New Release Books by Reem Faruqi

Reem Faruqi is the author of Anisa's International Day (2022), Golden Girl (2022), Unsettled (2021), Amira's Picture Day (2021), Lailah's Lunchbox: A Ramadan Story (2015) and other 3 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

8 results found

Anisa's International Day

release date: Sep 20, 2022
Anisa's International Day
From the award-winning author of Unsettled, meet Anisa, the adorable Pakistani American heroine of this irresistible younger middle grade novel about a girl who introduces her class to the art of mehndi for International Day. Filled with fun black-and-white interior art, recipes, and activities in the back matter and perfect for fans of Meet Yasmin! "Genuine, sweet, and relatable. Anisa problems solves her way out of more than one sticky situation with sometimes unexpected—and joyful—results." —Maleeha Siddiqui, author of Barakah Beats Anisa is super-excited about International Day and can’t wait to share her mother’s samosas with her class. But when someone else has the exact same idea, Anisa is crushed. Going to her aunt''s dholki party gives her an idea for the perfect activity instead—mehndi! There’s only one problem: Anisa’s best friend doesn’t seem to like the idea. She doesn’t even seem to like Anisa anymore. Will Anisa ever get to enjoy International Day?

Golden Girl

release date: Feb 22, 2022
Golden Girl
From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah’s Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what’s right isn’t always easy. For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Clean Getaway, this is a heartfelt, soul-searching story with laughter, hope, and lessons learned. Seventh grader Aafiyah loves playing tennis, reading Weird but True facts, and hanging out with her best friend, Zaina. However, Aafiyah has a bad habit that troubles her—she’s drawn to pretty things and can’t help but occasionally “borrow” them. But when her father is falsely accused of a crime he hasn’t committed and gets taken in by authorities, Aafiyah knows she needs to do something to help. When she brainstorms a way to bring her father back, she turns to her Weird but True facts and devises the perfect plan. But what if her plan means giving in to her bad habit, the one she’s been trying to stop? Aafiyah wants to reunite her family but finds that maybe her plan isn’t so perfect after all. . . "Faruqi''s beautifully observed and page-turning novel in verse overflows with compassion, honesty, and hope." —Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary "Faruqi proves herself once again a master of middle grade verse novels. Golden Girl is a phenomenal story loaded with heart and hope.” —Adrianna Cuevas, author of the Pura Belpré honor book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez, Cuba in My Pocket, and The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto “A story that sends an important message—that people who make bad choices are not bad people.” —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home

Unsettled

release date: May 11, 2021
Unsettled
May/June 2021 Kids’ Indie Next List · Featured in Today Show’s AAPI Heritage Month list · A Kirkus Children''s Best Book of 2021 · A National Council of Teachers of English Notable Verse Novel · Jane Addams 2022 Children’s Book Award Finalist · 2021 Nerdie Award Winner · 2021 Muslim Bookstagram Award Winner For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah''s Lunchbox. "A lyrical coming of age story exploring family, immigration, and most of all belonging.” —Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound “This empowering story will resonate with people who have struggled to both fit in and stay true to themselves.” —Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary “A gorgeously written story, filled with warmth and depth." —Hena Khan, author of Amina’s Voice When her family moves from Pakistan to Peachtree City, all Nurah wants is to blend in, yet she stands out for all the wrong reasons. Nurah’s accent, floral-print kurtas, and tea-colored skin make her feel excluded, until she meets Stahr at swimming tryouts. And in the water Nurah doesn’t want to blend in. She wants to win medals like her star athlete brother, Owais—who is going through struggles of his own in the U.S. Yet when sibling rivalry gets in the way, she makes a split-second decision of betrayal that changes their fates. Ultimately Nurah slowly gains confidence in the form of strong swimming arms, and also gains the courage to stand up to bullies, fight for what she believes in, and find her place.

Amira's Picture Day

release date: Apr 13, 2021
Amira's Picture Day
Ramadan has come to an end, and Amira can''t wait to stay home from school to celebrate Eid. There''s just one hiccup: it''s also school picture day. How can Amira be in two places at once? Just the thought of Eid makes Amira warm and tingly inside. From wearing new clothes to handing out goody bags at the mosque, Amira can''t wait for the festivities to begin. But when a flier on the fridge catches her eye, Amira''s stomach goes cold. Not only is it Eid, it''s also school picture day. If she''s not in her class picture, how will her classmates remember her? Won''t her teacher wonder where she is? Though the day''s celebrations at the mosque are everything Amira was dreaming of, her absence at picture day weighs on her. A last-minute idea on the car ride home might just provide the solution to everything in this delightful story from acclaimed author Reem Faruqi, illustrated with vibrant color by Fahmida Azim.

Lailah's Lunchbox: A Ramadan Story

release date: May 01, 2015
Lailah's Lunchbox: A Ramadan Story
*2019 Daybreak Children''s Picture Book Award -- Recognizing Muslim Women''s Contributions to Literature* *Notable Social Studies Trade Book For Young People 2016, a cooperative Project of the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council* *Featured Book of the Month, Anti-Defamation League* *American Library Association Notable Book for Children 2016* *Skipping Stones Honor 2016* *International Literacy Association Choices Reading List* Lailah is in a new school in a new country, thousands of miles from her old home, and missing her old friends. When Ramadan begins, she is excited that she is finally old enough to participate in the fasting but worried that her classmates won’t understand why she doesn’t join them in the lunchroom. Lailah solves her problem with help from the school librarian and her teacher and in doing so learns that she can make new friends who respect her beliefs. This gentle, moving story from first-time author Reem Faruqi comes to life in Lea Lyon’s vibrant illustrations. Lyon uses decorative arabesque borders on intermittent spreads to contrast the ordered patterns of Islamic observances with the unbounded rhythms of American school days. Fountas & Pinnell Level N

Swimming Towards a Dream

release date: Sep 01, 2023

I Can Help

release date: Jan 01, 2021
I Can Help
"Zahra loves spending time with Kyle at school, but when her other classmates start teasing her for helping him she starts making choices she regrets"--

The Perfect Pet

The Perfect Pet
Moez and Hala are excited when their parentsagree to get a pet. But they each have differentideas of what the perfect pet should be.
8 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com