Most Popular Free eBooks in Science Fiction & Fantasy

Discover most popular free ebooks in science fiction & fantasy from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

1 - 40 of 211 results
>>

Physics and Literature

release date: Dec 20, 2021
Physics and Literature
DIE REIHE: LITERATUR- UND NATURWISSENSCHAFTEN entsteht unter Federführung des Erlanger Forschungszentrums für Literatur- und Naturwissenschaften (ELINAS). Experten unterschiedlicher Fachkulturen führen darin ihre Methoden zusammen und fragen sowohl nach den Funktionen der Sprache in der naturwissenschaftlichen Forschung als auch nach den Verfahren der Modellierung naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in der Literatur. Die Reihe versteht sich als ein interdisziplinäres Forum zur Reflexion der kulturellen Bedeutung natur- und literaturwissenschaftlicher Forschung sowie zur Ethik und Rhetorik wissenschaftlicher Argumentation.

From This Green Earth: Essays on Looking Outward

release date: Nov 11, 2019
From This Green Earth: Essays on Looking Outward
Much has been said about the positive effect of the photos of Earth obtained by Apollo 8, which for the first time showed our planet as a globe, a fragile refuge amid barren surroundings, and thereby launched the environmental movement. The negative impact--the subconscious apprehension resulting from realization that space is an actual place containing little that''s familiar to us and perhaps much that we''d rather not meet--is not spoken of. But it may be no less significant. Could this be one of the reasons why widespread interest in space died so soon after the first moon landing? For the past fifty years space advocates have been puzzled and frustrated by the slowness of progress in space and the failure of the public to grasp its importance not only to the future of humankind, but to the preservation of Earth''s environment. But is it really cause for discouragement? In this book Sylvia Engdahl argues that in the light of history, it''s not surprising that acceptance of a new outlook on the universe is slow. All past human advances have been made by visionary minorities without the support of their contemporaries, and our transformation into a spacefaring species will be no exception. This book also includes all of Engdahl''s earlier essays about space, such as "Space and Human Survival," which has been popular on the Web for nearly twenty years, plus new ones about the priority of Mars and the question of whether we''ll ever meet hostile aliens. In addition, an Epilogue contains the quotations from her Web page "Space Quotes to Ponder" about why a presence in space is vital to humankind. X-Ray is enabled and includes biographical information about all the quotation authors as well as the people mentioned in the essays.

Quantum Shorts

release date: Jan 01, 2019
Quantum Shorts
This book presents winning and shortlisted stories from past editions of the international Quantum Shorts competition. Inspired by the weird and wonderful world of quantum physics, the shorts range from bold imaginings of a quantum future to contemplations rooted in the everyday. They feature characters of all sorts: lovers beginning their lives together, an atom having an existential crisis, and, of course, cats. These Quantum Shorts will unleash in your mind a multiverse of ideas.

Executing Magic in the Modern Era

release date: Jul 19, 2017
Executing Magic in the Modern Era
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license This book explores the magical and medical history of executions from the eighteenth to the early twentieth century by looking at the afterlife potency of criminal corpses, the healing activities of the executioner, and the magic of the gallows site. The use of corpses in medicine and magic has been recorded back into antiquity. The lacerated bodies of Roman gladiators were used as a source of curative blood, for instance. In early modern Europe, a great trade opened up in ancient Egyptian mummies and the fat of executed criminals, plundered as medicinal cure-alls. However, this is the first book to consider the demand for the blood of the executed, the desire for human fat, the resort to the hanged man’s hand, and the trade in hanging rope in the modern era. It ends by look at the spiritual afterlife of dead criminals.

9/11: Finding the Truth: 2nd Edition

release date: Aug 01, 2016
9/11: Finding the Truth: 2nd Edition
What really happened on 9/11 What can the evidence tell us Who is covering up the evidence, and why are they covering it up This book attempts to give some answers to these questions and has been written by someone who has become deeply involved in research into what happened on 9/11. A study of the available evidence will challenge you and much of what you assumed to be true. "Now we are discovering that there is a highly-sophisticated black-ops weaponization of free energy technology and it was responsible for the bizarre, low-temperature pulverization of the Twin Towers. Dr. Judy Wood has pieced together the physical evidence and Andrew Johnson has highlighted who is working to silence or smear whom, as the powers that be rush to impede or at least contain the dissemination of these startling findings." - Conrado Salas Cano, M.S. in Physics

The Realities of Reality - Part II: Making Sense of Why Modern Science Advances (Volume 1)

release date: Sep 19, 2018
The Realities of Reality - Part II: Making Sense of Why Modern Science Advances (Volume 1)
This Volume 1 of Part II considers the factors that make science progress. It lays out the differences between normal science and pseudoscience by showing the importance of the scientific method in the advancement of science. It introduces the concept of Truth in science by raising the point that even though truth is based on the scientific method, can science be true? Can it depict reality? The author focuses on modern science, which, he thinks, was born thanks to the Scientific Revolution which started with Galileo Galilei and led to the Industrial Revolution. The impacts of the latter is analyzed in light modernism, modernization, and modernity, all three linked to scientific progress. The book also talks about the Newtonian scientific leap – by analyzing particularly the then social and political fabrics of England – and Albert Einstein by showing how he changed history. According to the author, our very physical world can help us understand scientific progress. So, he explains, among other things, the structure of atoms and molecules, the role of physics in the understanding of our universe, Quantum Mechanics, and the importance of Higgs-Boson. On the other hand, the book is a stunning revelation of how important information is to scientific progress. To make his point, the author, first, talks about John Vincent Atanasoff as the Father of computer thanks to the invention of his ABC computer and then, Alan Turing as the Father of modern computer thanks to his Turing Test and his views on Artificial Intelligence. Both men played a momentous role in the Digital Revolution and in the Information Age, according to the book. Finally, the author talks about nanotechnology, which explores the world of small, meaning at the atomic and the molecular levels and is an inescapable tool in the molecular biology revolution which, itself, is an important factor in scientific progress and in transhumanism or human enhancement defined as the ideology according to which man can surpass his present state by improving his genetic material.

