Best Selling Audio Books in Military - Napoleonic Wars

Discover best selling audio books in military - napoleonic wars from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 18 results
>>
release date: May 05, 2015
Check price
Waterloo: The History of Four Days, Three Armies, and Three Battles
On June 18, 1815, the armies of France, Britain and Prussia descended upon a quiet valley south of Brussels. The little village north of where the Allies turned to fight the French army was called Waterloo. The blood-soaked battle to which it gave its name would become a landmark in European history. In his first work of nonfiction, Bernard Cornwell combines his storytelling skills with a meticulously researched history to give a riveting chronicle of every dramatic moment, from Napoleon's daring escape from Elba to the smoke and gore of the three battlefields and their aftermath.
Discover more books in the following subjects:   Show More
release date: Jun 01, 2012
Check price
The Face of Battle
Keegan's significant and original contribution to military history focuses on the experience of the common soldier--his fears and wounds, the intrusions of cruelty and compassion, the very din and blood.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Oct 09, 2018
Check price
Napoleon: A Life

The definitive biography of Napoleon, revealing the true man behind the legend

""What a novel my life has been!"" Napoleon once said of himself. Born into a poor family, the callow young man was, by twenty-six, an army general. Seduced by an older woman, his marriage transformed him into a galvanizing military commander. The Pope crowned him as Emperor of the French when he was only thirty-five. Within a few years, he became the effective master of Europe, his power unparalleled in modern history. His downfall was no less dramatic.

The story of Napoleon has been written many times. In some versions, he is a military genius, in others a war-obsessed tyrant. Here, historian Adam Zamoyski cuts through the mythology and explains Napoleon against the background of the European Enlightenment, and what he was himself seeking to achieve. This most famous of men is also the most hidden of men, and Zamoyski dives deeper than any previous biographer to find him. Beautifully written, Napoleon brilliantly sets the man in his European context.

release date: Oct 21, 2003
Check price
Intelligence in War: Knowledge of the Enemy from Napoleon to Al-Qaeda
In fiction, the spy is a glamorous figure whose secrets make or break peace, but, historically, has intelligence really been a vital step to military victories? In this breakthrough study, the preeminent war historian John Keegan goes to the heart of a series of important conflicts to develop a powerful argument about military intelligence.

In his characteristically wry and perceptive prose, Keegan offers us nothing short of a new history of war through the prism of intelligence. He brings to life the split-second decisions that went into waging war before the benefit of aerial surveillance and electronic communications. The English admiral Horatio Nelson was hot on the heels of Napoleon’s fleet in the Mediterranean and never knew it, while Stonewall Jackson was able to compensate for the Confederacy’s disadvantage in firearms and manpower with detailed maps of the Appalachians. In the past century, espionage and decryption have changed the face of battle: the Japanese surprise attack at the Battle of the Midway was thwarted by an early warning. Timely information, however, is only the beginning of the surprising and disturbing aspects of decisions that are made in war, where brute force is often more critical.

Intelligence in War is a thought-provoking work that ranks among John Keegan’s finest achievements.


From the Hardcover edition.
release date: Jul 12, 2000
Check price
Napoleon And Hitler:  A Comparative Biography
Napoleon Bonaparte and Adolf Hitler: each put his mark on an era. In this study, Seward examines the lives of these remarkable men and demonstrates the striking parallels between their careers and their roles in shaping the destiny of Europe. Napoleon and Hitler were both outsiders of humble origins. Both struggled to be accepted by society - Napoleon finding success in the military, Hitler finding self-esteem through a fringe political group. And, once they achieved power, the conduct of their political and military careers proved improbably similar. For each man the grand design was the conquest of Europe, and for each the dream would turn into a nightmare in a disastrous Russian winter campaign. NAPOLEON AND HITLER shows, in a remarkable way, how history can repeat itself

"Well composed, interesting, and with solidly founded conclusions." (Amazon.com)

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Aug 01, 2002
Check price
Napoleon

In an ideal pairing of author and subject, the magisterial historian Paul Johnson offers a vivid look at the life of the strategist, general, and dictator who conquered much of Europe. Following Napoleon from the barren island of Corsica to his early training in Paris, from his meteoric victories and military dictatorship to his exile and death, Johnson examines the origins of his ferocious ambition. In Napoleon's quest for power, he sees a realist unfettered by loyalty or ideology; in his violent legacy, a model for the totalitarian regimes of the twentieth century. Napoleon is dramatic testimony to a single individual's ability to work his will on history.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Mar 01, 2013
Check price
Napoleon Bonaparte: England's Prisoner
After his surrender to the Royal Navy, Napoleon became the object of massive English public interest. He would live out his last years on the island of St. Helena without ever admitting to being a prisoner. This close study of Napoleon in captivity attempts to reconstruct an authentic portrait of the fallen emperor by examining contemporary documents and records of public opinion. Napoleon worked hard to obfuscate his history of tyranny with a legend elevating him as the architect of a federation of free European peoples, thwarted by reactionary monarchs and British envy. Many English citizens collaborated in this legend and joined in the condemnation of Napoleon's jailer and guardian, Sir Hudson Lowe. Frank Giles takes a fresh, balanced look at both Lowe and Napoleon, condemned to each other on an island for six years.
release date: Mar 15, 2008
Check price
Vienna 1814: How the Conquerors of Napoleon Made Love, War, and Peace at the Congress of Vienna
The Napoleonic Wars had torn Europe apart, and the peace conference of 1814 was to be held in the continent's grandest city: Vienna. Everyone had an agenda in the postwar world, and spy networks, bitter hatreds, illicit affairs, and tangled alliances ensued.

Despite the gravity of the situation, the Hapsburg Emperor of Austria, in opening his splendid rococo palace to the European royals and providing elaborate banquets and lavish entertainments, set the stage for the most extravagant pageantry since the fall of the Roman Empire. Guests were swept up in the dazzling whirlwind of social events-masquerades, hunts, and elaborate dinners-even as maps were being redrawn, rulers reinstated or ousted, and fortunes transferred. Ultimately, the Congress of Vienna ushered in the longest period of peace Europe has ever known. Vienna 1814 is a rich, impeccably researched history of the intrigue and frivolity that would forever mark the Congress of Vienna as the greatest Vanity Fair of all time.
release date: Sep 03, 2007
Check price
The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo
Roy Adkins, with his wife, Lesley, returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon's seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life—shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war.

The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.
Discover more books in the following subjects:   Show More
release date: Feb 10, 2015
Check price
The Longest Afternoon: The 400 Men Who Decided the Battle of Waterloo
In 1815, the deposed emperor Napoleon returned to France and threatened the already devastated and exhausted continent with yet another war. Near the small Belgian municipality of Waterloo, two large, hastily mobilized armies faced each other to decide the future of Europe-Napoleon's forces on one side, and the Duke of Wellington on the other.

With so much at stake, neither commander could have predicted that the battle would be decided by the Second Light Battalion, King's German Legion, which was given the deceptively simple task of defending the Haye Sainte farmhouse, a crucial crossroads on the way to Brussels. In The Longest Afternoon, Brendan Simms recounts how these four-hundred-odd riflemen beat back wave after wave of French infantry until they were finally forced to withdraw, but only after holding up Napoleon for so long that he lost the overall contest. Their actions alone decided the most influential battle in European history.
Discover more books in the following subjects:   Show More
1 - 10 of 18 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2018 Link2Library Inc.