New Release Books by Ellen Oh

Ellen Oh is the author of Spirit Hunters #3: Something Wicked (2022), Finding Junie Kim (2021), The Dragon Egg Princess (2020), Spirit Hunters #2: The Island of Monsters (2018) and other 5 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

9 results found

Spirit Hunters #3: Something Wicked

release date: Jul 19, 2022
Spirit Hunters #3: Something Wicked
The riveting conclusion to the acclaimed Spirit Hunters series! We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh delivers the final book in her middle grade series Spirit Hunters, a gripping mystery and thrilling adventure, starring a Korean-American heroine and a diverse cast of characters. Harper is dealing with too many new changes in her house. Her cousin, Leo, is now living with them; her sister, Kelly, has started working at a local makeup store, Jeune; and Harper''s spirit hunter abilities have grown increasingly more powerful and uncontrollable, making her a target for possession. But when Harper and Dayo uncover a dangerous plot to steal youth from millions of innocent people, Harper must use all her powers to destroy an ancient evil and save her sister. Can our intrepid spirit hunters rescue Kelly before it’s too late? A spellbinding, spooky, middle grade series, perfect for Halloween! Don''t miss the first two thrilling books in this series from Ellen Oh: Spirit Hunters Spirit Hunters #2: The Island of Monsters

Finding Junie Kim

release date: May 04, 2021
Finding Junie Kim
For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina’s Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents’ extraordinary strength and finds her voice. Inspired by her mother’s real-life experiences during the Korean War, Oh’s characters are real and riveting. “Both unique and universal, timely and timeless.” —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home "A moving story that highlights how to find courage in the face of unspeakable hardship." —Hena Khan, award-winning author of Amina’s Voice "Junie discovers where she comes from and gains the courage to make a difference in the future." —Wendy Wan-Long Shang, award-winning author of The Great Wall of Lucy Wu Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps her head down and tries not to draw attention to herself. But when racist graffiti appears at her middle school, Junie must decide between staying silent or speaking out. Then Junie’s history teacher assigns a project and Junie decides to interview her grandparents, learning about their unbelievable experiences as kids during the Korean War. Junie comes to admire her grandma’s fierce determination to overcome impossible odds, and her grandpa’s unwavering compassion during wartime. And as racism becomes more pervasive at school, Junie taps into the strength of her ancestors and finds the courage to do what is right. Finding Junie Kim is a reminder that within all of us lies the power to overcome hardship and emerge triumphant. Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book A Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year Included in NPR’s 2021 Books We Love List 2021 Nerdy Award Winner

The Dragon Egg Princess

release date: Mar 03, 2020
The Dragon Egg Princess
Perfect for fans of Wing & Claw, this must-have middle grade novel is from We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh! “Filled with strange terrains, creatures, and magic, this is an enthralling read!”—Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series "A rich and wonderfully imagined story about the many ways young people can be powerful and the tremendous benefits of awakening your inner dragon." —Annie Ursu, National Book Award for Young People’s Literature nominee for The Real Boy “By drawing inspiration from Korean lore and culture, Ellen Oh is helping to reinvigorate the fantasy genre. Readers will love The Dragon Egg Princess for its humor, inventive magic, and thrilling action!” —Linda Sue Park, Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author In a kingdom filled with magic, Jiho Park and his family are an anomaly—magic doesn’t affect them. Jiho comes from a long line of forest rangers who protect the Kidahara—an ancient and mysterious wood that is home to powerful supernatural creatures. But Jiho wants nothing to do with the dangerous forest. Five years ago, his father walked into the Kidahara and disappeared. Just like the young Princess Koko, the only daughter of the kingdom’s royal family. Jiho knows better than anyone else the horrors that live deep in the magical forest and how those who go in never come back. Now the forest is in danger from foreign forces that want to destroy it, and a long-forgotten evil that’s been lurking deep in the Kidahara for centuries finally begins to awaken. Can a magic-less boy, a fierce bandit leader, and a lost princess join forces and save their worlds before it’s too late?

Spirit Hunters #2: The Island of Monsters

release date: Jul 31, 2018
Spirit Hunters #2: The Island of Monsters
The thrilling sequel to the Texas Bluebonnet Award-nominated Spirit Hunters! We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh delivers the next haunting tale in her acclaimed middle grade series Spirit Hunters, a mix of captivating mystery and chilling ghost story. The perfect spooky read for Halloween, this pulse-pounding adventure will leave you shocked at every twist. Harper Raine faces new challenges ahead when her parents take the whole family to a remote tropical island for vacation. As Harper starts to have visions of the resort’s history of disappearances and discovers more about the island’s dark and fabled past, she must use her newly acquired spirit hunting talents to save everyone on the island from murderous spirits on the attack. An exciting and spooky middle grade series, perfect for Halloween reads.

