Best Selling Books by Katherine Applegate

Discover best selling books by Katherine Applegate from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 546 results
>>
release date: Sep 26, 2017
Check price
Wishtree
An Amazon Top 20 Children's Books of 2017

The New York Times-bestselling story of kindness, friendship, and hope.

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .
Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with a crow named Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this wishtree watches over the neighborhood.
You might say Red has seen it all.
Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experience as a wishtree is more important than ever.
Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, this is Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.
This book has Common Core connections.
release date: Jan 06, 2015
Check price
The One and Only Ivan

Winner of the Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

This unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendship. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated book is told from the point of view of Ivan himself. This paperback edition includes an author's note highlighting the differences between the fictional story and true events, a version of the author's Newbery Medal acceptance speech, Ivan's "signature," discussion questions, and more.

Having spent twenty-seven years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes.

In the tradition of timeless stories like Charlotte's Web and Stuart Little, Katherine Applegate blends humor and poignancy to create an unforgettable story of friendship, art, and hope.

The One and Only Ivan features first-person narrative; author's use of literary devices (personification, imagery); and story elements (plot, character development, perspective).

release date: Sep 26, 2017
Check price
Crenshaw

In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal, New York Times bestselling author Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.

Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary.

Praise for Crenshaw:

“The tone is warm and, occasionally, quirkily funny, but it doesn't sugarcoat the effects of hunger and vulnerability. This novel adds a middle-grade perspective to the literature of imaginary friends and paints a convincing and compassionate portrait of a social class―the working poor―underrepresented in children's books.” ―The Horn Book, starred review

"...a quick read that encourages people of all ages to be honest with one another and value family and friends (real and imaginary!)" ―Booklist

release date: Dec 23, 2008
Check price
Home of the Brave

A man I helped to settle here
taught me a saying from Africa.
I'll bet you would like it:
A cow is God with a wet nose.

Kek comes from Africa where he lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived. Now she's missing, and Kek has been sent to a new home. In America, he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the winter―cold and unkind. But slowly he makes friends: a girl in foster care, an old woman with a rundown farm, and a sweet, sad cow that reminds Kek of home. As he waits for word of his mother's fate, Kek weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country.

release date: Feb 02, 2016
Check price
Roscoe Riley Rules #1: Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs

Newbery Medal–winning and bestselling author Katherine Applegate’s hilarious chapter book series about an accidental rule breaker returns with a fresh new look from artist Brian Biggs!

When his classmates can’t sit still for a big performance at school, Roscoe Riley takes matters into his own hands with a liberal dose of Super-Mega-Gonzo Glue—which his mom calls the don’t-you-dare glue because Roscoe isn’t supposed to use it. Roscoe doesn’t mean to break the rules—he just can’t help himself! After all, his teacher’s job might be at stake and desperate times call for desperate measures.

Roscoe and his comical misadventures will appeal to fans of Megan McDonald’s Stink series, Nancy Krulik’s George Brown, Class Clown series, and Dan Gutman’s My Weirder School series. This repackaged edition includes Roscoe Riley’s Time-Out Activities, featuring lists, games, and more.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Oct 07, 2014
Check price
Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla
In a spare, powerful text and evocative illustrations, the Newbery medalist Katherine Applegate and the artist G. Brian Karas present the extraordinary real story of a special gorilla.
     Captured as a baby, Ivan was brought to a Tacoma, Washington, mall to attract shoppers. Gradually, public pressure built until a better way of life for Ivan was found at Zoo Atlanta. From the Congo to America, and from a local business attraction to a national symbol of animal welfare, Ivan the Shopping Mall Gorilla traveled an astonishing distance in miles and in impact.
     This is his true story and includes photographs of Ivan in the back matter.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: May 27, 2008
Check price
Roscoe Riley Rules #2: Never Swipe a Bully's Bear

Pig-napped!

When Roscoe's stuffed pig goes missing, he is convinced that Wyatt, the class bully, is responsible. When Roscoe finds out where Wyatt keeps his teddy bear, he decides to give that old bully a taste of his own medicine. That will fix everything. Won't it?

release date: Sep 01, 2014
Check price
El único e incomparable Iván (Spanish Edition)
Winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller, this stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendship. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated novel is told from the point of view of Ivan himself. Having spent 27 years behind the glass walls of his enclosure in a shopping mall, Ivan has grown accustomed to humans watching him. He hardly ever thinks about his life in the jungle. Instead, Ivan occupies himself with television, his friends Stella and Bob, and painting. But when he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from the wild, he is forced to see their home, and his art, through new eyes. The One and Only Ivan is a strong Common Core title that features these important strands and standards: first-person narrative; author's use of literary devices (personification, imagery); story elements (plot, character development, perspective). The English-language edition has sold over 1 million copies.

Iván es un poderoso pero tranquilo gorila espalda plateada. Vive en la salida 8 del centro comercial Gran Circo, allí se ha acostumbrado a los humanos que lo observen a través de las paredes de cristal de su jaula. Rara vez echa de menos su vida en la selva. De hecho, casi nunca piensa en ello. Cuando conoce a Ruby, una bebé elefante que ha sido apartada de su familia, Iván comienza a ver su hogar de una forma distinta. La inspiración para esta novela reside en una historia real. Después de ser capturado en edad infantil, Iván fue criado en un hogar humano hasta que fue incorporado a una extraña colección de animales alojados en un centro comercial de temática circense. Iván pasó 27 años de su vida solo en una jaula, sin ver a ningún animal de su propia especie, antes de ser trasladado a un zoológico en 1994.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: May 27, 2008
Check price
Roscoe Riley Rules #3: Don't Swap Your Sweater for a Dog

A trophy for Roscoe?

It seems like everyone has an award of some kind. Except Roscoe. But a pet-trick contest is coming up, and first prize is a big, shiny trophy. Roscoe really wants that trophy—would he even borrow someone else's dog to win?

release date: Aug 26, 2008
Check price
Roscoe Riley Rules #4: Never Swim in Applesauce

Class trip!

Roscoe wants to be on his best behavior for a class trip to the apple orchard. But no matter how hard he tries, he still ends up in a very sticky situation!

1 - 10 of 546 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2017 Link2Library Inc.