New Release Books by Joyce Sidman

Joyce Sidman is the author of The Girl Who Drew Butterflies (2022), Dear Treefrog (2021), Swirl By Swirl (2018), Round (2017), Hello, Earth! Poems to Our Planet (2020) and other 13 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

18 results found

The Girl Who Drew Butterflies

release date: Jul 26, 2022
The Girl Who Drew Butterflies
SIBERT MEDAL WINNER SEVEN STARRED REVIEWS Newbery-Honor winning author Joyce Sidman explores the extraordinary life and scientific discoveries of Maria Merian, who helped pioneer the truth about metamorphosis and documented the science behind the mystery in this "exceptionally crafted visual biography" (starred review, Kirkus) that features many original paintings by Maria herself.

Dear Treefrog

release date: May 25, 2021
Dear Treefrog
Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor–winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They Saw a Cat. I See You suddenly among the tangled green a tiny dollop of frog where before there was only leaf . . . Are you new here too? When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor–winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit.

Swirl By Swirl

release date: Oct 30, 2018
Swirl By Swirl
Sidman’s lyrical poetry and Krommes’ charming illustrations illuminate this intriguing shape found all throughout the universe. Young readers will enjoy discovering all of the different spirals in nature in this ebook edition. What makes the tiny snail shell so beautiful? Why does that shape occur in nature over and over again—in rushing rivers, in a flower bud, even inside your ear? With simplicity and grace, Sidman and Krommes not only reveal the many spirals in nature—from fiddleheads to elephant tusks, from crashing waves to spiraling galaxies—but also celebrate the beauty and usefulness of this fascinating shape.

Round

release date: Mar 07, 2017
Round
If you look closely, you will find that the world is bursting, swelling, budding, and ripening with round things awaiting discovery—like eggs about to hatch, sunflowers stretching toward the sun, or planets slowly spinning together for billions of years. Whimsical and imaginative, this poetic ode to all that is round and full of wonder by the Newbery Honor–winning author and poet Joyce Sidman, with illustrations by the two-time New York Best Illustrated Book award recipient Taeeun Yoo, inspires curiosity and wonder for this (round) little earth we call home.

Hello, Earth! Poems to Our Planet

release date: Aug 18, 2020
Hello, Earth! Poems to Our Planet
We walk on Earth''s surface every day, but how often do we wonder about the incredible planet around us? From the molten cracks below to the shimmering moon above, Hello, Earth! explores the wonders of the natural world. This playful journey across our puzzle-piece continents does not hesitate to ask questions--even of the Earth itself! Joyce Sidman''s imaginative poems encourage boundless curiosity, and Miren Asiain Lora''s stunning paintings capture the beauty of Earth''s ecosystems, creatures, and powerhouse plants. The book concludes with extensive scientific material to foster further learning about how the earth works, from water cycles to plate tectonics to the origin of ocean tides. A gorgeous, expansive celebration of science and art, Hello, Earth! is a book to cherish in whatever landscape you call home.

Swirl by Swirl (board Book)

release date: Nov 01, 2018
Swirl by Swirl (board Book)
Sidman''s lyrical poetry and Krommes'' charming illustrations illuminate this intriguing shape found all throughout the universe. Young readers will enjoy discovering all of the different spirals in nature in this new board book edition. What makes the tiny snail shell so beautiful? Why does that shape occur in nature over and over again--in rushing rivers, in a flower bud, even inside your ear? With simplicity and grace, Sidman and Krommes not only reveal the many spirals in nature--from fiddleheads to elephant tusks, from crashing waves to spiraling galaxies--but also celebrate the beauty and usefulness of this fascinating shape.

Before Morning

release date: Oct 04, 2016
Before Morning
There are planes to fly and buses to catch, but a child uses the power of words, in the form of an invocation, to persuade fate to bring her family a snow day — a day slow and unhurried enough to spend at home together. In a spare text that reads as pure song and illustrations of astonishingly beautiful scratchboard art, Sidman and Krommes remind us that sometimes, if spoken from the heart, wishes really can come true.

Winter Bees & Other Poems Of The Cold

release date: Nov 04, 2014
Winter Bees & Other Poems Of The Cold
In this outstanding picture book collection of poems by Newbery Honor-winning poet, Joyce Sidman (Song of the Water Boatman, Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night), discover how animals stay alive in the wintertime and learn about their secret lives happening under the snow. Paired with stunning linoleum print illustrations by Rick Allen, that celebrate nature''s beauty and power.

