New Release Books by Erica Waters

Erica Waters is the author of The Restless Dark (2022), The Gathering Dark (2022), The River Has Teeth (2021) and Ghost Wood Song (2020).

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

4 results found

The Restless Dark

release date: Oct 04, 2022
The Restless Dark
Enter Cloudkiss Canyon at your own risk. Sadie meets Wilder Girls in this unnerving tale about the struggle for survival, the twisted satisfaction of revenge, and the darkness hiding in all of us. From Erica Waters, the acclaimed author of Ghost Wood Song and The River Has Teeth, this mystery will haunt you to the end. The Cloudkiss Killer is dead. Now a true-crime podcast is hosting a contest to find his bones. Lucy was almost the serial killer’s final victim. Carolina is a true-crime fan who fears her own rage. Maggie is a psychology student with a little too much to hide. All of them are looking for answers, for a new identity, for a place to bury their secrets. But there are more than bones hiding in the shadows…sometimes the darkness inside is more frightening than anything the dead leave behind. Praise for Erica Waters’ The River Has Teeth and Ghost Wood Song: “Potent, atmospheric, and wholly satisfying.” —Kirkus (starred review) “A backwoods murder ballad of a book. [The River Has Teeth] is well worth a listen.” —NPR "The River Has Teeth is the perfect story for anyone who is tired of feeling helpless. This book has teeth, too." —Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf “A gorgeous, creepy gem of a book. Ghost Wood Song weaves a captivating spell you won’t want to break.” —Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Sawkill Girls "Ghost Wood Song will make your heart dance." —Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days "The perfect balance of atmospheric chills, dark familial secrets, and a yearning for the warm comforts of home." —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

The Gathering Dark

release date: Sep 06, 2022
The Gathering Dark
A cemetery full of the restless dead. A town so wicked it has already burned twice, with the breath of the third fire looming. A rural, isolated bridge with a terrifying monster waiting for the completion of its summoning ritual. A lake that allows the drowned to return, though they have been changed by the claws of death. These are the shadowed, liminal spaces where the curses and monsters lurk, refusing to be forgotten. Hauntings, and a variety of horrifying secrets, lurk in the places we once called home. Written by New York Times bestselling, and other critically acclaimed, authors these stories shed a harsh light on the scariest tales we grew up with.

The River Has Teeth

release date: Jul 27, 2021
The River Has Teeth
Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers. Girls have been going missing in the woods… When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a witch, in the hopes that magic will bring her sister home. But Della has her own secrets to hide. She thinks the beast who’s responsible for the disappearances is her own mother—who was turned into a terrible monster by magic gone wrong. Natasha is angry. Della has little to lose. Both are each other’s only hope. From the author of Ghost Wood Song, this eerie contemporary fantasy is perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Bone Gap. Praise for Ghost Wood Song: “A gorgeous, creepy gem of a book.” —Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Sawkill Girls "It will make your heart dance." —Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days "Strikes the perfect balance of atmospheric chills, dark familial secrets, and a yearning for the warm comforts of home.” —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows “Waters' debut features a bisexual lead with both male and female love interests, an atmospheric southern gothic setting, and, for the musically inclined, lots of folk and bluegrass references.” —Booklist “Haunting and alluring.” —Kirkus

Ghost Wood Song

release date: Jul 14, 2020
Ghost Wood Song
Sawkill Girls meets The Hazel Wood in this lush and eerie debut, where the boundary between reality and nightmares is as thin as the veil between the living and the dead. If I could have a fiddle made of Daddy’s bones, I’d play it. I’d learn all the secrets he kept. Shady Grove inherited her father’s ability to call ghosts from the grave with his fiddle, but she also knows the fiddle’s tunes bring nothing but trouble and darkness. But when her brother is accused of murder, she can’t let the dead keep their secrets. In order to clear his name, she’s going to have to make those ghosts sing. Family secrets, a gorgeously resonant LGBTQ love triangle, and just the right amount of creepiness make this young adult debut a haunting and hopeful story about facing everything that haunts us in the dark.
4 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com