Best Selling Books by Joan Lowery Nixon

Discover best selling books by Joan Lowery Nixon from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 127 results
>>

Who Are You?

release date: Sep 25, 2013
Check price
Who Are You?
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Who Are You? from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. Kristi Evans and her parents can’t understand why police detectives are telling them that a man named Douglas Merson has been shot. They’ve never heard of him. But it becomes important when they learn that Mr. Merson has kept a secret file on Kristi for her entire life. Suddenly Kristi finds herself investigating who this man is and why he has intruded on her privacy. When Kristi goes to see Mr. Merson in the hospital, she discovers he is a professional artist; he even offers to help her pursue her own dream of being an artist. Kristi has always wanted someone with whom she could share her passion for art. Her parents not only don’t understand it, they want her to do something more practical. Now this stranger seems to be offering Kristi the piece that has been missing from her life all along, but at what cost to her relationship to her parents? Who is this man who seems too good to be true? “[A] fast-paced mystery…[that] hook[s] and hold[s] readers until all is resolved at the finish.” –Publishers Weekly “Appealing characters, an interesting scenario, and a fascinating peek into the big-money art world will keep the pages turning.” –Booklist “Lots of action and Kristi is a likable heroine…A solid offering for mystery fans.” –School Library Journal

A Candidate for Murder

release date: Sep 25, 2013
Check price
A Candidate for Murder
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes A Candidate For Murder from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. A suspense novel set in the world of politics. With her father running for governor of Texas, Cary is determined to find out why she appears to be in danger. “A thriller…[with] believable characters and an ever-mounting level of suspense [that will] hold the reader’s attention to the finish.” –Publishers Weekly “Nixon is back doing the kind of book she does best…an inviting read.” –Booklist /2000

The Specter

release date: Sep 25, 2013
Check price
The Specter
Seventeen-year-old Dina is fighting cancer and is angry at the whole world. But when Julie, a nine-year-old survivor of a car accident, becomes Dina's roommate at the hospital, there's no time for Dina to keep on being angry. Because Julie is frightened. Desperately frightened. She's sure that someone caused the accident she was in--someone who will retum to kill her. Now she's insisting on being with Dina all the time. But by befriending Julie, is Dina making herself the target of a dangerous killer?

Land of Hope

release date: Nov 27, 2013
Check price
Land of Hope
The family of Rebekah Levinsky emigrates from Russia and settles in New York City, hoping their dreams will come true. But instead of finding streets paved with gold, they find they must work seven days a week in a sweatshop simply to survive. Will Rebekah conquer the odds and find happiness?

The Trap

release date: Oct 31, 2012
Check price
The Trap
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Trap from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. Julie has the perfect summer plan. She’ll be with her friends on the swim team, and this year, for the first time, they have a chance to make the Interstates. So when her family tells her she’s being sent to spend the summer with her great-aunt and great-uncle at Rancho del Oro, their ranch in Texas, she feels resentful. Once she’s at Rancho del Oro, however, Julie quickly learns that something strange is going on. Pieces of jewelry and other little objects are missing. The older people on the ranch say they may have misplaced the items—but something doesn’t add up. Julie’s Uncle Gabe only broke his ankle when he fell down the stairs from his observatory, but two other men on the ranch have recently died. The deaths have been ruled accidents, but were they? When Julie figures out that Uncle Gabe’s fall was not an accident, she knows she must discover the killer’s identity. Or she could be next. Joan Lowery Nixon expertly combines a family story with a compelling mystery to keep her readers guessing until the very end. “With its twists and turns, this page-turner is a must for mystery fans.” –School Library Journal “[The Trap] maintains a fast pace, with likeable, interesting characters and a dash of romance.” –VOYA “A teen reader can identify with…Julie.” –Kirkus Reviews

Ghost Town

release date: Dec 24, 2008
Check price
Ghost Town
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Ghost Town: Seven Ghostly Stories from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. In the old towns of the Wild West, there’s more to hear than the paint peeling from the deserted storefronts, more than the tumbleweeds somersaulting down the empty streets. If you listen hard, you can hear voices whispering stories. Stories like the one about the lost mine in Maiden, Montana, or how Wyatt Earp won the shoot-out at the O.K. Corral in Tombstone, Arizona. And don’t forget about the Bad Man from Bodie, California—he’s still searching for his lost finger! Can you hear them? “An entertaining collection.” –School Library Journal “Combining history and mystery…[Ghost Town: Seven Ghostly Stories] recalls classic campfire tales.” –Booklist “A well conceived (and titled) collection…[of] chilling short stories.” –Kirkus Reviews

The Dark and Deadly Pool

release date: Oct 31, 2012
Check price
The Dark and Deadly Pool
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Dark and Deadly Pool from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. Liz enjoys her summer pool job at the glamorous Ridley Hotel. Until the dark and lonely night when a ghastly shadow surges up from the pool. A face—eyes wide, mouth gaping—stares at Liz. A hand clutches at her sneaker. Then it, whatever it is, is gone. But danger isn’t. Strange things are happening at the hotel, and a shaken Liz wants to know why. But whoever is behind the trouble will stop at nothing—not even murder—to get what he wants. “[A] suspenseful mystery, rounded out with touches of humor and romance.” –Publishers Weekly

Don't Scream

release date: Sep 25, 2013
Check price
Don't Scream
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Don’t Scream from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. When two new guys start at Jess’s high school, she thinks the year is really looking up. What she can’t know is that there is a connection between them. One has been given a new identity by the government. The other is seeking revenge. Jess doesn’t know whom she can trust. Will she be the next victim? “A page-turner.” –VOYA “An exciting thriller that will keep teens on the edge of their seats.” –School Library Journal

Caught in the Act

release date: Nov 27, 2013
Check price
Caught in the Act
As the saga of the Kelly children continues, Mike Kelly is adopted by a German immigrant farm family living in Missouri. Although they are kind to him, they are mainly interested in having cheap labor.

Nightmare

release date: Dec 18, 2007
Check price
Nightmare
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Nightmare from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon. Emily has never fit in with her overachieving family. Instead of getting straight As, she sits in the back row and hides behind her hair. As a result, her parents have enrolled her for the summer at Camp Excel, an academic camp for underachievers. Emily doesn’t want to go, and not just because she thinks it isn’t necessary. Since she was a child, she’s been plagued by a recurring nightmare. And something about this camp feels familiar. Has she been there before? Why can’t she remember? With the help of two new friends, Emily discovers that her nightmare is not just in her head. Someone at Camp Excel has a secret and will do anything—even kill—to keep Emily from uncovering the truth. “A taut, well-constructed mystery.” –Kirkus Reviews “Readers will once again fall under Nixon’s spell as they enjoy this page-turner.” –School Library Journal “[An] inimitable blend of horror and whodunit.” –Booklist “[Nightmare has] taut suspenseful passages…[and] clever false leads.” –Publishers Weekly
1 - 10 of 127 results
>>


  • Aboutread.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising a program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

  • Copyright © 2021 Aboutread.com