New Release Books by Lisa Shanahan

Lisa Shanahan is the author of Hello World (2021), The Grand, Genius Summer of Henry Hoobler (2017), Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee! (2017), The Postman's Dog (2006) and other 15 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

19 results found

Hello World

release date: Jul 28, 2021
Hello World
See the world through the eyes of a toddler, with this perfect new picture book from much-loved pair Lisa Shanahan and Leila Rudge. The sun is up and so is one gorgeous munchkin, ready to welcome the world! With a delicious rhyming text and scrumptious illustrations, here is a joyous celebration of all the small wonders waiting to be discovered, in a single ordinary day.

The Grand, Genius Summer of Henry Hoobler

release date: Jan 25, 2017
The Grand, Genius Summer of Henry Hoobler
WINNER: 2017 QLD Literary Awards, Children's Fiction It struck Henry that perhaps he was waiting for the exact right moment to be daring and brave. The exact right moment where he felt no worry at all, not one tiny flicker. But what if that moment never came? Henry Hoobler is a reluctant adventurer who is worried about his summer holiday camping at the beach: bugs, spiders, snakes, stingers, blue-ringed octopi or sharks. Worst of all, his family and friends are pushing him to ride his new silver bike - without training wheels. But when Henry meets Cassie, he discovers that courage is there to be found when you have a friend who is straight-up and true. A joyous, heart-warming story from the much-loved author of My Big Birkett.

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee!

release date: Jul 25, 2017
Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee!
Ruby Lee is a little girl with a very big imagination. Every week Ruby's teacher, Mrs Majestic-Jones, asks special people to do special jobs in her class. Ruby would do anything to be the messenger, as she's the best in her class at announcing. But will her wild imagination get in the way? A delightful story about an adorable and irrepressible heroine from CBCA award-winning author Lisa Shanahan and Illustrators Australia award-winner Binny. Perfect for fans of CHARLIE AND LOLA and OLIVIA. Short-listed for the CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood.

The Postman's Dog

release date: Jan 01, 2006
The Postman's Dog
When he adopts a dog named Lucy, Charlie the postman, who is a recent widower, discovers that his new friend hates postmen, and, with the help of his neighbors, soon has Lucy helping him deliver the mail, in this heartwarming tale of love, friendship, and community.

Sweetie May

release date: Jan 01, 2007
Sweetie May
Captain Widehide and Captain Leanbean love arguing - from dawn to dusk, day after day. the only thing they love more than arguing is treasure - lots of it! then one day they find more than they bargained for ... Sweetie May is back in this fabulous new edition!

The Sweet, Terrible, Glorious Year I Truly, Completely Lost It

release date: Nov 11, 2008
The Sweet, Terrible, Glorious Year I Truly, Completely Lost It
IN MY FAMILY, when anyone rides the wave of their emotions, we say they're chucking a birkett. When the emotion drives out all common sense, we say they're chucking a big one. The telltale signs are: flaming cheeks, shortness of breath, bulging eyes, and a prolonged illogical outburst.Gemma Stone is convinced that it's always unseemly to chuck a birkett and that it's actually insane to chuck one in front of a complete stranger. But that was before she fell for a boy who barely knows she exists, before she auditioned for the school play, before she met the family of freaks her sister Debbie is marrying into, before the unpredictable Raven De Head took an interest in her, and before she realized that at the right time and for the right reason, a birkett could be a beautiful thing.

My Big Birkett

release date: Jun 01, 2006
My Big Birkett
In my family, when anyone rides the wave of their emotions, we say they're chucking a birkett. When the emotion drives out all common sense, we say they're chucking a big one. The telltale signs are: flaming cheeks, shortness of breath, bulging eyes and a prolonged illogical outburst. Gemma Stone is convinced that it's always unseemly to chuck a Birkett and that it's actually insane to chuck one in front of a complete stranger. But that was before she fell in love with a boy who barely knows she exists, before she auditioned for the school play, before she met the family of freaks her sister Debbie is marrying into, before the unpredictable Raven De Head took an interest in her, and before she realised that at the right time and for the right reason, a Birkett could be a beautiful thing. A sharply-observed, funny and bittersweet novel about testing your wings and finding your feet.

Murder Masterpiece

release date: Nov 21, 2016
Murder Masterpiece
Book 2 of the Boston Publishing House Mystery Series.A deadly art heist ripped from the pages of their new blockbuster lands Harpoon Books back in the news. But is it a publicity stunt?

