New Release Books by Juan Williams

Juan Williams is the author of What the Hell Do You Have to Lose? (2018), Eyes on the Prize (2013), Muzzled (2012), Thurgood Marshall (2011) and other 14 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

18 results found

What the Hell Do You Have to Lose?

release date: Sep 25, 2018
What the Hell Do You Have to Lose?
The bestselling author, political analyst, and civil rights expert delivers a forceful critique of the Trump administration's ignorant and unprecedented rollback of the civil rights movement. In this powerful and timely book, civil rights historian and political analyst Juan Williams denounces Donald Trump for intentionally twisting history to fuel racial tensions for his political advantage. In Williams's lifetime, crusaders for civil rights have braved hatred, violence, and imprisonment, and in so doing made life immeasurably better for African Americans and other marginalized groups. Remarkably, all this progress suddenly seems to have been forgotten--or worse, undone. The stirring history of hard-fought and heroic battles for voting rights, integrated schools, and more is under direct threat from an administration dedicated to restricting these basic freedoms. Williams pulls the fire alarm on the Trump administration's policies, which pose a threat to civil rights without precedent in modern America. What the Hell Do You Have to Lose? makes a searing case for the enduring value of our historic accomplishments and what happens if they are lost.

Eyes on the Prize

release date: Sep 03, 2013
Eyes on the Prize
Eyes on the Prize traces the movement from the landmark Brown v. the Board of Education case in 1954 to the march on Selma and the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965. This is a companion volume to the first part of the acclaimed PBS series.

Muzzled

release date: Jul 10, 2012
Muzzled
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Muzzled scores some righteous points about the need for an honest national dialogue.”—Los Angeles Times In Muzzled, Juan Williams uses his very public firing from NPR as a launching pad to discuss the countless ways in which honest debate in America is stifled. In today’s partisan world, where media provocateurs rule the airwaves and political correctness dictates what can and cannot be said with impunity, Williams shows how the honest exchange of ideas and the search for solutions and reasonable compromise is deliberately muzzled. Among the issues denied a full-throated discussion are racial profiling, the increased reliance on religious beliefs in debating American values and legislation, the nuances of an immigration policy gone awry, the uneasy balance between individual freedom and our desire for security against terrorism, and much more. Delivering a fierce, fresh look at the critical importance of an open airing of controversial issues, Williams argues that only by bringing such hot-button topics into the light of day can we hope to grapple with them, and exercise our cherished, hard-won right of free speech.

Thurgood Marshall

release date: Jun 22, 2011
Thurgood Marshall
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • The definitive biography of the great lawyer and Supreme Court justice, from the bestselling author of Eyes on the Prize “Magisterial . . . in Williams’ richly detailed portrait, Marshall emerges as a born rebel.”—Jack E. White, Time Thurgood Marshall was the twentieth century’s great architect of American race relations. His victory in the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the landmark Supreme Court case outlawing school segregation in the United States, would have made him a historic figure even if he had never been appointed as the first African-American to serve on the Supreme Court. He had a fierce will to change America, which led to clashes with Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcom X, and Robert F. Kennedy. Most surprising was Marshall’s secret and controversial relationship with the FBI chief J. Edgar Hoover. Based on eight years of research and interviews with over 150 sources, Thurgood Marshall is the sweeping and inspirational story of an enduring figure in American life who rose from the descendants of slaves to become an American hero.

Enough

release date: Jul 24, 2007
Enough
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An impassioned clarion call to return to the traditional values that served generations of civil rights heroes in order to overcome the obstacles faced by black Americans today “Written in the tradition of DuBois and King, Enough is an impressively powerful and courageous book.”—David J. Garrow, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Bearing the Cross Half a century after brave Americans took to the streets to raise the bar of opportunity for all races, Juan Williams writes that too many black Americans are in crisis—caught in a twisted hip-hop culture, dropping out of school, ending up in jail, having babies when they are not ready to be parents, and falling to the bottom in twenty-first-century global economic competition. Williams makes the case that while there is still racism, it is way past time for black Americans to open their eyes to the “culture of failure” that exists within their community. He raises the banner of proud black traditional values—self-help, strong families, and belief in God—that sustained black people through generations of oppression and flowered in the exhilarating promise of the modern civil rights movement. Williams asks what happened to keeping our eyes on the prize by proving the case for equality with black excellence and achievement. Reinforcing his incisive observations with solid research and alarming statistical data, Williams offers a concrete plan for overcoming the obstacles that now stand in the way of African Americans’ full participation in the nation’s freedom and prosperity. Certain to be widely discussed and vehemently debated, Enough is a bold, perceptive, solution-based look at African American life, culture, and politics today.

My Soul Looks Back in Wonder

release date: Jan 01, 2005
My Soul Looks Back in Wonder
One of the most pivotal moments in American history is brought to light through stirring, thought-provoking eyewitness accounts from people who have played active roles in the civil rights movement over the past 50 years.

I'll Find a Way Or Make One

release date: Nov 02, 2004
I'll Find a Way Or Make One
An exploration of the history of 107 historically black American colleges and universities discusses how post-Civil War abolitionists worked to educate newly freed slaves and provides personal memoirs and archival material.

Have a Read on Me

release date: Jan 11, 2012
Have a Read on Me
Sit down, relax, and indulge yourself in poetry that soothes the soul. The poems of Juan Williams are inspirational. They celebrate life's little moments and touch on subjects that everyone can relate to-from the heartbreak of an absent father or a lost love, the pain of regret, dreams for the future, the art of charity, taking a chance on love, restoring faith, overcoming fear, the blessings of friendship, to giving thanks. And running through them all is a strong current of acceptance and hope and joy.

This Far by Faith

release date: Dec 23, 2003
This Far by Faith
A companion to the PBS series, This Far by Faith isthe story of how religious faith inspired the greatest social movementin American history -- the U.S. Civil Rights movement. Hailed upon publication as a beautiful, seminal book on the role of the church in the African American community as well as on the social history of America, This Far by Faith reveals the deep religious conviction that empowered a people viewed as powerless to blaze a path to freedom and deliverance, to stand and be counted in this one nation under God. Here are the stories of politics, tent revivals, and the importance of black churches as touchstones for every step of the faith journey that became the Civil Rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s. Using archival and contemporary photography, historical research, and modern-day interviews, This Far by Faith features messages from some of today's foremost religious leaders.

Choosing Fatherhood

release date: Jan 01, 2012
Choosing Fatherhood
Absentee fathers has been identified as American s most pressing problem by the Brookings Institute, because nearly every social ill finds its roots in fatherless homes. Choosing Fatherhood explores this issue through the art of photography in which Lewis Kostiner creates portraits of dads who are involved in their children's lives."

Don't Stop Growing

release date: Nov 11, 2021

A Mother's Love Is God's Love

release date: May 10, 2020
A Mother's Love Is God's Love
A book for mother's both natural and spiritual to encourage them that the primary seed is the Word of God.

Fight the Good Fight of Faith

release date: Jun 16, 2021

17 Steps to a Strong Prayer LIfe

release date: May 07, 2021

The Victory That Has Overcome the World

release date: Jun 21, 2020
18 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com