Best Selling Books by Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah is the author of Paradise (1995), Desertion (2005), By the Sea (2002), Gravel Heart (2017), Abdulrazak Gurnah ebook Bundle (2021) and other 10 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

15 results found

Paradise

release date: Jan 01, 1995
Paradise
Shortlisted for the 1994 Booker and Whitbread Prizes, this book is set in the decade before World War I, in the garden of a merchant''s house on the coast of East Africa. Yusuf is 12 when he is sold into the service of the rich, perfumed merchant whom he has always known as uncle Aziz.

Desertion

release date: Jan 01, 2005
Desertion
An 1899 love affair between Orientalist Martin Pearce and Rehana, the sister of the man who rescued him from an African desert, has implications in 1950s Zanzibar as Rehana''s granddaughter is caught up in another forbidden affair.

By the Sea

release date: Jan 01, 2002
By the Sea
On a late November afternoon Saleh Omar arrives at Gatwick Airport from Zanzibar, a far away island in the Indian Ocean. With him he has a small bag in which there lies his most precious possession - a mahogany box containing incense. He used to own a furniture shop, have a house and be a husband and father. Now he is an asylum seeker from paradise; silence his only protection. Meanwhile Latif Mahmud, someone intimately connected with Saleh''s past, lives quietly alone in his London flat. When Saleh and Latif meet in an English seaside town, a story is unravelled. It is a story of love and betrayal, of seduction and of possession, and of a people desperately trying to find stability amidst the maelstrom of their times.

Gravel Heart

release date: Aug 01, 2017
Gravel Heart
A powerful story of exile, migration, and betrayal, from the Booker Prize–shortlisted author of Paradise. Salim has always known that his father does not want him. Living with his parents and his adored Uncle Amir in a house full of secrets, he is a bookish child, a dreamer haunted by night terrors. It is the 1970s and Zanzibar is changing. Tourists arrive, the island''s white sands obscuring the memory of recent conflict--the longed-for independence from British colonialism swiftly followed by bloody revolution. When his father moves out, retreating into disheveled introspection, Salim is confused and ashamed. His mother does not discuss the change, nor does she explain her absences with a strange man; silence is layered on silence. When glamorous Uncle Amir, now a senior diplomat, offers Salim an escape, the lonely teenager travels to London for college. But nothing has prepared him for the biting cold and seething crowds of this hostile city. Struggling to find a foothold, and to understand the darkness at the heart of his family, he must face devastating truths about those closest to him--and about love, sex and power. Evoking the immigrant experience with unsentimental precision and profound understanding, Gravel Heart is a powerfully affecting story of isolation, identity, belonging, and betrayal, and Abdulrazak Gurnah''s most astonishing achievement.

Abdulrazak Gurnah ebook Bundle

release date: Nov 30, 2021
Abdulrazak Gurnah ebook Bundle
From the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature, six powerful novels for fans of Zadie Smith, Jhumpa Lahiri, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Teju Cole. Included in this bundle, you''ll find: Memory of Departure Vehement, comic and shrewd, Abdulrazak Gurnah''s first novel is an unwavering contemplation of East African coastal life. Pilgrims Way An extraordinary depiction of the life of an immigrant as he struggles to come to terms with the horror of his past and the meaning of his life in England. Dottie A searing tale of a young woman discovering her troubled family history and cultural past. Admiring Silence A dazzling tale of cultural identity and displacement and the story of a man''s dual lives as a refugee from his native Zanzibar in England. The Last Gift An astounding meditation on family, self and the meaning of home that follows a father, and his two children, all haunted by their unspoken family history. Gravel Heart A powerful story of exile, migration, and betrayal, that evokes the immigrant experience with unsentimental precision and profound understanding.

The Last Gift

release date: Feb 11, 2014
The Last Gift
One day, long before the troubles, he slipped away without saying a word to anyone and never went back. And then another day, forty-three years later, he collapsed just inside the front door of his house in a small English town. It was late in the day when it happened, on his way home after work, but it was also late in the day altogether. He had left things for too long and there was no one to blame for it but himself. Abbas has never told anyone about his past-before he was a sailor on the high seas, before he met his wife Maryam outside a Boots in Exeter, before they settled into a quiet life in Norwich with their children, Jamal and Hanna. Now, at the age of sixty-three, he suffers a collapse that renders him bedbound and unable to speak about things he thought he would one day have to. Jamal and Hanna have grown up and gone out into the world. They were both born in England but cannot shake a sense of apartness. Hanna calls herself Anna now, and has just moved to a new city to be near her boyfriend. She feels the relationship is headed somewhere serious, but the words have not yet been spoken out loud. Jamal, the listener of the family, moves into a student house and is captivated by a young woman with dark-blue eyes and her own, complex story to tell. Abbas''s illness forces both children home, to the dark silences of their father and the fretful capability of their mother Maryam, who began life as a foundling and has never thought to find herself, until now.

