New Release Books by Michael Arndt

Michael Arndt is the author of Snails and Monkey Tails (2022), Snails & Monkey Tails (2022), Thoughts Are Air (2021), RAinbowZ (2021) and other 7 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

11 results found

Snails and Monkey Tails

release date: Nov 02, 2022
Snails and Monkey Tails
A rollicking linguistic ride for fans of Eats, Shoots & Leaves and Just My Type.

Snails & Monkey Tails

release date: Jan 11, 2022
Snails & Monkey Tails
"There are countless books that can teach you the alphabet, but almost none that focus on the tiny designs that run interference among the letterforms: those easily overlooked punctuation and typographic symbols. These symbols, as Michael Arndt proves in this beautiful and endlessly fascinating book, are absolutely indispensable to communication: punctuation turns words into sentences and language into meaning... From commas to semicolons, from slashes to asterisks, from guillemets to octothorpes (named, perhaps, after athlete Jim Thorpe), you’ll never look at punctuation the same way again."—Michael Bierut, partner, Pentagram In this show-stopping guide with more than 75 uniquely designed two-color spreads—a rollicking linguistic ride for fans of Eats, Shoots & Leaves and Just My Type—award-winning graphic designer Michael Arndt explores the typographic origins, names, and shapes of both common punctuation marks and symbols, as well as the proper and diverse usage of each. From the period to the question mark, the semicolon to the em dash, symbols and marks are an integral part of language. In graphically engaging spreads that utilize typography in an innovative way, Snails & Monkey Tails examines the evolution of these mighty linguistic tools—from the punctum, or point, created by an ancient scribe to the guillemet, used most commonly in lieu of quote marks by the French (and named in honor of a typographer Guillaume Le Bé). With verve and insight, Michael Arndt explains their proper usage and how they came to be universally accepted today. Snails & Monkey Tails—Snails (@); Monkey Tails (&)—is packed with intriguing facts, history, stories, and lore, as well as grammar, explaining it clearly and with examples. What is the purpose of the comma—perhaps the most used symbol in the English language—and what are the proper uses of the asterisk? Do quote marks go inside or outside punctuation? What about a quote within a quote—a quote from someone quoting someone else? How much space goes on either side of an ellipsis? What’s the difference between an en-dash and an em-dash? Complete with a listing of useful terms and clear diagrams for creating typographical marks and symbols correctly on both PC and Apple computers, Snails & Monkey Tails is essential for bibliophiles, writers, grammarians, graphic designers, typography enthusiasts, logophiles, and anyone with a passion for the written word.

Thoughts Are Air

release date: May 11, 2021
Thoughts Are Air
A beautiful and timely book for anyone who needs a little inspiration to turn their dreams into reality. When a trio of friends happen upon a neighborhood tree falling into decay, an idea catches hold. But what makes a dream become a plan, and how does a plan lead to a brighter tomorrow? With deceptively simple verse, Thoughts Are Air brilliantly links thoughts, words, and actions to the water cycle. Just as air becomes water becomes solid matter, thoughts become words become actions. The comparison is subtle yet powerful--air condensing into matter; ideas condensing into doing something that matters. Completely unique and utterly accessible, this is a book to inspire curiosity and spark change-making ideas in readers young and old.

RAinbowZ

release date: Jun 01, 2021
RAinbowZ
An alphabet board book that introduces the ABCs and ROYGBVs in vibrant rainbow colors to engage young eyes and encourage verbal and visual literacy. Glints of rainbow holographic foil make this a truly special book to behold! From Michael Arndt, award-winning graphic designer and author of the M books: see + read board book series, comes rAinbowZ--a new, mesmerizing alphabet and color primer for kids. Introducing a variety of food and objects, all in the colors of the spectrum, rAinbowZ engages young eyes and makes verbal and visual literacy fun. Fascinating for babies, this board book is an exciting, exuberant, and educational tool that can be used over and over again.

