New Release Books by Robert Heidbreder

Robert Heidbreder is the author of Alphabet Antics (2022), ROAR-chestra! (2021), Catch the Sky (2020), Our Corner Store (2020), Rooster Summer (2018) and other 15 books.

20 results found

Alphabet Antics

release date: Mar 15, 2022
Alphabet Antics
The letters of the alphabet get up to zany adventures.

ROAR-chestra!

release date: May 04, 2021
ROAR-chestra!
Musical terms come to life, and kids get to join in! A rhythmic poem is paired with exuberant illustrations of a conductor and his animal orchestra to convey the meanings of seven musical terms. The text contains a succinct physical definition for each term. For example, to define glissando the text reads, “Gently gliding, slipping, sliding.” And in the illustrations, the animals use movement to interpret this description, flowing across the spread as if rolling on a wave. Readers will find it easy to learn the terms — and will have great fun playing along! Staccato. Adagio. Allegro. Fortissimo. What child can resist pronouncing these words — or performing them!

Catch the Sky

release date: Sep 29, 2020
Catch the Sky
“Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves.”—Kirkus In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids’ spirits and let their imaginations soar. What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this “lyrical” picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8, the award-winning and critically-acclaimed children’s poet, Robert Heidbreder, shares thirty memorable poems that capture the magic and beauty of all the wonderful things kids can see when they gaze at the sky. Gorgeous illustrations by artist and naturalist Emily Dove depict a diverse cast of children playing and cheering under a sky filled with birds and balloons, snow and shooting stars, sunflowers and falling leaves, and helicopters and kites. “A multicultural cast of children are shown reveling in the outdoors. Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.” —Booklist

Our Corner Store

release date: Apr 01, 2020
Our Corner Store
This delightful novel in verse follows the adventures of a brother and sister around the neighborhood, and especially at the corner grocery store! Race you to our corner grocery store! Stanstones’ corner store is the heart of the neighborhood for the brother and sister in this story. They help to close the store every Saturday and save their pennies to buy candy. The store is the source of many adventures, where they spend a memorably spooky Halloween, play tricks on Mr. and Mrs. Stanstones, and form a search party to find Toby the store cat when he goes missing. What will happen to their beloved corner store when a brand-new supermarket opens up in town? Full of humor and playful language, this novel in verse is a sweetly nostalgic celebration of a time when children had more freedom and a mom-and-pop corner store might be the center of a kid’s world. Based on Robert Heidbreder’s childhood, this follow-up to Rooster Summer can be read as a sequel or a stand-alone story. Chelsea O’Byrne’s vibrant illustrations bring the corner store and its colorful cast of characters to life. Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts: CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.2.4 Describe how words and phrases (e.g., regular beats, alliteration, rhymes, repeated lines) supply rhythm and meaning in a story, poem, or song.

Rooster Summer

release date: Apr 01, 2018
Rooster Summer
Spend a rooster summer on the farm with these irresistible read-aloud poems. For the brother and sister in this novel in verse, each day begins with a barnyard wakeup call. During a summer spent on their grandparents’ farm, they collect eggs from the chicken coop, put on shows for city folks in passing trains, fill in for the farm dog by barking the cows home and dance around the perfectly ripening watermelon growing in Grandma’s garden. All of these barnyard adventures happen in the company of Rexter the rooster, Seed-Sack the mule and Ginger-Tea the farm dog — animal friends that will steal readers’ hearts over the course of a carefree rooster summer. Based on award-winning poet Robert Heidbreder’s childhood, these irresistible read-aloud poems show the tender relationship between children and their grandparents. Madeline Kloepper brings the cast of lovable human and animal characters to life with her vintage art style. This early novel in verse about the simple joys of childhood on a farm is nostalgic yet timeless. Key Text Features poems illustrations headings table of contents Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts: CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.1.3 Describe characters, settings, and major events in a story, using key details. CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.2.4 Describe how words and phrases (e.g., regular beats, alliteration, rhymes, repeated lines) supply rhythm and meaning in a story, poem, or song.