This Is Just to Say

release date: Feb 25, 2014
This Is Just to Say
For use in schools and libraries only. Poems that say "I''m sorry" reveal the power of words to a sixth-grade class.

The World According to Dog

release date: Dec 17, 2013
The World According to Dog
A celebration of canine companions in poems, prose, and pictures: “The selections are funny, adoring, exasperated, and most of all grateful” (Booklist). There’s no relationship quite like the ones we have with our dogs—dogs who befriend us; dogs who annoy, perplex, and accept us. This book explores the special bond between teenagers and their dogs—how days of crowded hallways, pointless assignments, and blinding crushes are brought to balance by our dogs. Including insightful poems by Joyce Sidman and essays in which teens speak for themselves, as well as beautiful photographs by Doug Mindell, The World According to Dog reminds us that at the end of the day, waiting at home, there is always Dog—full of hope and companionship.

What The Heart Knows

release date: Oct 08, 2013
What The Heart Knows
What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms, and Blessings is a collection of poems to provide comfort, courage, and humor at difficult or daunting moments in life. It conjures forth laments, spells, invocations, chants, blessings, promises, songs, and charms. Here are pleas on how to repair a friendship, wishes to transform one’s life or to slow down time, charms to face the shame of a disapproving crowd, invocations to ask for forgiveness, to understand the mysteries of happiness, and to bravely face a dark and different world. These words help us remember or grieve; they bolster courage and guard against evil; they help us celebrate and give thanks. This elegant gift book also includes a red ribbon for readers to mark their favorite poems. Poet extraordinaire Joyce Sidman won the Newbery Honor Medal for Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night and continues to write poetry for children that has been called "fresh," "inspiring," and "accessible" to her young audience. She is intrigued by the idea of "words of power"—chants and charms that were once believed to have real influence in everyday life. Caldecott Honor-winning Pamela Zagarenski''s beautiful art captures a world of emotion and the essence of Sidman''s words.

Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night

release date: Sep 06, 2010
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night
Come feel the cool and shadowed breeze, come smell your way among the trees, come touch rough bark and leathered leaves: Welcome to the night. Welcome to the night, where mice stir and furry moths flutter. Where snails spiral into shells as orb spiders circle in silk. Where the roots of oak trees recover and repair from their time in the light. Where the porcupette eats delicacies—raspberry leaves!—and coos and sings. Come out to the cool, night wood, and buzz and hoot and howl—but do beware of the great horned owl—for it’s wild and it’s windy way out in the woods!

Ubiquitous

release date: Apr 05, 2010
Ubiquitous
From the creators of the Caldecott Honor Book Song of the Water Boatman and Other Pond Poems comes a celebration of ubiquitous life forms among us. Newbery Honor-winning poet Joyce Sidman presents another unusual blend of fine poetry and fascinating science illustrated in exquisite hand-colored linocuts by Caldecott Honor artist Beckie Prange. Ubiquitous (yoo-bik-wi-tuhs): Something that is (or seems to be) everywhere at the same time. Why is the beetle, born 265 million years ago, still with us today? (Because its wings mutated and hardened). How did the gecko survive 160 million years? (By becoming nocturnal and developing sticky toe pads.) How did the shark and the crow and the tiny ant survive millions and millions of years? When 99 percent of all life forms on earth have become extinct, why do some survive? And survive not just in one place, but in many places: in deserts, in ice, in lakes and puddles, inside houses and forest and farmland? Just how do they become ubiquitous?

Red Sings from Treetops

release date: Apr 06, 2009
Red Sings from Treetops
Includes a reader''s guide and an author''s note.

Meow Ruff

release date: Jan 01, 2006
Meow Ruff
A story in concrete poetry in which a dog slips out of his house and meets a white cat left alone on the street. Together their adventure begins.

Song of the Water Boatman

release date: Jan 01, 2005
Song of the Water Boatman
A collection of poems that provide a look at some of the animals, insects, and plants that are found in ponds, with accompanying information about each.

Eureka!

release date: Jan 01, 2002
Eureka!
Presents poems describing inventors and their inventions, including the invention of the printing press, dishwasher, and velcro.

Just Us Two

release date: Jan 01, 2000
Just Us Two
Eleven poems present life from the point of view of various animal fathers and their young, including Emperor penguins, Nile crocodiles, and giant water bugs.
18 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com