made our lives simpler and better. Their creations are some of the most enduring (the windshield wiper) and best loved (the chocolate chip cookie). What inspired these women, and just how did they turn their ideas into realities?

Features women inventors Ruth Wakefield, Mary Anderson, Stephanie Kwolek, Bette Nesmith Graham, Patsy O. Sherman, Ann Moore, Grace Murray Hopper, Margaret E. Knight, Jeanne Lee Crews, and Valerie L. Thomas, as well as young inventors ten-year-old Becky Schroeder and eleven-year-old Alexia Abernathy. Illustrated in vibrant collage by Caldecott Honor artist Melissa Sweet.

release date: Feb 26, 2013
Check price
The Care and Keeping of You 2: The Body Book for Older Girls
This thoughtful advice book will guide you through the next steps of growing up. With illustrations and expert contributors, this book covers new questions about periods, your growing body, peer pressure, personal care, and more! Written by Dr. Cara Natterson for girls 10 and up, The Care & Keeping of You 2 follows up the original bestseller with even more in-depth details about the physical and emotional changes you're going through.
release date: Mar 31, 2010
Check price
Just Between Us: Mother & Daughter: A No-Stress, No-Rules Journal
"Packed with writing prompts, it's the perfect gift for Mother's Day."— Girl's Life magazine

Have you ever wondered...
What your mom thought the moment you were born?
Or where your daughter would go if she could go anywhere in the universe?

Thoughtful writing prompts and entertaining mini quizzes pave the way to discussing everything from friends and school to crushes and growing up. Plenty of free space for writing about whatever comes to mind, plus pages for drawing and making lists, ensure this journal stays refreshingly open-ended. With advice and perspectives from both generations, two lovely ribbon bookmarks (one each for mother and daughter!), and appealing illustrations, this deluxe hardcover journal has already established itself as a bestselling phenomenon. It's a surefire hit with moms and girls alike!

For those granddaughters out there, don't miss Just Between Us: Grandmother & Granddaughter: A No-Stress, No-Rules Journal.
release date: May 01, 2000
Check price
Potty Book for Girls, The (Hannah & Henry Series)
Every little girl's graduation from diapers to the potty is always a very important moment―and one to make both parents and toddlers proud! In The Potty Book, Hannah needs to have her diapers changed so she can go out and play. Then mom and dad bring home a big box, and Hannah is anxious to open it up and see what's inside. Is it a rocking chair? A bed for Teddy? No, it's a potty―which means that it's time for Hannah to graduate from her diapers. This gentle and humorous little story is charmingly illustrated and told in verse. Little girls will enjoy looking at the pictures and having the story read to them. Meanwhile, they'll start getting the idea that it's time for them to grow up, exactly like Hannah. So that at last, they'll be able to say―"I'm off the potty!"
release date: Apr 08, 2008
Check price
Little Mommy (Little Golden Book)
This delightful story about an adorable little girl caring for her dolls is perfect for any day of the year! 

We spend the day in her charming company as she cares for her dolls, treats their ills, gives them a tea party, feeds them dinner, and puts them to bed. Beautifully illustrated, this book has a timeless feel.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Jan 25, 2011
Check price
Three Little Mermaids (Paula Wiseman Books)
Have a tea party undersea and practice counting with Three Little Mermaids, a sparkling interactive novelty concept book by bestselling creator Mara Van Fleet!

In Mara Van Fleet’s shimmering interactive novelty concept book, count from one to ten while you visit the bottom of the deep blue sea and meet sparkly fish, soft seals, dancing turtles, and a friendly octopus. With pull-tabs and touch-and-feel textures, never has counting been so much fun!
1 - 10 of 17,408 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.