Imagining the Future City

release date: Nov 18, 2013
Imagining the Future City
London is one of the world’s leading cities. It is home to an extraordinary concentration and diversity of people, industries, politics, religions and ideas, and plays an important role in our highly globalised and tightly networked modern world. What does the future hold for London? Investigating any aspect of the city’s future reveals a complex picture of interrelations and dependencies. The London 2062 Programme from University College London brings a new, cross-disciplinary and highly collaborative approach to investigating this complexity. The programme crosses departmental boundaries within the university, and promotes active collaboration between leading academics and those who shape London through policy and practice. This book approaches the question of London’s future by considering the city in terms of Connections, Things, Power and Dreams.

Human Minds and Animal Stories

release date: Feb 07, 2019
Human Minds and Animal Stories
The power of stories to raise our concern for animals has been postulated throughout history by countless scholars, activists, and writers, including such greats as Thomas Hardy and Leo Tolstoy. This is the first book to investigate that power and explain the psychological and cultural mechanisms behind it. It does so by presenting the results of an experimental project that involved thousands of participants, texts representing various genres and national literatures, and the cooperation of an internationally-acclaimed bestselling author. Combining psychological research with insights from animal studies, ecocriticism and other fields in the environmental humanities, the book not only provides evidence that animal stories can make us care for other species, but also shows that their effects are more complex and fascinating than we have ever thought. In this way, the book makes a groundbreaking contribution to the study of relations between literature and the nonhuman world as well as to the study of how literature changes our minds and society. "As witnessed by novels like Black Beauty and Uncle Tom’s Cabin, a good story can move public opinion on contentious social issues. In Human Minds and Animal Stories a team of specialists in psychology, biology, and literature tells how they discovered the power of narratives to shift our views about the treatment of other species. Beautifully written and based on dozens of experiments with thousands of subjects, this book will appeal to animal advocates, researchers, and general readers looking for a compelling real-life detective story." - Hal Herzog, author of Some We Love, Some We Hate, Some We Eat : Why It’s So Hard To Think Straight About Animals

The man that boils water to the desert (free book, the -1 print)

The man that boils water to the desert (free book, the -1 print)
Falling out of the airplane, into a new destiny. Watching, feeling, smelling, the sand of eternity. Discovering beautiful people in nowhere land, that are making clothes and tents, all from the desert sands. And if we bring water from the ocean to the desert, plants will arise from the ground, and roots will be expanded. Animals start walking around, eating the growing leaves. Birds will come flying, and spread the lovely seeds of the trees. The sandcurtain knitters have waited, for more than hundreds of years. For water to come back to their village, like the time he was here. Suddenly he came from the ground, withwater spilling all around. Everybody knew who he was, he came back, and was found. And if we bring water from the ocean to the desert. Plants will arise from the ground, and roots will be expanded. Animals would start walking around, eating growing leaves. Birds will come flying, and spread the lovely seeds of the trees. As we wander in the waiting world, not enough food to feed each other. Changing of weather conditions, the rise of CO2. While all we have to do is divide the water, share it all to another. War oekraine Війна Україна Война в Украине

Supermassive Ancient Galaxies

release date: Jul 01, 2018
Supermassive Ancient Galaxies
Trillion Theory (the new theory by founder/theorist/author Ed Lukowich) is summarized in this book. This new Trillion Theory depicts its estimated ancient trillion year age and origin for our cosmos. Delving deep into humongous galaxies, TT examines the work done by the galaxy builders, which TT purports to be black holes. At the hub of each and every galaxy is a Supermassive black hole which controls all of the millions of solar systems within the galaxy, along with the millions of black holes doing their dutiful tasks of recycling the solar systems for each new 15 billion-year generation. TT says, ''That is why it is near impossible to spot a sun older than 13-14 billion years.; and why astronomers have been mistaken in estimating the age of our cosmos at only 13.7 billion years when viewing the current generation crop of suns and solar systems.'' TT states that an ancient Supermassive black hole at the hub of galaxy may have started building its galaxy as far back as 800 billion years in the trillion-year cosmos. While the Supermassive black hole is ancient, its occupant solar systems die and spawn new solar systems once their star reaches the 10-14 billion year age and goes supernova. Our cosmos is akin to a forest which recycles old trees and spawns the next generation of trees. Quadrillions of black holes, varying in a multitude of sizes, are both the builders and the controllers of the solar systems and the galaxies of our immense cosmos. TT says, ''We indeed have plenty to discover and prove about our universe. Trillion Theory is pointing out the direction to be taken.''

Should You Die?

Should You Die?
Living healthily for centuries is no longer a sci-fi prospect. It is very likely that the first person to live to 200 years in good health is already alive – scientific and technological advances of today are starting to produce medicines and treatments which tackle aging directly. The true debate is no longer about whether we can extend our lives and fight death – it is about whether we should. If advances in medicine and engineering protect you and others from aging, diseases, injuries, and accidents, allowing you to live as a healthy 25-year-old for as long as you wanted (where death could only visit you if, and when, you wished), should you say yes to this future? And what happens if enough people say yes? Will overpopulation be inevitable? Will we lose our identity as humans by relinquishing mortality? Will humanity be challenging the natural and divine order? Will we grow lazy and complacent? Will the divide between the rich and poor grow? Or is overcoming aging and disease a mandate of medicine and a moral imperative to aim for? Perhaps even our destiny as humans? In the same way push back on hunger, pestilence, and violence, should we end the cycle of suffering and death which aging brings to us all? In Should You Die? Augusto T.S. Cruz weighs in on these questions. The author methodically picks apart arguments supporting each side of the debate, highlighting their strengths and weaknesses, making the book an excellent primer for those interested in the discussion, and a helpful guide for those already involved.