Already Readers and Writers

release date: Jan 01, 2020
Already Readers and Writers
By showcasing their experiences and activities, and positioning NCTE policy statements--The Students'' Right to Read and NCTE Beliefs about the Students'' Right to Write--as foundational guiding documents, Ochoa and her colleagues prove that even in today''s standards-driven environment, authentic reading and writing practices can create literacy-rich middle school classrooms. To help all middle school educators encourage their students to build literate lives both within the classroom and well beyond it, veteran middle school teacher Jennifer Ochoa has brought together middle school teachers and teacher leaders, children''s author and We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh, children''s literature scholar Kristin McIlhagga, reading and writing workshop teacher-author Linda Rief, and censorship expert Millie Davis to examine current middle school literacy practices that support students'' rights to read and write. By showcasing their experiences and activities, and positioning NCTE policy statements--The Students'' Right to Read and NCTE Beliefs about the Students'' Right to Write--as foundational guiding documents, Ochoa and her colleagues prove that even in today''s standards-driven environment, authentic reading and writing practices can create literacy-rich middle school classrooms. As a bonus, teachers who don''t have strong support in their schools to implement these practices will find a myriad of suggestions for developing a virtual personal learning network--a grassroots professional development tailored to their needs and interests--that will support them in their efforts to help kids as readers and writers.

Behind the Song

release date: Sep 05, 2017
Behind the Song
A song to match everyone''s heartbeat. A soaring melody, a pulse-pounding beat, a touching lyric: Music takes a moment and makes it a memory. It''s a universal language that can capture love, heartbreak, loss, soul searching, and wing spreading-all in the span of a few notes. In Behind the Song, fourteen acclaimed young adult authors and musicians share short stories and personal essays inspired by the songs, the albums, the musicians who move them. So cue up the playlist and crank the volume. This is an anthology you''ll want to experience on repeat.

King

release date: Mar 31, 2015
King
King by Ellen Oh, founder of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, will be loved by fans of such fantasy and action/adventure book as Kristin Cashore''s Graceling, Tamora Pierce''s Tortall novels, and Marie Lu''s Legend series. This thrilling and romantic conclusion to the Prophecy series brings Kira her final quest. Girl warrior, demon slayer, tiger spirit of the yellow eyes—Kira is one captivating heroine. Author Marie Lu raved, "After finishing my journey with Kira, all I wanted was more!" Here is the much-anticipated final installment in the Prophecy series! Kira, once an outcast in her home village of Hansong, is now the only one with the power to save her kingdom. All eyes are on her. Kira braves a sea of tigers and battles armies of demons as she learns to trust herself, the romantic feelings for Jaewon that are growing within her, and the destiny that must be hers.

Warrior

release date: Dec 31, 2013
Warrior
Warrior by Ellen Oh, founder of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, will appeal to action-fantasy fans of Ranger''s Apprentice, Eon, and Marie Lu''s Legend series! With a strong heroine, romantic intrigue, and mythical creatures, such as a nine-tailed fox demon and a goblin army, Kira, the yellow-eyed demon slayer who protected her kingdom in Prophecy, is back—and her dramatic quest is far from over. Kira has valiantly protected her kingdom—and the crown prince—and is certain she will find the second treasure needed to fulfill the Dragon King''s prophecy. After finishing Ellen''s first novel, Prophecy, School Library Journal said they were "ready for a sequel." Well . . . here it is! Filled with ancient lore and fast-paced excitement, this page-turning series is one riveting adventure!

Prophecy

release date: Jan 02, 2013
Prophecy
For fans of bestselling author Marie Lu comes this heart-stopping first book in Ellen Oh’s trilogy about the greatest warrior in all of the Seven Kingdoms . . . a girl with yellow eyes. Intrigue and mystery, ancient lore and action-packed fantasy come together in this incredible debut! Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and she’s also the prince’s bodyguard. A demon slayer and an outcast, she’s hated by nearly everyone in her home city of Hansong. And she’s their only hope. . . . Murdered kings and discovered traitors point to a demon invasion, sending Kira on the run with the young prince. He may be the savior predicted in the Dragon King’s prophecy, but the legendary lost ruby treasure just might be the true key to victory. With only the guidance of the cryptic prophecy, Kira must battle demon soldiers, an evil shaman, and the Demon Lord himself to find what was once lost, while raising a prince into a king.
9 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com