Afterlives

release date: Aug 23, 2022
Afterlives
From the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature, a sweeping, multi-generational saga of displacement, loss, and love, set against the brutal colonization of east Africa. When he was just a boy, Ilyas was stolen from his parents on the coast of east Africa by German colonial troops. After years away, fighting against his own people, he returns home to find his parents gone and his sister, Afiya, abandoned into de facto slavery. Hamza, too, returns home from the war, scarred in body and soul and with nothing but the clothes on his back--until he meets the beautiful, undaunted Afiya. As these young people live and work and fall in love, their fates knotted ever more tightly together, the shadow of a new war on another continent falls over them, threatening once again to carry them away.

Map Reading

release date: Nov 24, 2022
Map Reading
''One of the world''s most prominent postcolonial writers ... He has consistently and with great compassion penetrated the effects of colonialism and its effects on the lives of uprooted and migrating individuals'' Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel Committee Delivered in London on 7 December 2021, ''Writing'' is the lecture of the Nobel Laureate in Literature, Abdulrazak Gurnah. Collected here with three further essays, it explores his coming-of-age, his early experiences in 1960s Britain, the narratives of oceans, his lifelong love affair with reading, and the power of writing to subvert the stories that have been handed to us. Generous, funny and wise, this collection is the perfect introduction to the storyteller described as ''one of Africa''s most important living writers''; whose work, now spanning four decades, continues to spin wonder and magic while offering penetrating insight into exile, migration and homecoming. ''In book after book, he guides us through seismic historic moments and devastating societal ruptures while gently outlining what it is that keeps those families, friendships and loving spaces intact'' Maaza Mengiste ''A wondrous writer'' Philippe Sands

Admiring Silence

release date: Jan 01, 1996
Admiring Silence
A man returns to his native Zanzibar after years of exile in England, and must come to terms with the changes both in him and in his childhood home.

African Rhapsody

release date: Jan 01, 1994
African Rhapsody
An anthology of twenty-five short stories by the very best emerging and award-winning contemporary African writers illuminates modern-day concerns and realities of African life and features the writing of Ben Okri, Chinua Achebe, and others. Original.

A Grain of Wheat

release date: Jan 01, 2002
A Grain of Wheat
A masterly story of myth, rebellion, love, friendship and betrayal from one of Africa''s great writers, Ngugi wa Thiong''o''s A Grain of Wheat includes an introduction by Abdulrazak Gurnah, author of By the Sea, in Penguin Modern Classics. It is 1963 and Kenya is on the verge of Uhuru - Independence Day. The mighty british government has been toppled, and in the lull between the fighting and the new world, colonized and colonizer alike reflect on what they have gained and lost. In the village of Thabai, the men and women who live there have been transformed irrevocably by the uprising. Kihika, legendary rebel leader, was fatally betrayed to the whiteman. Gikonyo''s marriage to the beautiful Mumbi was destroyed when he was imprisoned, while her life has been shattered in other ways. And Mugo, brave survivor of the camps and now a village hero, harbours a terrible secret. As events unfold, compromises are forced, friendships are betrayed and loves are tested. Kenyan novelist and playwright Ngugi wa Thiong''o is the author of Weep Not Child (1964), The River Between (1965), and Petals of Blood (1977). Ngugi was chair of the Department of Literature at the University of Nairobi from 1972 to 1977. He left Kenya in 1982 and taught at various universities in the United States before he became professor of comparative literature and performance studies at New York University in 1992. If you enjoyed A Grain of Wheat, you might like Chinua Achebe''s Things Fall Apart, also available in Penguin Modern Classics. ''With Ngugi history is a living tissue ... this book adds cubits to his already considerable stature''Guardian

Memory of Departure

release date: Jan 01, 1987

Essays in African Writing

release date: Dec 04, 1995
Essays in African Writing
A collection of essays reappraising literary criticism on African writing to date and challenging readers'' assumptions.
15 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2023 Aboutread.com