Gaian Angels, Book 1: The Weavers Awake

release date: Dec 17, 2011
Gaian Angels, Book 1: The Weavers Awake
We scour the heavens in search of visitors, but what if they’re already here amongst us—just waiting for their awakening? And what if…you’re one of them? This is the true story of a young visionary who predicted the overwhelming extent of the present climatic cataclysm, and this book is now proof since he published it in 2011, when we still believed the collapse of our civilisation was impossible. As early as 2002 he screamed that we had to change our ways, and went right up to the gates of death to find an antidote to his Apocalyptic visions. Of course, he was considered even crazier than the few alarmist scientists that were around at the time. To continue spreading the message and escape psychiatric internment, he eventually had the idea of recounting his extreme experiences mingled with an imaginary world. So here is the diary of a crazy “indigo being” whose error was to be right too soon—because today, only real madmen still deny the environmental tragedy in progress. Maybe it’s not too late to read it? But don’t worry; this is first and foremost an extraordinary journey towards hope, which may be summarised as follows: Arcadia leaves her idyllic Sylvan City to go to Earth and join the team of scouts charged with rescuing humanity, which is in danger of extinction. She comes to life as the author and observes our society from a different perspective. But this spiritual struggle across time and dimensions has unexpected repercussions. Who is really pulling the strings? Perhaps the Akashas: the angelic entities. What is their real intention? Will humanity survive? Maybe Consciousness will disappear...or never see the light of day? This ‘journey of investigation’ pushes the boundaries of reality to embrace a universal, ecological spirituality. Much more than a warning about the wasteland that the human race is preparing for its own future, the Gaian Angels Cycle is a new answer to the eternal question: what is the meaning of life? This first book can be read independently of the trilogy. Free eBook (direct download): take advantage of this special “trial” offer! Suitable for readers ages 16 and up. Categories: Novel in English, digital e-Book ePub, science fiction, SF series, adventures, supernatural, testimony, magical realism, visionary, metaphysical. Themes: utopia / dystopia, evolution, future, apocalypse, end of the world, revelation, spirituality, ecology, shamanism, healers, reincarnation, fallen spirits of nature, guardians of Gaia, indigo children, chakra, karmas, auras, meditation, astral journey of the soul, quest for truth, energies of light, extraterrestrial intelligence, psychic, third eye. Related authors: James Redfield (The Celestine Prophecy), Bernard Werber (Empire of the Ants), Carlos Castaneda (The Art of Dreaming), Pierre Boulle (Planet of the Apes), Franck Herbert (The Dune Saga), Stephen King (Dreamcatcher), Dolores Cannon (The Three Waves of Volunteers & the New Earth)...

Freaky Truths About God & Evolution

release date: Sep 12, 2014
Freaky Truths About God & Evolution
Theologians, philosophers and scientists all have differing views of the world but what is the real abiding reality? Most are afraid to “cross the streams” so to speak of these distinct disciplines but suppose, we could gather together a group of these adherents to discuss the questions that people consider to taboo to talk about in public like the relationship of faith, fact or fantasy. Where would that conversation, its tangents or derivatives lead? This book attempts to answer those questions of the mind that every rational person has at some point in their life. To do that we must engage in discussions about reality, absurdity, perception, Truth, consciousness as well as Godel''s preverbal incompleteness. While discussing the origin of the cosmos the topic will migrate from Transformers and UFO''s to how multidimensionality could be related to miracles. The theme of the book examines the "freaky truths" of the relationship of these divergent disciplines and beliefs. As such, the main characters will be the Sovereign of the Universe and His history verses that of the scientific and philosophical communities. In answering the Problem of Evil (alone worth the cost) we invariably meet the Hostis humani generis = the enemy of humanity: Satan. Hopefully, a rocking good time will be had by everyone who ventures to buy the book. P.S. Don’t be surprised if you find a few spooky parts as well!

Science and Mathematics Books for Elementary and Secondary Schools

by:

ENC Focus

by:
release date: Jan 01, 1997

Using Children's Literature in Math and Science

by:
release date: Jan 01, 1997

Death to Einstein!

release date: Jun 07, 2013
Death to Einstein!
In this short but devastating book, several glaring inconsistencies in Einstein''s celebrated theory are revealed and explored, inconsistencies that doom relativity to an ignoble death. When the dust settles from relativity''s implosion, the author points to where an alternative theory might be found, and in doing so, boldly goes where no sane physicist will dare to follow. Books by crackpots attempting to debunk relativity are indeed plentiful, so how is this one any different? It has illustrations! Well, that and irrefutable evidence that the true crackpots are the ones who adhere to Einstein''s demonstrably untenable theory.

Hector's Juice

release date: Jan 08, 2011
Hector's Juice
This is a great American novel. However, the story of Hector''s Juice starts long before America was a country. In fact it starts long before any history was written about anything. It starts at the very beginning of time and fast forwards to evolution and the beginnings of mankind. But evolution also has a spiritual side and that''s where Spencer the very first guardian angel comes in. He will take you from the beginnings of man in the Great Rift Valley of Africa to the lime colored gas chamber of San Quentin State Penitentiary in California. From the beginnings of surfing (not in Hawaii) to the gunfight at the OK Corral this is a great American novel that is neither restricted to time or space.

Geocentricity: The Debates

release date: Oct 04, 2018
Geocentricity: The Debates
Geocentrism: The belief that Earth is literally motionless at the center of a universe which revolves around it. Believe it or not, in this day and age, there are still people who hold such a belief. But is there any scientific evidence to support this belief, or are these people just a bunch of kooks? This book consists of a series of debates on this issue.

The Saturday Review of Politics, Literature, Science and Art

by:

