Best Selling Books by Jeanne Birdsall

Jeanne Birdsall is the author of The Penderwicks at Last (2019), The Penderwicks in Spring (2016), The Penderwicks Collection (2014), The Penderwicks at Point Mouette (2012) and other 7 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

11 results found

The Penderwicks at Last

release date: May 14, 2019
The Penderwicks at Last
Return to the place where it all began for a Penderwick wedding--and the finale to a National Book Award winning and New York Times bestselling series! Lydia''s older sister Rosalind is getting married and in the most perfect setting--Arundel! Now, the entire family is going back to the spot where they met their "honorary brother" Jeffrey and had endless adventures! And sure enough, the adventures do not stop. There are close calls involving almost too many dogs to count, dances at bus stops. and the reappearance of a longtime enemy. But most of all, there are six siblings with a bond that''s as unshakeable as ever. The Penderwicks at Last may be the end of a cherished series, but the family we love will never be forgotten.

The Penderwicks in Spring

release date: Feb 23, 2016
The Penderwicks in Spring
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family. Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart. Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what''s hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

The Penderwicks Collection

release date: Jun 24, 2014
The Penderwicks Collection
A digital collection of the first three Penderwicks novels. With over one million copies sold, this irresistible series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

release date: May 08, 2012
The Penderwicks at Point Mouette
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! When summer comes around, it''s off to the beach for Rosalind . . . and off to Maine with Aunt Claire for the rest of the Penderwick girls, as well as their old friend, Jeffrey. That leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick)—a terrifying notion for all, but for Skye especially. Things look good as they settle into their cozy cottage, with a rocky shore, enthusiastic seagulls, a just-right corner store, and a charming next-door neighbor. But can Skye hold it together long enough to figure out Rosalind''s directions about not letting Batty explode? Will Jane''s Love Survey come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty—contrary to all accepted wisdom—the only Penderwick capable of carrying a tune? And will Jeffrey be able to keep peace between the girls . . . these girls who are his second, and most heartfelt, family? It''s a rollicking ride as the Penderwicks continue their unforgettable adventures in a story filled with laughs and joyful tears!

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

release date: Mar 23, 2010
The Penderwicks on Gardam Street
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating—and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan—a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

My Favorite Pets

release date: Jul 05, 2016
My Favorite Pets
A hilarious picture book from New York Times bestselling author of The Penderwicks Jeanne Birdsall and New York Times bestselling illustrator Harry Bliss about one child''s outrageous school essay on his "pet" sheep. Things to know about sheep: Sheep live outside. Sheep have wool. Sheep will not learn to ride a skateboard. Sheep will not climb a tree. Sheep will come into the house...but this will get you into trouble. Seventeen sheep plus one Gus means that life is never dull on the farm! From National Book Award winning author Jeanne Birdsall and New York Times Bestselling illustrator Harry Bliss comes a hilarious tale about man''s other best friend.

Flora's Very Windy Day

release date: Aug 23, 2010
Flora's Very Windy Day
When Flora and her pesky little brother, Crispin, are whisked away by a swirling and swooping wind, she gets the opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to give her brother away. With tempting offers from a dragonfly, the man in the moon, and even the wind itself, she will find it difficult to choose. But Flora would do anything to get rid of Crispin, wouldn’t she? Jeanne Birdsall’s utterly charming picture book takes flight in Matt Phelan’s twisting, twirling watercolors, brimming with wit and whimsy.

Teaflet and Roog Make a Mess

release date: May 11, 2021
Teaflet and Roog Make a Mess
A silly, illustrated adventure from the National Book Award-winning author of The Penderwicks--perfect for children newly reading on their own! Teaflet and her brother, Roog, are ready to throw their annual strawberry jam party for their friends in Trefldom. They want it to be the best party ever, even ten times better than the best party ever! But the inspector of neatness is coming to examine their higgledy-piggledy house from top to bottom. If she finds even one pinch of dirt, or one messy bed, the party will be canceled. Teaflet promises to clean while Roog bakes for the party. But will she be distracted by animals needing her help, like the toad whose tongue drags on the ground? Or will she finish in time and save the party?

The Penderwicks 3-Book Boxed Set

release date: Mar 25, 2014
The Penderwicks 3-Book Boxed Set
Collects three adventures featuring the Penderwick sisters, including a summer spent on a beautiful estate; saving their father from his sister''s plans to get him a date; and a summer holiday for Rosalind without her sisters.

Lucky and Squash

release date: May 01, 2012
Lucky and Squash
Lucky and Squash are next-door neighbors and best friends. But there''s a locked gate between them, so they can never play together. If only their owners fell in love and got married, Lucky and Squash would be brothers. . . . Unfortunately, Miss Violet and Mr. Bernard have never even said hello to each other. The only solution is for Lucky and Squash to run away together, leaving a trail of clues behind them. Then, when their owners come to the rescue, surely they will notice each other and fall in love. Won''t they? National Book Award winner Jeanne Birdsall tells the humorous, heartwarming story of two friends determined to be together, complemented perfectly by Jane Dyer''s exquisite watercolors.

The Penderwicks Paperback 5-Book Boxed Set

release date: Oct 05, 2021
The Penderwicks Paperback 5-Book Boxed Set
All five New York Times bestselling Penderwicks adventures, are now available all together in a boxed set for the first time, perfect for gifting! When The Penderwicks burst into the world, they quickly became a beloved family and a modern classic. Now, for the first time, all five books are available in a charming paperback boxed set, with a brand-new look! This set includes: The Penderwicks, where the Penderwick girls visit the state of Arundel and make an unlikely friend. The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, where Mr. Penderwick considers dating again, but the girls know they can''t let that happen! The Penderwicks at Point Mouette, where the girls go back to Maine and hijinks ensue! The Penderwicks in Spring, where Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family The Penderwicks At Last, where Rosalind gets married and everyone is back together. Filled with humor, family, and high jinx, these stories are as breezy and carefree as a clear June day.
11 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2023 Aboutread.com