Big Pet Day

release date: Jan 01, 2015
Big Pet Day
A funny and touching story that deals with the themes of shyness, imagination, being different, friendship and dealing with the world of school.

The Whole Caboodle

release date: Apr 01, 2016
The Whole Caboodle
Wakey-wakey Peachy Pear, my fuzzy-wuzzy Grizzly Bear, my tootsy-wootsy Fizzyjig, my hurdie-gurdie Whirligig! Who shall we see at the park today? A playful pup takes the lead on a stroll to the park, where many new friends will be found!

Daddy's Having a Horse

release date: Jan 01, 2005
Daddy's Having a Horse
Mummy is having a new baby and Caitlin is delighted. But she is not as excited as her brother Lachlan. He is sure that Daddy's having a horse! When the big day finally arrives, both of them are surprised. Everyone will love this funny, tender story about what not to expect when your mum is expecting. This is a unique picture book that celebrates the role of fatherhood in a time when Dads are becoming more involved in parenting. It is perfect for children awaiting the arrival of a new brother or sister in the family, as it explores both the uncertainties and joy which surrounds this momentous occasion.

Murder by the Book

release date: Jul 15, 2015
Murder by the Book
When two savage murders roil Harpoon Books, the Boston publishing house where she works, troubled heroine Frances Paige leans on a trusted bartender and exploits her family's ties to Boston's Irish Mob in her quest to solve the crimes.

Daisy and the Puppy

release date: May 01, 2013

Bear and Chook by the Sea

release date: Jan 01, 2009
Bear and Chook by the Sea
In a follow up to the delightful BEAR AND CHOOK, the two lovable characters continue their adventures in BEAR AND CHOOK BY THE SEA. Bear and Chook are unexpected friends. Bear still likes adventure and Chook would still much rather have the quiet life! One day they decide to go and visit the sea. Chook is worried that they don t know the way and will get lost, but Bear is confident they will find it just around the pond, under the bridge, through the forest and over the mountain! A wonderfully warm read-aloud story about the dreamers in life and those who wish they d sometimes keep their feet more firmly on the ground. More info, teachers' guides and activity downloads available at www.bearandchook.com.au

My Mum Tarzan

release date: Jan 01, 2004
My Mum Tarzan
Parents can be extremely embarrassing - especially when they refuse to act like parents! And sometimes in MY MUM TARZAN it is not obvious who is the mother and who is the child! The house Mum and the narrator live in is basically one big dress-up box. And Mum has the kind of imagination that can take a broom, a pair of rainboots, a vacuum cleaner, a cardboard tube - and turn it into something wonderful. On stormy days, she dresses up as a pirate and drives the narrator to school in her ghostly galleon with the Jolly Roger flapping on the roof. Sometimes she goes shopping dressed as a mermaid and they don't go down the aisle with the canned fish on special because it makes her cry. Other days she is an Egyptian princess or the Man from Snowy River. Some of the neighbours envy her imagination; others say they wish shed grow up. But whether she is Tarzan swinging through the jungles or just Mum helping out with the reading at school, it's clear that - embarrassing or not - the narrator hopes that this unique mother never will.

Sleep Tight, My Honey

release date: Jan 01, 2008
Sleep Tight, My Honey
Lily and Monty s new baby is a gorgeous bunny, but she just won t sleep at night. Grandma, Tortoise, Possum, Butterfly and Bat are full of helpful advice, but nothing works, until Lily finds the perfect solution!

Gordon's Got a Snookie

release date: Mar 04, 2005
Gordon's Got a Snookie
Wayne Harris has produced the most wonderful illustrations to accompany this perfect read aloud text. Gordon is a Gorilla who still carries around a comfort blanket. Ages 3-7.

Sweetie May Overboard!

release date: Jan 01, 2001
Sweetie May Overboard!
The lives of pirates Captain Widehide, Captain Leanbean and the crew of the Thick and Thin have been turned upside down by the cheeky baby Sweetie May. Instead of searching for treasure, they spend their mornings finger-painting and their afternoons singing nursery rhymes! But then Captain Nitpicker of the Spick and Span - the cleanest, meanest pirate ship ever to sail the seven seas - kidnaps Sweetie May, believing her to be a princess. How will Widehide and Leanbean get her back? And how will captain Nitpicker manage to keep his shop spick and span with a baby on board?

Bear & Chook by the Sea

release date: Jan 01, 2009
19 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com