Qur'an, Modern Science and Philosophy

release date: Jan 23, 2019
Qur'an, Modern Science and Philosophy
Important Information and Presentation: Our book is free. The whole book can be read in “Free Sample” section. It is not necessary to give your credit card information. You can download our book in word or pdf format from the following web addresses: goo.gl/hNIUou or yadi.sk/d/09r41tL9ecYUA You can download the text of our book and its visual/interactive versions from the folder of “Qur''an, Modern Science and Philosophy” in “English Books” section in this address. Besides, you can view or download the files of all of our books, and videos, texts and PowerPoint presentations of our seminars altogether or one by one, from these storage spaces where all of our work on Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) are uploaded. In Google Books and Google Play, it is not possible to open and view the links and videos just by clicking them. We suggest that you download the Pdf files from the address we provide before or from Google Books and read them. Our Website for Journeys of Discovery Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) Training Program http://www.kesifyolculuklari.com http://www.risaleinuregitimprogrami.com Alternative Website: http://www.risaleinuregitimprogramidotcom.wordpress.com Web address of our YouTube Video Channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/EdizSözüer BOOK PRESENTATION: Qur''an, Modern Science and Philosophy New Perspectives from the Treatise of 11. 12. And 13. Words Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) Training Program This book which is entitled "Qur''an, Modern Science and Philosophy" and which is an explanatory work based on 11th, 12th and 13th Words of Risale-i Nur, comparatively deals with the perspectives of the universe by Qur''an, modern science and philosophy; and the differences of interpretation they develop and the different meanings they make out of the same information they have. When you complete the book, you will have a striking appreciation of the profound differences of the lessons given by the philosophy and science which look at the universe from an ungodly perspective and you will have acquired the most basic and accurate Qur''anic terms in making sense of this universe. In 11. Word: We discover the hidden secret of the creation of man and the universe with the help of a wonderful example (The Story of the Creation of Our Universe) and we invite you to a completely different mental journey and we promise that we will go to places you have never travelled before on this imaginary journey that we will start together. Here are some of the questions we ask: Why are we here, who sent us here, and where do we go from here? Who are we and what is required of us? Why couldn’t the mind find its way on its own, alone? What is the true form of the universe and the cause of man''s creation? From which perspective should we look at the universe in order to discover the truth about it? What do we see if we look at the world as a new visitor? Why are we in need of the creatures/created things which come into existence by chance? Why is the nature, existing in the world and in the universe, so beautiful? In 12. Word: We compare Qur''an, philosophy, and modern science in terms of understanding and giving meaning to the universe. Thus, the profound difference between, on the one hand Qur''an and on the other hand, philosophy and science, which look at the universe from an irreligious perspective, emerges strikingly. Our "A Gift Pack", however, will take you to another world, with the strength of its logical rules and poeticalness of its literary depictions. In 13. Word: Right after a pleasant and short trip of history of science, we begin a fictional journey in "Cosmic Calendar" and we search for the answers of the following questions: "What should one expect to get from a product made in the name of science? How should its value be assessed?" and we witness that those who could fine what the world "fine-tuning" means and who appreciate it, will graduate from the "Academy of Universe" with a high degree of success. In this way, having given an exemplary lesson about the fact that religion and sciences of Qur''an and Philosophy produce products, in the name of science, that are quite different from each other., it is proved with a striking determination that Qur''an has such a high degree of scientificness compared to positive sciences. We would like you to accompany us in this imaginary and mental journey of discovery. There is only one fixed price for a ticket of the Journey: A strong sense of wonder in the search for truth. This work is a part of our basic/source book called “A Journey of Discovery for an Extraordinary Treasure: Risale-i Nur (The Treatise of Light) Training Program” upon which our “Journeys of Discovery, Risale-i Nur Training Program” is constructed and it is “The comparison of Qur''an, Philosophy and Modern Science in Understanding the Secret of the Universe”, which is the fourth discovery of the five discovery, dealt with in the first main part of that book, which is called “Discovering the Value of the Treasure of Faith”. We strongly suggest and present this book to those who regularly read Risale-i Nur as well as to those who want to get some information for the first time. The epilogue of our book which is entitled “Your Journey Just Begins Now!” is also included in this work as it contains emotional, striking and impressive points coming sincerely from the deepest parts of our hearts about the reading of Risale-i Nur and attendance to the Risale-i Nur Lectures. BOOK INDEX I- The comparison of Qur''an, Philosophy and Modern Science in Understanding the Secret of the Universe * The Story of the Creation of Our Universe (11. Word): We discover the hidden secret of the creation of man and the universe with the help of a wonderful example. * A Gift Package (12. Word-First Principle): We compare Qur''an, philosophy, and modern science in terms of understanding and giving meaning to the universe. Thus, the profound difference between, on the one hand Qur''an and on the other hand, philosophy and science, which look at the universe from an irreligious perspective, emerges strikingly. * To Graduate from the Academy of Universe (A chapter taken from the Thirteenth Word): Having given an exemplary lesson about the fact that religion and sciences of Qur''an and Philosophy produce products, in the name of science, that are quite different from each other., it is proved with a striking determination that Qur''an has such a high degree of scientificness compared to positive sciences. II- Additional Sections * For Those Who Wonder About the Secret of the Universe * The Strategies to Neutralize the Atheistic Evolution With Correct Academic Approaches * Scientific Findings about Evolution and Creation * Scientific Findings about the Miracles of Quran * On Quantum Approach and Divine Truths * Approach to the Laws of Nature * Is it Possible That Material Factors in Nature Come Together and Create Living Beings? * How Is Everything Taking Place with Divine Power? III- Presentations of Academic Training Activities * Questioning the Factors That Determine The Real Value of Scientific Information * Evaluation of the Educational Approach and the Philosophy of Science of Medresetüzzehra

The Saturday Review of Politics, Literature, Science, Art, and Finance

by:

Death to Einstein!: The Video Transcripts, Volume 1

Death to Einstein!: The Video Transcripts, Volume 1
From the Introduction: "Over the past several years, I have been keeping a video log of my thoughts on Relativity and Geocentricity. For the most part, they are a continuation of, a further development of, and an elaboration upon, ideas presented in my book Death to Einstein! I have now amassed a hundred or more hours of video, and have begun the laborious process of transcribing them. So the present volume represents the first batch of such transcripts." Transcripts in this volume: Why Physics MUST Combine Special Relativity’s Two Main Thought Experiments The Time Dilation Flaw The Time Dilation Flaw II The Center of the Observable Universe Flaw The Center of the Observable Universe Flaw II The Pseudoscience Flaw More on relativitys Planck/Ant Man Problem, steel balls, length contraction vs. object compression Burden of Proof: Geocentrism or Relativity? It’s Just Not True That Relativity Says Everything is Moving Relative to Everything Else Also included are two non-video essays: The Spherical Ship Debunking Relativity: The Light Clock Problem As well as a comic strip by Scott Reeves, Stephen Hawking Gets Taken to School

Structure and Laws of implementation of Macrocosmos skrruullerrt system energy-informational dynamics.

