Best Selling Books by Richard Howard

Discover best selling books by Richard Howard from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 200 results
>>

Richard Howard Loves Henry James and Other American Writers

release date: Oct 27, 2020
Check price
Richard Howard Loves Henry James and Other American Writers
A lauded American poet's tributes to Walt Whitman and Henry James, now collected for the first time. Richard Howard has long been recognized as one of America’s finest poets, celebrated as an author for his keen engagement with other authors, and especially for his sparkling and trenchant dramatic monologues and two-part inventions. Through the years, Howard has, in this way, given voice to all sorts of historical and literary figures, but two of his favorite subjects are two of his favorite writers—Walt Whitman and Henry James—and this book gathers an array of poems in which he responds to these great gay forebears, as well as to two other beloved Americans, Hart Crane and Wallace Stevens. Here Whitman the good gray poet opens his door to Bram Stoker and to Oscar Wilde; Henry James struggles to take stock of Los Angeles, where he is to have lunch with L. Frank Baum; Edith Wharton reminisces about her fraught friendship with the Master; poor Pansy from The Portrait of a Lady broods on her dreadful father; and late in life Wallace Stevens visits Paris—as Stevens never did. Howard’s wonderful inventions are as expansive and celebratory and human as Whitman, as deeply and subtly inquiring as James, as sumptuously meditative as Stevens, and as arresting and delightful as Richard Howard himself.

Trappings

release date: Jan 01, 1999
Check price
Trappings
Presents a series of monologues in verse, including a response to Browning's "My Last Duchess," views of Milton dictating to his daughters from them, paintings of the theme, and a modern scholar, and a schoolboy's account of a field trip.

Richard Howard Omnibus

release date: Apr 01, 2004
Check price
Richard Howard Omnibus
BONAPARTE'S SONS With the Bourbon monarchy a distant memory, confusion reigns in the French republic of 1795...Facing annihilation on three European fronts, the ruling Directory resorts to enlisting condemned prisoners into the army. Alongside the murderers, rapists and thieves emerge men like Alain Lausard, a military educated aristocrat forced to live as a peasant. Cheating execution for salvation on the battlefield, Lausard turns hardened criminals into a ruthless cavalry unit, spearheading Napoleon Bonaparte's relentless drive through Piedmont and northern Italy. BONAPARTE'S INVADERS Worn down by the blistering heat of the desert, Alain Lausard's cavalry unit summons unknown strengths to resist the Arab warrior raids that blight their path towards the Nile. But as they are drawn deeper into forbidding territory, despair and disease, Nelson's destruction of the French fleet and Bonaparte's obsessive war-mongering convinces Lausard he will never see Paris again...

Edgar Quinet, a Study in French Patriotism. Richard Howard Powers

Check price

The Church Through the Ages

Fellow Feelings

Check price

Bonaparte's Sons

release date: Aug 09, 2018
Check price
Bonaparte's Sons
A fallen aristocrat must prove himself in the furnace of Napoleon’s army... Meet the 'French Sharpe' in this brilliant series of the Napoleonic Wars 1795: Confusion and fear reign in the French Republic. With her troops facing starvation and annihilation on three fronts, France is killing her patriots. Alain Lausard, an aristocrat whose family were massacred in The Terror, rots in prison. But in a desperate move to save the Italian campaign, now commanded by a young Napoleon Bonaparte, the Directory enlists condemned criminals. For Lausard, the promise of death on the battlefield is all he wants. Trained as a soldier, Lausard commands respect for turning his ragged miscreants into ruthless cavalry. Yet tensions remain. As the unit falls under the command of the despotic Cezar, a hazardous mission behind enemy lines threatens everything... Bonaparte’s Sons, the first of the Alain Lausard adventures, is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe, Paul Fraser Collard and Iain Gale. ‘Lovers of historical fiction won’t be able to wait to get their teeth into this one’ Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle ‘A realistic look at the brutality of Napoleonic warfare. An enjoyable read’ Historical Novel Review ‘Howard writes with authority about life in the French army under Napoleon’ Cork Examiner The Alain Lausard Adventures Bonaparte's Sons Bonaparte's Invaders Bonaparte's Conquerors Bonaparte's Warriors Bonaparte's Avengers Bonaparte's Horsemen

Homer. (Translated by Richard Howard.) [With Illustrations.].

Check price

Paper Trail

release date: Oct 12, 2005
Check price
Paper Trail
Richard Howard has been writing stylish, deeply informed commentary on modern culture and literature for more than four decades. Here is a selection of his finest essays, including some never before published in book form, on a splendid range of subjects--from American poets like Emily Dickinson and Marianne Moore to French artists such as Rodin and Michel Delacroix. Also included are considerations of modern sculpture and of the photography of the human body. Howard's intense familiarity with modern poetry is seen to excellent effect in essays on the "poetry of forgetting," on the causes and effects of experimental poetry, and on the first books of poets whose work he helped introduce--among them, J. D. McClatchy, Frank Bidart, and Cynthia MacDonald. Of course, Howard brings to his consideration of French literature a rare wisdom drawn from his celebrated work as a translator of Stendhal and Gide, Barthes and Cocteau, Yourcenar and Gracq. Hilton Kramer once wrote that Richard Howard "performs the essential critical service. He shows us the extent of the terrain. He points out its essential features. And he gives us a very vivid sense of its ethos as well as of its esthetics." Howard, now in his seventy-fifth year, continues his adroit, inventive commentary, which enriches us all.

The Pleasure of the Text

Check price
The Pleasure of the Text
What is it that we do when we enjoy a text? What is the pleasure of reading? The French critic and theorist Roland Barthes’s answers to these questions constitute "perhaps for the first time in the history of criticism . . . not only a poetics of reading . . . but a much more difficult achievement, an erotics of reading . . . . Like filings which gather to form a figure in a magnetic field, the parts and pieces here do come together, determined to affirm the pleasure we must take in our reading as against the indifference of (mere) knowledge." --Richard Howard
1 - 10 of 200 results
>>


  • Aboutread.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising a program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

  • Copyright © 2021 Aboutread.com