One Yellow Sun

release date: Jul 14, 2020
One Yellow Sun
The second in a new series of "look + learn M books" presenting eye-catching, creative designs, and die-cut pages to teach children colors, counting, and caring, in this beautiful board book. There’s no better way to share love and learning with your little one than time spent on your lap with a colorful, interactive board book. One Yellow Sun helps introduce little ones to numbers, colors, and sizes, using vibrant colors and smart die-cuts. There’s a surprise activity at the end!

Minimal New York City

release date: Jun 30, 2020
Minimal New York City
Make your way from the Flatiron to Flatbush as an award-winning designer expertly captures New York City with minimalist art and unexpected wit. Minimal New York City playfully captures the essence of New York with clever pairs of sharp illustrations and cheeky commentary about the city. Historic context for each illustration is revealed in the back of the book, making it an informative experience for anyone who has ever walked through the bright lights of Times Square, paid $13 for an avocado toast, or indulged in Junior''s Cheesecake on Flatbush. Minimal New York City is a celebration of what makes New York New York. As a lifelong resident of New York state who has spent nearly twenty-five years living on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, Michael Arndt has poured his wealth of insider knowledge into Minimal New York City, a graphic love letter dedicated to the place he calls home. His references run the gamut from visual similarities between Central Park and Brooklyn''s parks to the ways in which Times Square has evolved from the ''70s to today. His visual and verbal wit make the graphics of New York approachable for New Yorkers and Big Apple fanatics alike.

My Heart Grows

release date: May 12, 2020
My Heart Grows
The first in a new series of "see + read M books" presenting eye-catching, creative designs, and die-cut pages to teach children colors, caring, and other golden rule lessons in this bright and beautiful board book. There’s no better way to share love and learning with your little one than time spent on your lap with a colorful book. My Heart Grows illustrates the wonderful ways to give and receive love, from hugging and playing to sharing and helping, all while watching the book’s heart grow!

Bad Bunny Coloring Book

release date: Jan 14, 2021
Bad Bunny Coloring Book
This fabulous Coloring book is the greatest gift for your children All pages are full of draw designs especially made for Kids from 2 to 12 years old. Thick lines and simple patterns set little hands up for coloring success! Discover The Amazing Benefits Of This Coloring Book: Kids can develop good motor skills by coloring inside this coloring book. Can be an amazing gift for kids and their friends! Kids can also relax and enjoy a activity such as coloring these pages Kids can use their imagination to make wonderful images. Use different colored pencils, markers, and pens to color these pages. Grab one and let your children''s creative run wild!

Cat Says Meow

release date: Mar 04, 2014
Cat Says Meow
Dog says woof . . . pig says oink . . . cow says moo. Animals and the sounds they make are paired up in playfully compelling ways in this eye-catching illustrated gift book featuring bold colors and an engaging use of onomatopoeia. Kids and parents will delight in discovering the ways in which the letters that spell out each animal''s sound are key elements of that animal''s illustration. With so much to see and to sound out, kids will relish this unique visual and educational experience, brimming with color and letters. Plus, this is a fixed-format version of the book, which looks nearly identical to the print version.

Screenwriter's Award-Winner

release date: Sep 01, 2009
Screenwriter's Award-Winner
The Newmarket Shooting Script® Sets offer a value-priced opportunity for screenplay lovers to build their collection. Each book within the set includes a facsimile of the film’s actual shooting script, plus exclusive extras, such as introductions by or interviews with the filmmakers, notes on the film’s production, selected movie stills, and complete cast and crew credits. SCREENWRITER’S AWARD-WINNER SET, COLLECTION 7 (Three Volumes) Slumdog Millionaire, Juno, Little Miss Sunshine Slumdog Millionaire: Academy Award® winner for Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay. Features foreword by screenwriter Simon Beaufoy, introduction by and Q & A with director Danny Boyle, and full-color photo section. Juno: Academy Award® winner for Best Original Screenplay. Features introduction by screenwriter Diablo Cody, foreword by director Jason Reitman, and full-color photo section. Little Miss Sunshine: Academy Award® winner for Best Original Screenplay. Features notes by screenwriter Michael Arndt, foreword by directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, humorous essay "How to Write a Sundance Hit in Nine Easy Steps," and full-color photo section.

Cement-rock Possibilities in Paleozoic Rocks of Eastern North Dakota

11 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com