by: Oris
Structure and Laws of implementation of Macrocosmos skrruullerrt system energy-informational dynamics.
In the «IISSIIDIOLOGY Fundamentals» first three volumes, deep underlying Nature of Reasons and Mechanisms of the Sreative Activity of everything is described. Everything is manifested in one way or another in multi-dimensional and different-qualitative Macrocosmos, including also qualitative Vase for Focus Dynamics of the Universal Structures Form-Sreators and exhibition Principles of Human and other Self-Sonsciousness Forms in Tertiary Illusion different-dimensional diapasons all variety. Vy continuing studying these questions in depth, «the Fundamentals» fourth volume describes the realization Nature of the Universe Sosmic Entity (DDIIUUUI) and Its Highest Sollective Sosmic Mind (AUFAAR), and also the focus realization Mechanism of Its Self-Sonsciousness as the Prime Reason of manifestation of the Universe observed by us. In the beginning of the volume, the author recalls generation principles and mechanisms of the human subjective Realities, explains interconnections between the Tertiary and the Secondary Illusions Form-Sreators, while describing thoroughly Fields-Sonsciousnesses structure, defines birvulyartnost and its Qualitativeness types conception. The main part of the volume is devoted to description of the Reasons and principles of the Universe Sosmic Entity Focus Dynamics, various energy-informational structures of Its Self-Sonsciousness, and also to disclosure of SFUURMM-Forms human-type realization process and Form-Sreators Focus Dynamics amplificational aggradation process. This volume concludes with summarizing, integration of everything described — with Information about Universal Sosmic Laws and Their Principles providing fundamental basis for generation of all Self-Sonsciousnesses Forms in Macrocosmos Tertiary, the Secondary, and the Primary Illusions.

Enchanting Existence

release date: May 01, 2012
Enchanting Existence
Collected here are the best of 10 years'' worth of essays from ideonexus.com celebrating astronomy, evolution, general science, and the human place in the cosmos.

Biological Information: New Perspectives - Proceedings Of The Symposium

release date: Jun 03, 2013
Biological Information: New Perspectives - Proceedings Of The Symposium
In the spring of 2011, a diverse group of scientists gathered at Cornell University to discuss their research into the nature and origin of biological information. This symposium brought together experts in information theory, computer science, numerical simulation, thermodynamics, evolutionary theory, whole organism biology, developmental biology, molecular biology, genetics, physics, biophysics, mathematics, and linguistics. This volume presents new research by those invited to speak at the conference.The contributors to this volume use their wide-ranging expertise in the area of biological information to bring fresh insights into the many explanatory difficulties associated with biological information. These authors raise major challenges to the conventional scientific wisdom, which attempts to explain all biological information exclusively in terms of the standard mutation/selection paradigm.Several clear themes emerged from these research papers: 1) Information is indispensable to our understanding of what life is; 2) Biological information is more than the material structures that embody it; 3) Conventional chemical and evolutionary mechanisms seem insufficient to fully explain the labyrinth of information that is life. By exploring new perspectives on biological information, this volume seeks to expand, encourage, and enrich research into the nature and origin of biological information.

AI for Everyone?

release date: Sep 20, 2021
AI for Everyone?
We are entering a new era of technological determinism and solutionism in which governments and business actors are seeking data-driven change, assuming that Artificial Intelligence is now inevitable and ubiquitous. But we have not even started asking the right questions, let alone developed an understanding of the consequences. Urgently needed is debate that asks and answers fundamental questions about power. This book brings together critical interrogations of what constitutes AI, its impact and its inequalities in order to offer an analysis of what it means for AI to deliver benefits for everyone. The book is structured in three parts: Part 1, AI: Humans vs. Machines, presents critical perspectives on human-machine dualism. Part 2, Discourses and Myths About AI, excavates metaphors and policies to ask normative questions about what is ‘desirable’ AI and what conditions make this possible. Part 3, AI Power and Inequalities, discusses how the implementation of AI creates important challenges that urgently need to be addressed. Bringing together scholars from diverse disciplinary backgrounds and regional contexts, this book offers a vital intervention on one of the most hyped concepts of our times.

Death to Einstein! 3

release date: Oct 05, 2018
Death to Einstein! 3
From the Introduction: "What follows is a LONG discussion I (Scott Reeves) had regarding some of my ideas about relativity which I presented in my previous Death to Einstein! books and videos. The discussion took place over several months in the comments sections of a few of my YouTube videos, with a Youtuber going under the name Ken Haley. The discussion had enough interesting challenges to my ideas, challenges which brought out enough new details and clarification that, in hindsight, I realize needed to be brought out, that I felt the discussion needed to be put together into a book to complement my previous books and videos."

Consolations in Travel, Or, The Last Days of a Philosopher

Consolations in Travel, Or, The Last Days of a Philosopher
"The brilliant chemist''s travels and last days in his words." "A series of dialogues on philosophical and scientific topics which includes a short account of a spirit journey, conducted by a Genius, to Saturn, and a description of the non-human intelligent beings inhabiting it. An important, albeit brief, contribution to the evolution of the non- human alien in science fiction."--Locke, Voyages in Space 58. "Mostly essay material on philosophy of science, religion, and popular science, but with short science-fiction episode. An interesting parental exercise, with many remarkable strokes of imagination." - Bleiler, Science- Fiction: The Early Years 552. Locke, A Spectrum of Fantasy, p. 64. Bleiler (1978), p. 57."--abebooks website.

Being Modern

release date: Oct 10, 2018
Being Modern
In the early decades of the twentieth century, engagement with science was commonly used as an emblem of modernity. This phenomenon is now attracting increasing attention in different historical specialties. Being Modern builds on this recent scholarly interest to explore engagement with science across culture from the end of the nineteenth century to approximately 1940. Addressing the breadth of cultural forms in Britain and the western world from the architecture of Le Corbusier to working class British science fiction, Being Modern paints a rich picture. Seventeen distinguished contributors from a range of fields including the cultural study of science and technology, art and architecture, English culture and literature examine the issues involved. The book will be a valuable resource for students, and a spur to scholars to further examination of culture as an interconnected web of which science is a critical part, and to supersede such tired formulations as ''Science and culture''.

Immortality Is Accessible to Everyone

by: Oris
release date: Mar 09, 2013
Immortality Is Accessible to Everyone
In the first Chapter of Volume 11 (the 7th Chapter of Commentaries to Fundamentals of Iissiidiology), Oris describes in detail functioning of Formo-Creators of the brain, how the memory is accessed, how biological structures of the brain are associated with energy-information structures of Self-Consciousness, how various Self-Consciousness Levels are differentiated and reprojected at the moment of so-called “Death”. This Chapter also describes functioning of “the intestinal brain”, how it is possible to cure at a distance (the technique of ethereal projection), gives the meaning of the esoteric term “Astral Plane” from the point of view of Iissiidiology. The second Chapter tells us that biological Forms can exist in different Continuums and explains the interrelationship between our lifespan and quality of active Levels of our Self-Consciousness. It also provides information on the following subjects: it is possible to “live one’s Life many times” in higher-quality scenarios, cycles of changing male and female manifestations within the structure of a multidimensional human Form, physical principles of organization of higher-frequency levels of the Universal Reality with a detailed description of the nature of boson and fermion fields, and types of particles that are carriers of such interaction.

