New Release Books by Shveta Thakrar

Shveta Thakrar is the author of Star Daughter (2021), Uncanny Magazine Issue 40 (2021), Clockwork Phoenix 5 (2016), Uncanny Magazine Issue 9 (2016) and other 2 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

6 results found

Star Daughter

release date: Aug 24, 2021
Star Daughter
"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight."--New York Times bestselling author Holly Black This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy. The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be "normal." But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago. Sheetal's quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens--and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all. Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

Uncanny Magazine Issue 40

release date: May 04, 2021
Uncanny Magazine Issue 40
The May/June 2021 issue of Hugo Award-winning Uncanny Magazine. Featuring new fiction by Fran Wilde, José Pablo Iriarte, Rachel Swirsky, Eugenia Triantafyllou, Emma Törzs, and Shveta Thakrar. Reprint fiction by Sheree Renée Thomas. Essays by E. Lily Yu, Andrew Liptak, Ada Palmer and Jo Walton, and C.J. Linton, poetry by Nnadi Samuel, Tiffany Morris, Abu Bakr Sadiq, and Vivian Li, interviews with José Pablo Iriarte and Shveta Thakrar by Caroline M. Yoachim, a cover by Galen Dara, and editorials by Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, and Elsa Sjunneson. Uncanny Magazine is a bimonthly science fiction and fantasy magazine first published in November 2014. Edited by 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 & 2020 Hugo award winners for best semiprozine, and 2018 Hugo award winners for Best Editor, Short Form, Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, and Chimedum Ohaegbu and Elsa Sjunneson, each issue of Uncanny includes new stories, poetry, articles, and interviews.

Clockwork Phoenix 5

release date: Apr 05, 2016
Clockwork Phoenix 5
2016 Locus Recommended Reading List, Best Anthology Contains “Sabbath Wine” by Barbara Krasnoff, 2016 Nebula Award finalist for Best Short Story “Allen’s strange and lovely fifth genre-melding fantasy anthology selects 20 new short stories of unusual variety, texture, compassion, and perception. . . . All the stories afford thought-provoking glimpses into alternative realities that linger, sparking unconventional thoughts, long after they are first encountered.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review “The arrangement is superb. This anthology of 20 stories can resemble a symphony of themes and variations in a wide range of keys, or a tapestry whose elements form patterns of imagery and meaning that shift and offer new insights throughout the book.” —Locus The Clockwork Phoenix anthologies offer homes to “well-written stories occupying multiple subgenres, usually in the same story, often ambiguously,” as Locus Magazine once put it. The ground-breaking, boundary-pushing, award-nominated series has returned for a fifth incarnation, triumphantly risen from the ashes after another successful Kickstarter campaign. This is the largest installment yet, holding twenty new tales of beauty and strangeness. With original fiction from Jason Kimble, Rachael K. Jones, Patricia Russo, Marie Brennan, Benjanun Sriduangkaew, Rob Cameron, A. C. Wise, Gray Rinehart, Sam Fleming, Sunil Patel, C. S. E. Cooney and Carlos Hernandez, Holly Heisey, Barbara Krasnoff, Sonya Taaffe, Alex Dally MacFarlane, Shveta Thakrar, Cassandra Khaw, Keffy R. M. Kehrli, Rich Larson, and Beth Cato. Cover art by Paula Arwen Owen. “And then there is that secret restaurant . . . It is perfection on a plate! And you feel better about yourself and your life and the world every time you go there. Clockwork Phoenix is the name of this restaurant, and Mike Allen is the restaurateur. One sublime dish after another, and yet I still have my favorites that I keep coming back to.” —Little Red Reviewer Table of contents: “The Wind at His Back” by Jason Kimble “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me” by Rachael K. Jones “The Perfect Happy Family” by Patricia Russo “The Mirror-City” by Marie Brennan “The Finch’s Wedding and the Hive That Sings” by Benjanun Sriduangkaew “Squeeze” by Rob Cameron “A Guide to Birds by Song (After Death)” by A.C. Wise “The Sorcerer of Etah” by Gray Rinehart “The Prime Importance of a Happy Number” by Sam Fleming “Social Visiting” by Sunil Patel “The Book of May” by C.S.E. Cooney and Carlos Hernandez “The Tiger’s Silent Roar” by Holly Heisey “Sabbath Wine” by Barbara Krasnoff “The Trinitite Golem” by Sonya Taaffe “Two Bright Venuses” by Alex Dally MacFarlane “By Thread of Night and Starlight Needle” by Shveta Thakrar “The Games We Play” by Cassandra Khaw “The Road, and the Valley, and the Beasts” by Keffy R.M. Kehrli “Innumerable Glimmering Lights” by Rich Larson “The Souls of Horses” by Beth Cato

Uncanny Magazine Issue 9

release date: Mar 01, 2016
Uncanny Magazine Issue 9
The March/April 2016 issue of Uncanny Magazine.

Featuring new fiction by Rachel Swirsky, Shveta Thakrar, Max Gladstone, Kelly Sandoval, and Simon Guerrier, classic fiction by Daryl Gregory, essays by Jim C. Hines, Kyell Gold, Javier Grillo-Marxuach, and Mark Oshiro, poetry by C.S.E. Cooney, Jennifer Crow, and Brandon O'Brien, interviews with Rachel Swirsky and Simon Guerrier by Deborah Stanish, a cover by Katy Shuttleworth, and an editoral by Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas.

The Dream Runners

release date: Jun 28, 2022
The Dream Runners
The Dream Runners has descriptive copy which is not yet available from the Publisher.

The Underwater Ballroom Society

release date: Apr 30, 2018
The Underwater Ballroom Society
Would you rather dance beneath the waves or hide your smuggled magic there? Welcome to a world of sparkling adult fantasy and science fiction stories edited by Stephanie Burgis and Tiffany Trent and featuring underwater ballrooms of one sort or another, from a 1930s ballroom to a Martian hotel to a grand rock 'n roll ball held in the heart of Faery itself."From the first page, I knew I was in good hands. This is my kind of fantasy -- magic, adventure, and gorgeous writing. The Underwater Ballroom Society is the kind of fantasy that got me into reading fantasy." - Patrice Sarath, Author of The Sisters MederosStories in this anthology:Ysabeau S. Wilce, "The Queen of Life"Y.S. Lee, "Twelve Sisters"Iona Datt Sharma, "Penhallow Amid Passing Things"Tiffany Trent, "Mermaids, Singing"Jenny Moss, "A Brand New Thing"Cassandra Khaw, "Four Revelations from the Rusalka Ball"Stephanie Burgis, "Spellswept"Laura Anne Gilman, "The River Always Wins"Shveta Thakrar, "The Amethyst Deceiver"Patrick Samphire, "A Spy in the Deep""This anthology is an excellent collection of stories and all of them are well worth your time." - Michelle at The Monday Review
6 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com