Best Selling Books by Sharon Creech

Discover best selling books by Sharon Creech from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 146 results
>>
release date: Dec 27, 2011
Check price
Walk Two Moons

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold—the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Mar 01, 2001
Check price
Love That Dog

The Newbery Medal-winning author of Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech, brings readers a story with enormous heart.

Love That Dog shows how one boy named Jack finds his voice with the help of a teacher, a pencil, some yellow paper, and of course, a dog. Written as a series of free-verse poems from Jack's point of view, and with classic poetry included in the back matter, this novel is perfect for kids and teachers, too.

Jack hates poetry. Only girls write it and every time he tries to, his brain feels empty. But his teacher, Miss Stretchberry, won't stop giving her class poetry assignments—and Jack can't avoid them. But then something amazing happens. The more he writes, the more he learns that he does have something to say.

"I guess it does
look like a poem
when you see it
typed up
like that."

Discover more books in the following subjects:   Show More
release date: Sep 11, 2018
Check price
Saving Winslow

An Indie Next List Pick!

“A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

release date: Aug 29, 2017
Check price
Moo: A Novel

This uplifting New York Times bestseller reminds us that if we’re open to new experiences, life is full of surprises.

Fans of Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech’s Love That Dog and Hate That Cat will love her newest tween novel, Moo. Following one family’s momentous move from the city to rural Maine, an unexpected bond develops between twelve-year-old Reena and one very ornery cow.

When Reena, her little brother, Luke, and their parents first move to Maine, Reena doesn’t know what to expect. She’s ready for beaches, blueberries, and all the lobster she can eat. Instead, her parents “volunteer” Reena and Luke to work for an eccentric neighbor named Mrs. Falala, who has a pig named Paulie, a cat named China, a snake named Edna—and that stubborn cow, Zora.

This heartwarming story, told in a blend of poetry and prose, reveals the bonds that emerge when we let others into our lives.

release date: Dec 23, 2003
Check price
A Fine, Fine School

A Fine, Fine School is a delight for kids, with its colorful illustrations and gentle comeuppance for a well-meaning principal who learns that learning outside of school can be just as important as being in school.

Tillie goes to a fine, fine school where kids learn about dinosaurs, build pyramids, and paint portraits. When her principal decides to call all the students and teachers together for an announcement, no one could have predicted he would say that there will be school on Saturdays! Soon everyone goes to school on Sundays, holidays, and even the summer. He loves school so much that he forgets to give anyone time off!

This funny picture book from Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech, author of Walk Two Moons, and New Yorker cartoonist Harry Bliss is perfect for classroom sharing and for kids who enjoy school but want everyone to remember that time off is important too!

release date: Apr 24, 2012
Check price
Ruby Holler

From Sharon Creech, the Newbery Medal winning author of Walk Two Moons, comes a heartwarming adventure about finding family, and a home, when you least expect it.

Ruby Holler is a Carnegie Medal-winning novel, and with its quirky protagonists and exciting journey, captures the imaginations of readers of all ages.  

Brother and sister Dallas and Florida are the “trouble twins.” In their short thirteen years, they’ve passed through countless foster homes, only to return to their dreary orphanage, Boxton Creek Home.

Run by the Trepids, a greedy and strict couple, Boxton Creek seems impossible to escape. When Mr. Trepid informs the twins that they’ll be helping old Tiller and Sairy Morey go on separate adventures, Dallas and Florida are suspicious.

As the twins adjust to the natural beauty of the outdoors, help the Tillers prepare for their adventures, and foil a robbery, their ultimate search for freedom leads them home to Ruby Holler.

release date: Feb 23, 2010
Check price
Hate That Cat: A Novel

Return to Miss Stretchberry's class with Jack, the reluctant poet, who over the course of a year encounters new and challenging things like metaphors, alliterations, onomatopoeia, and one mean fat black cat!

The Newbery Medal-winning author of Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech, introduced Jack in Love That Dog, a New York Times bestseller. Both Love That Dog and Hate That Cat are approachable, funny, warm-hearted introductions to poetry told from the point of view of a very real kid wrestling with school assignments.

These books are fast reads that will be welcomed by middle graders as they too wonder how poetry and schoolwork connect with their interests and how to uncover their true voices.

In Hate That Cat, Jack is only trying to save that fat black cat stuck in the tree by his bus stop—but the cat scratches him instead! At school Miss Stretchberry begins teaching new poems, everything from William Carlos Williams to Valerie Worth to T.S. Eliot.

As the year progresses, Jack gradually learns to love that cat and finds new ways to express himself.

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Sep 11, 2018
Check price
Sharon Creech 3-Book Box Set: Love That Dog, Hate That Cat, Moo

Enjoy three bestselling middle grade novels about animalsLove That Dog, Hate That Cat, and Mooby beloved Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech in this paperback box set!

Creech fans will love this perfect holiday gift and companion to her latest novel, Saving Winslow, about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health.

Love That Dog:

A boy named Jack finds his voice with the help of a teacher, a pencil, some yellow paper, and, of course, a dog.

“A really special triumph.” Kirkus (starred review)

Hate That Cat:

Jack is back, along with his one-of-a-kind teacher, a fat cat, and a beautiful surprise.

“Readers will be touched and inspired.”School Library Journal

Moo:

When Reena's family moves to Maine, she forms an unexpected bond with an ornery cow named Zora.

“Vivid, emotion-packed images and characters that will stay with readers.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Discover more books in the following subjects:
release date: Apr 24, 2012
Check price
Absolutely Normal Chaos (Walk Two Moons)

"By turns sarcastic, tender, and irreverent, this will quickly make its way into the hands of readers who loved Walk Two Moons." Kirkus

This beloved prequel to bestselling author Sharon Creech's Newbery Medal winner Walk Two Moons chronicles the life of a thirteen-year-old during her most chaotic and romantic summer ever via journal entries, filled with hilarious observations on love, death, and the confusing mechanics of holding hands.

Mary Lou is less than excited about her assignment to keep a journal over the summer. Boring! Then cousin Carl Ray comes to stay with her family, and what starts out as the dull dog days of summer quickly turns into the wildest roller-coaster ride of all time.

Named one of the New York Public Library’s 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing!

release date: Jan 01, 2001
Check price
Bloomability
When she is whisked away to an international school in Switzerland, Dinnie Doone discovers all the bloomabilities that life has to offer. From Newbery Award-winning author Sharon Creech is a story about everyday joys.
Discover more books in the following subjects:
1 - 10 of 146 results
>>


  • Copyright © 2018 Link2Library Inc.