Harnessing the Power of the Criminal Corpse

release date: May 17, 2018
Harnessing the Power of the Criminal Corpse
This open access book is the culmination of many years of research on what happened to the bodies of executed criminals in the past. Focusing on the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, it looks at the consequences of the 1752 Murder Act. These criminal bodies had a crucial role in the history of medicine, and the history of crime, and great symbolic resonance in literature and popular culture. Starting with a consideration of the criminal corpse in the medieval and early modern periods, chapters go on to review the histories of criminal justice, of medical history and of gibbeting under the Murder Act, and ends with some discussion of the afterlives of the corpse, in literature, folklore and in contemporary medical ethics. Using sophisticated insights from cultural history, archaeology, literature, philosophy and ethics as well as medical and crime history, this book is a uniquely interdisciplinary take on a fascinating historical phenomenon.

THEORETICAL AND PRACTICAL FOUNDATIONS OF SOCIAL PROCESS MANAGEMENT

by:
release date: Jun 29, 2020
THEORETICAL AND PRACTICAL FOUNDATIONS OF SOCIAL PROCESS MANAGEMENT
XXIII International Scientific and Practical Conference

Academic Proof of the Creator

release date: Nov 04, 2017
Academic Proof of the Creator
Important Information and Presentation: Our book is free. The whole book can be read in “Free Sample” section. It is not necessary to give your credit card information. You can download our book in word or pdf format from the following web addresses: goo.gl/hNIUou or yadi.sk/d/09r41tL9ecYUA You can download the text of our book and its visual/interactive versions from the folder of “New Perspectives from The Treatise of Nature” in “English Books” section in this address. Besides, you can view or download the files of all of our books, and videos, texts and PowerPoint presentations of our seminars altogether or one by one, from these storage spaces where all of our work on Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) are uploaded. In Google Books and Google Play, it is not possible to open and view the links and videos just by clicking them. We suggest that you download the Pdf files from the address we provide before or from Google Books and read them. Our Website for Journeys of Discovery Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) Training Program http://www.kesifyolculuklari.com http://www.risaleinuregitimprogrami.com Alternative Website: http://www.risaleinuregitimprogramidotcom.wordpress.com Web address of our YouTube Video Channel: http://www.youtube.com/c/EdizSözüer PRESENTATION ACADEMIC PROOF OF THE CREATOR - New Perspectives from the Treatise of Nature Visual/Interactive Book - (An imaginary and mental journey of discovery in the depths of divine technology) Providing academic proof of the truth of the Belief in Allah on an intellectual and scientific basis. Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) Training Program We are inviting you for an utterly different experience, an interactive book full of incredible discoveries, where you will come to an impressive visual journey. READING THE BOOK OF UNIVERSE AND RISALE-I NUR HAS NEVER BEEN SO PLEASANT. In total, there are 446 visuals and 45 videos utilized (rate of visuality is 50%) in this enormous study, which is a first attempt in its area worldwide, providing academic proof of the truth of the Belief in Allah on an intellectual and scientific basis. This book is penned down in order to introduce you a piece of work, that is so unbelievably and astonishingly perfect that it will surprise you with the high truths and grand scientific discoveries contained therein and will make some of you say “ How come I have never heard of it until now!” (Or could not really discover it). The main subject of study of these books and the Treatise of Nature is the following: To give correct answers to three basic questions of existence, which have remained as the unknown secrets of the universe that have been always wondered by the humanity. The discovery of the right answers in these areas has been possible not only with the use of the mind/intellect which is incapable of reaching to the truth on its own but rather with the common guidance of divine revelation and the mind. Nevertheless, the answers to the questions that were asked have been discovered solely with rational inferences and logical evidences. These three questions are: “Where did this universe and those within it come from? Where will they go? And Why are they here, what is their mission? That is to ask “What are we doing here?” High truths, which the whole humanity needs and which are appealing to all those who look for the explanation of the basic reality of existence and which is more interesting for the world of science and the scientists and which is brought by divine revelation, are discovered once again and proved with rational methods in these works. Especially today, while quantum physics, astronomy and astrophysics have reached to such advanced levels, common answers are looked for these three questions on matter, universe and human being; the science and these works study the same subjects and share a common ground of work. Here you are: The work, which contains in itself a spiritual/immaterial treasury for people who have an irresistible interest and passion for science and learning, is called RISALE-I NUR (TREATISE OF LIGHT). The Treatise of Nature has a special place within Risale-i Nur. In “the New Perspectives from the Treatise of Nature”, you are invited for an adventure of looking for and finding out the truth. * Studying academically, on the basis of logic and science, the theories which