Song for a Summer Night

release date: Apr 24, 2015
Song for a Summer Night
As night falls on a soft summer evening, neighborhood children are drawn out of their houses by the sights and sounds of the world after dark. First the fireflies come sparkling past, followed by a host of domestic and wild animals, from cats and dogs to owls and skunks. Accomplished children’s poet Robert Heidbreder creates a world of enchantment, while Qin Leng’s illustrations conjure the harmonious interplay between our everyday domestic world and one that is just a little bit wilder. All the characters, both human and otherwise, have their moment on the nighttime stage, but eventually, the curtain falls, and sleepiness beckons.

Black and Bittern Was Night

release date: Aug 01, 2013
Black and Bittern Was Night
Halloween has arrived, but so have spooky skul-a-mug-mugs who frighten the grown-ups into calling off trick-or-treating. It’s up to the kids to take back the night! Told in nonsense verse, this scare-fest will have you yak-yawling with fun!

Noisy Poems for a Busy Day

release date: Sep 01, 2012
Noisy Poems for a Busy Day
Chock-full of playful pocket-sized poems that capture adventures big and small in a child’s day, this collection begs to be read aloud from sunup to sundown!

Crocs at Work

release date: Nov 01, 2015
Crocs at Work
The team that created the children's title Crocodiles Play (Tradewind, 2008) and Crocodiles Say (Tradewind, 2006) tackle the world of work, again with laughs and poetry.

A Sea-Wishing Day

release date: Mar 01, 2007
A Sea-Wishing Day
The child and dog who starred in I Wished for a Unicorn return to transform their urban backyard into the high seas, where they encounter a beastly sea monster, buried treasure, a scurvy pirate crew, lovely mermaids, and more.

I Wished for a Unicorn

release date: Jan 01, 2000
I Wished for a Unicorn
A little girl who wishes for a unicorn is content to play with her pet dog instead.

Shake Awakes

release date: Jan 01, 2012
Shake Awakes
A delightful poetry book for young children.

Crocodiles Play!

release date: Mar 01, 2009

See Saw Saskatchewan

release date: Aug 01, 2005
See Saw Saskatchewan
Original, funny and distinctly Canadian, this collection of exuberant rhymes will have kids clapping, dancing, skipping and chanting on a rollicking journey across the country. A companion book to the critically acclaimed Eenie Meenie Manitoba.

Crocodiles Say--

release date: Jan 01, 2005
Crocodiles Say--
Parents, children and teachers will all laugh at the silly antics of the crocs in this wonderful new book by the poet and teacher Robert Heidbreder. Rae Mate's illustrations still charm children and flatter crocodiles everywhere!

Drumheller Dinosaur Dance

release date: Aug 01, 2006
Drumheller Dinosaur Dance
By daylight, the Drumheller dinosaurs rest their ancient bones. But when the moon rises, so do these slumbering skeletons --- ready to tango, fandango, shimmy and shake! This exuberant read-aloud imagines what the dinosaur skeletons of world-famous Drumheller, Alberta, get up to when everyone's asleep. Kids will want to thumpity-thump along with these dynamic dinos as they dance across the dark, dusty Badlands.

Python Play and Other Recipes for Fun

release date: Jan 01, 1999
Python Play and Other Recipes for Fun
This Canadian book of new poems by Robert Heidbreder is illustrated with collage.

Eenie Meenie Manitoba

release date: Jan 15, 2000
Eenie Meenie Manitoba
Original, funny and distinctly Canadian, Eenie Meenie Manitoba is a playful collection of 37 rhymes, chants and poems. From lobsters and maple syrup to skating on the Rideau Canal and grinding prairie wheat, images of Canada fill every page. Plus, many of the poems are accompanied by sidebars suggesting actions --- such as clapping, skipping and ball-bouncing. This collection invites kids to have fun and get actively involved in poetry.

Don't Eat Spiders

release date: Jan 01, 1997
Don't Eat Spiders
Don't Eat Spiders is published by Fitzhenry and Whiteside.
20 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2023 Aboutread.com