Best Selling Audio Books in Philosophy - Consciousness & Thought

Discover best selling audio books in philosophy - consciousness & thought from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 340 results
>>
release date: Oct 31, 2003
Check price
The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom
In The Four Agreements, don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. This 2-CD set blends new insights with old wisdom.
release date: Feb 16, 2016
Check price
When Breath Becomes Air
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY 
THE WASHINGTON POST • THE NEW YORK TIMES • NPR


BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALIST

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Praise for When Breath Becomes Air

“I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book’s tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him—passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die—so well.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times

“An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring.”The Washington Post

“Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead.”The Boston Globe

“Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it’s all heading.”USA Today

“It’s [Kalanithi’s] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original—and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early.”Entertainment Weekly

“Split my head open with its beauty.”—Cheryl Strayed
release date: Jan 24, 2005
Check price
The Mastery of Love: A Practical Guide to the Art of Relationship (Toltec Wisdom)
Illuminates the fear-based beliefs and assumptions that undermine love and lead to suffering and drama in relationships. Using insightful stories to bring his message to life, he shows how to heal emotional wounds, recover the freedom and joy that are every persons birthright, and restore playfulness to relationships.
release date: Nov 01, 2006
Check price
The Biology of Belief: Unleashing the Power of Consciousness, Matter and Miracles
Since the publication of The Biology of Belief, Dr. Bruce Lipton has received widespread acclaim as one of the most accessible and knowledgeable voices of "new biology." The science is called epigenetics, a revolutionary field that shows us how the energy of consciousness is as important in shaping life on earth as DNA and chemistry. In this original author adaptation, Dr. Lipton brings his clarity, insight, and humor to unveiling a profound change in how we perceive the way life works, including: How environment, including our thoughts and emotions, controls the character of every cell. Quantum physics and life: the key to understanding the bigger picture of how mind over matter works. Cooperation and evolution, moving beyond the "selfish gene" theory to see that a natural trend toward harmony literally shapes the biosphere. Why the oft-dismissed placebo effect is really the most powerful healing tool we have, and much more.
release date: Feb 07, 2017
Check price
From Bacteria to Bach and Back: The Evolution of Minds
What is human consciousness and how is it possible? This question fascinates thinking people from poets and painters to physicists, psychologists, and philosophers. From Bacteria to Bach and Back is Daniel C. Dennett's brilliant answer, extending perspectives from his earlier work in surprising directions, exploring the deep interactions of evolution, brains, and human culture. Part philosophical whodunit, part bold scientific conjecture, this landmark work enlarges themes that have sustained Dennett's legendary career at the forefront of philosophical thought. In his inimitable style?laced with wit and arresting thought experiments?Dennett shows how culture enables reflection by installing a bounty of thinking tools, or memes, in our brains. Language, itself composed of memes, turbocharged this interplay. The result, a mind that can comprehend the questions it poses, emerges from a process of cultural evolution. An agenda-setting book for a new generation of philosophers and other researchers, From Bacteria to Bach and Back will delight and entertain anyone who hopes to understand human creativity in all its wondrous applications.
release date: Feb 15, 2011
Check price
The Doors of Perception
The critically acclaimed novelist and social critic Aldous Huxley describes his personal experimentation with the drug mescaline and explores the nature of visionary experience. The title of this classic comes from William Blakes The Marriage of Heaven and Hell: If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things through narrow chinks of his cavern.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Dec 19, 2019
Check price
Journey Of Soul: Guided meditation through the levels of consciousness
Guided Meditation through the levels of consciousness. A guided meditation with various music compositions corresponding to the levels of consciousness. Mantras and visualizations support the experience of the different dimensions from the physical through the astral, the causal, mental and the etheric dimension to the God planes
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Jul 12, 2016
Check price
The History of Sexuality, Vol. 1: An Introduction
Why has there been such an explosion of discussion about sex in the West since the seventeenth century? Here, one of France's greatest intellectuals explores the evolving social, economic, and political forces that have shaped our attitudes toward sex. In a book that is at once controversial and seductive, Michel Foucault describes how we are in the process of making a science of sex which is devoted to the analysis of desire rather than the increase of pleasure.
release date: Oct 02, 2000
Check price
The Abolition of Man & The Great Divorce (LIBRARY EDITION)
[LIBRARY EDITION Audiobook CD format in sturdy Vinyl Case with cloth sleeves that keep compact discs protected.]

[Read by Simon Vance]

Here are two classics of moral philosophy from one of the most revered Christian voices of our time.

In The Abolition of Man, C. S. Lewis reflects on society and nature and the challenges of how best to educate our children. He describes what public education should be and how far from this standard modern education has fallen. Lewis eloquently argues that, as a society, we need to underpin reading and writing lessons with moral education.

In The Great Divorce, Lewis presents his vision of the afterworld. A fictional narrator boards a bus on a drizzly English afternoon and embarks on an incredible voyage through Heaven and Hell, where he meets a host of supernatural beings and comes to some significant realizations about the nature of good and evil.
release date: Jul 08, 2013
Check price
Vibratory Astral Projection & Clairvoyance CD Companion: Your Next Steps in Evolutionary Consciousness & Psychic Empowerment

YOUR NEXT STEP IN EXPANDING CONSCIOUSNESS

Go with the Flow. The Induced Out-of-Body Experience (OBE) and the Development of ExtraSensory Perception (ESP) are not just interesting paranormal phenomena. They are innate to the extraordinary expansion of conscious awareness happening right now. Evolution to higher consciousness is liberating and empowering. It’s the Future, Now!

Human Evolution happens in higher levels of consciousness. Use this program of personal development to raise your consciousness and extend your Psychic Power. With practice, you can induce an Out-of-Body Experience. This professionally scripted audio CD guides you safely through the process known as Vibratory Astral Projection. Listening to the carefully scripted instructions and the specially composed music will lead you effortlessly through the steps to achieving real astral projection. A companion to the book, Clairvoyance for Psychic Empowerment, this audio program includes its own explanatory booklet.

Stare, without blinking, at the center of this symbol until it vibrates; close your eyes and see the image floating in Inner Space before your Third Eye.

1 - 10 of 340 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.