are developed as alternatives to the existence of a Creator in order to explain the astonishing happenings and the liveliness in the universe. *In a world where we stand as observers, looking for answers to questions: Where did we come from? Where are we going and who are we? What are we doing here? Together we are setting on a journey of discovery along the lines that we wrote in order to make some contribution to the efforts to understand the functioning and the purposes of the universe, which is the final target and the arrival point for all sciences. We have a very strong reason to begin this journey: to witness the magnificent details of the divine technology and uniqueness of the artful creation and hence, to take a big step on the way of achieving the true faith that was demanded from us by Allah. We would like you to accompany us in this imaginary and mental journey of discovery. There is only one fixed price for a ticket of the Journey: a strong sense of wonder in the search for truth. YOU ARE INVITED TO THE ADVENTURE! Discovering the high truths about the humanity, life, universe and religion… Advancing along the way of progress for mind, soul and heart… Making sense of the world in which we exist… Obtaining an awareness that is more amazing than ever before… Understanding the working mechanisms of the divine technology... A Wonderful Mental journey... A Visual Festival Amazing Facts... Stunning Images and Videos... All These and Even More are Waiting for You! COME WITH US FOR THIS EXTRAORDINARY JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY! WHY A VISUAL/INTERACTIVE BOOK Reading and watching the written truths in a verbal and visual format (with additional explanations not provided in our book) enables you to better understand and feel them. In this way, you are following the most fruitful method in understanding the knowledge of faith, which cannot be understood just with intellect but rather are “felt truths”, and in opening the door for new perspectives for them. We keenly believe that with this method of reinforcement (Allah willing) highest level of benefit will be realized in terms of understanding Risale-i Nur and the universe. The size of the Word document that you can download from the link at the top is 95 mb, while Pdf document’s size is 44 mb. (When you open Pdf document on your computer with Adobe Reader you can read it better by choosing “two pages” option and zooming in. Since full-screen mode of the “Microsoft Word” changes the places of the visuals, you should read it in page format by zooming in. We would rather prefer if you would download it in Pdf format and read it with Adobe Acrobat due to both its small size and readability it in this way.) It is possible to click links and open the word and Pdf files and videos within this interactive book in your computers and cell phones. (In your cell phone use Wps Office for Word and Adobe Acrobat Reader for Pdf files. Wps Office is a useful program which opens the footnotes when clicked upon but it can’t open the links in this way. For this reason, we suggest that you use Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to benefit from the interactive features of the book.) BOOK INDEX * Looking at the Matters of Faith from the Right Side (Introduction to New Perspectives of The Treatise of Nature) * The Effort to Make Sense out of This World and Magnificent Skies * An Imaginary and Mental Journey of Discovery in The Depths of Divine Technology (23rd Flash, Treatise of Nature) Subheadings : -Thoughts over Existence -What is Nature? -What are Laws of Nature? -Intelligent Design -Coincidence and Material Reasons -A Fantastic Science-Fiction Story -Amazing Discoveries on The Existence of The Universe -What Happens when There Are Multiple-Universes? -Grand Design and Theory of Everything - A Different Perspective on Big Bang -The Impossible Scenarios of the Formation of the Matter/Objects, Formation Due to Causes and Self-creation -The Miracle of a Fly -Production of Living Beings from a Single Centre -Miracle of the Eye -The Thousand-Domed Palace The Concept of Irreducible Complexity -No Production Is Possible without Moulds! (Alternatives for Production of Living Things) -Journey to the Land of Miracles -Fantastic Data Stores: Brain and DNA -Looking at the Reality from a Blind-Spot -A Question That Will Open The Mysterious Door of The Universe -Interwoven Spiral Order -Getting Wet in The Ocean of the Cosmos -The Laws of Nature and Quantum Universe -Law of Atraction and A Critical Evaluation of Quantum Thinking -Design Signature over The Matter/Objects -Looking at Allah from the Right Side -Our World: A spaceship in the Sea of Sky -How Is Everything Taking Place with Divine Power -Is the Movement of Particles an Explanation for Everything? Additional Sections * Discussion Notes from Our Seminars on “The New Perspectives from The Treatise of Nature” - Scientific Findings about Evolution and the Miracles of Quran - About Quantum Approach and Divine Truths - Important Points on Evolution, Atheism and Creation * Your Journey Just Begins Now! Presentations of Academic Training Activities * The Questioning of The Factors Which Determine The Real Value of Scientific Information * Evaluation of the Educational Approach and the Philosophy of Science of Medresetüzzehra The Companies of Road for Your Personal Voyage *Seminar Texts, Presentations and Videos * Our Website for The Journeys of Discovery *Our Books on Explanatory Notes for Risale-i Nur (Texts and Visuals/Interactive) *Our Video Channel for The Journeys of Discovery * Suggested Websites *The Opportunity to Read and Listen Risale-i Nur Round The Clock Wherever You Are *Locations Where You Can Participate in Risale-i Nur Conversations and Classes *Other Academic Training Activities

Rehearsal Scene (Evidence for Eternal Life)

release date: Dec 18, 2017
Rehearsal Scene (Evidence for Eternal Life)
Important Information and Presentation: Our book is free. The whole book can be read in “Free Sample” section. It is not necessary to give your credit card information. You can download our book in word or pdf format from the following web addresses: goo.gl/hNIUou or yadi.sk/d/09r41tL9ecYUA You can download the text of our book and its visual/interactive versions from the folder of “New Perspectives from the Treatise of Resurrection” in “English Books” section in this address. Besides, you can view or download the files of all of our books, and videos, texts and PowerPoint presentations of our seminars altogether or one by one, from these storage spaces where all of our work on Risale-i Nur (Treatise of Light) are uploaded. BOOK PRESENTATION: In order to feel the existence of eternal life in a different way, that has never been possible before… In order to understand, enjoy and read with spiritual pleasure the Tenth Word of Risale-i Nur, which proves the existence of Hereafter with certainty, at such a high level that you have never reached before… What would you do, if you know, of a certainty, that eternal life exists? How would your perspective on life change if you know that you will live forever? Then what would change in your life if you know that your happiness in this eternal life will depend on your behaviors in this temporary life at such a certainty as you are sure of the coming of night after day and of spring after winter or as you know two plus two equals four? Would not you get excited if we told you that you can get such invaluable information just by reading this book that you are holding in your hand? Tenth World that you are about to read is such an excellent book of a lifetime, promising you this and much more. In other words, it is such a lively book that it can be read repeatedly without getting bored and the passion to read it never subsides. Even Avicenna (Ibn-i Sina) who is considered as one of the greatest geniuses admitted his helplessness/incompetence in understanding the resurrection by once stating that “The Intellect cannot find a way to it”. And now, we are curiously stepping into the Treatise of Resurrection, which explains/declares the truths of the issue of resurrection, which even this noted scholar, cannot catch up with his genius, to everybody, even to the kids, and which gives us the key opening the gate of the second one of the two biggest amulets of the cosmos. In this book, which is an explanatory work based on 10th Word of Risale-i Nur Collection, the resurrection after the Doomsday is proved so certainly that the Author of Risale-i Nur tells the following on this subject: “If you want to be as certain about the occurrence of the resurrection of the dead as you are about the arrival of next spring, study the Tenth and Twenty-Ninth Words carefully, which are about this, and you will see! If you do not then believe that it will occur as you believe the coming of spring, come and stick your finger in my eye!” Once you finish reading this book, you will witness that it is proved with logical evidence and in a brilliant way that the coming of the eternal life is as certain as the existence of this world and there is no possibility of not the realization of the resurrection after death. This work is a part of our basic/source book called “A Journey of Discovery for an Extraordinary Treasure: Risale-i Nur (The Treatise of Light) Explanatory Notes” upon which our “Journeys of Discovery, Risale-i Nur Training Program” is constructed and it is the proof of the Existence of Resurrection and the Eternal Life, which is the Fifth Truth of the Six Truths, dealt with in the second main part of that book, which is called “Proving the Existence of the Treasure of Faith with Evidence”. We have to state and admit about this Book, that is, Explanatory Text for Tenth Word, the following sincerely: although we did not have any idea about what to write before explanatory notes came into the being, (every time without any exception), we were astonished by the resultant texts and realized that we had never understood these issues that clear before. While controlling the texts, we had great joy and pleasure and we were reading them as if they were written by someone else. The writings were helping us, in an unexpected way, in overcoming our greatest distresses, giving us a strong state of faith. Because what we were writing was talking about eternal truths of faith and Quran and they were having such qualities which were having much more different than a work presented with the individual proficiency and capability of a person. Therefore, the beauty and the excellence of these truths must have been reflected in our word as well. For sure, we were pursuing an immensely difficult and tedious effort; sometimes it was taking 3-5 hours to complete 1-2 pages of explanatory notes. We were spending an equal amount of time for footnotes and the glossary of concepts. But, the feeling of joy, happiness and spiritual satisfaction were exceedingly worth this effort. At this stage, we realized and felt the reason behind Bediüzzaman’s saying: “I am also a student of Risale-i Nur. I am your classmate in learning the Teachings of Quran; I am also in need of Risale-i Nur.” And we understood that he was not trying to be humble while saying this. As a requirement of being human, we wanted to share what we had found and felt, with those who had the same needs and who were in the same search. This is what we mean when we say that we are not like a teacher who makes you sit before her and starts teaching you. Maybe rather we are like a guest who himself is entreated a dining table as he is as hungry and needy as everybody, and he is sincerely inviting you to this dining table. Or maybe we are like a curious kid, who has found the key to a magnificent and inexhaustible treasure, and who wants to inform others of its existence and share it with them. We have made a great effort in order to prepare this work which we share with great enthusiasm. But we admit that this work has been the result of Allah’s special treatment, which is way beyond our personal capabilities and power. We believe wholeheartedly that every believer and everyone who has set his heart on Risale-i Nur, and in fact everybody will read this book enthusiastically and with a compassion which is stronger than the need for water of a person who has been dehydrated for a while. The epilogue of our book which is entitled “Your Journey Just Begins Now!” is also included in this work as it contains emotional, striking and impressive points coming sincerely from the deepest parts of our hearts about the reading of Risale-i Nur and attendance to the Risale-i Nur Lectures. BOOK INDEX Rehearsal Scene (Evidence for Eternal Life) - New Perspectives from the Treatise of Resurrection - 1- Presentation * Let’s Get Acquainted with the Books Discovering The Secret of The Universe! * The purpose and the Target Audience of This Book * The Book in Your Hand Is An Invitation Letter for You 2- BOOK CONTENT * An Invaluable Truth: Eternal Life (Introductory Text) Sub Headings: - Rehearsal Scene - Banquet Table for Tasting - Magnificent Cinema House - Divine Information Repository - Dominoes - Great Show Centre, the Universe and the Cosmic Calendar - Union of Opposites - Missing Part of the Puzzle - Babies in Their Mother’s Womb - Drawing Conclusions Coherent with Most Basic Truths - Learning the Truth from Its Source - The Gate to Eternity Opened for the Human Being - Divine Causes Connected to the Human Being - Unknown Breakfast - Film without A Final - Privileged Planet - The Prayer Opening the Gate of Eternal Life - The Way to Salvation from A Paradoxical Situation - An Illogical Fiction - He will Do it if He Promised - Reviving Earth - Would the One Doing the Difficult, Be Unable To Do the Thing Which Is Easier? - The Truest News in the World - Secret Plan - Desolate Festival - A Truth As Unshakable As the Existence of the Earth - An Eternal Life Where Death Is Killed 3- APPENDICES *No Production Is Possible without Moulds * Journey to the Land of Miracles *Fantastic Data Stores: Brain and DNA * Cosmic Calendar * Looking at Allah from the Right Side * Looking at Our Lifestyles with Suspicion * Interwoven Spiral Order * For Those Who Wonder the Secret of the Universe * Discovering the Subtle Secret of Prayer * Our World, A Spaceship in the Sea of Universe * What Happens When There Are Multiple Universes? *How is Everything Taking Place with Divine Power? THE COMPANIES OF ROAD FOR YOUR PERSONAL VOYAGE *Seminar Texts, Presentations and Videos * Our Website for The Journeys of Discovery *Our Books on Explanatory Notes for Risale-i Nur (Texts and Visuals/Interactive) *Our Video Channel for The Journeys of Discovery * Suggested Websites *The Opportunity to Read and Listen Risale-i Nur Round The Clock Wherever You Are *Locations Where You Can Participate in Risale-i Nur Conversations and Classes *Other Academic Training Activities * Author’s Contact Address

Cybernetic Revelation

release date: Nov 20, 2012
Cybernetic Revelation
Cybernetic Revelation explores the dual philosophical histories of deconstruction and artificial intelligence, tracing the development of concepts like the "logos" and the notion of modeling the mind technologically from pre-history to contemporary thinkers like Slavoj Žižek, Steven Pinker, Bernard Stiegler and Daniel C. Dennett. The writing is clear and accessible throughout, yet the text probes deeply into major philosophers seen by JD Casten as "conceptual engineers." Philosophers covered include: Anaximander, Heraclitus, Parmenides, Plato, Aristotle, Philo, Augustine, Shakespeare, Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Kant, Hegel, Nietzsche, Freud, Jung, Joyce, Dewey, Wittgenstein, Heidegger, Adorno, Benjamin, Derrida, Chomsky, Žižek, Pinker, Dennett, Hofstadter, Stiegler + more; with special chapters on: AI''s history, Complexity, Deconstructing AI, Aesthetics, Consciousness + more...
1 - 40 of 211 results
>>


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com