New Release Books by Robert Kolker

Robert Kolker is the author of Hidden Valley Road (2020), Lost Girls (2020), Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family (2020), Film, Form, and Culture (2015) and , Media Studies (2009).

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

5 results found

Hidden Valley Road

release date: Apr 09, 2020
Hidden Valley Road
12 children. 6 of them diagnosed with schizophrenia. Science''s greatest hope in understanding the disease. ___________ *ONE OF BARACK OBAMA''S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2020* *TIME 100 Must-Read Books Of 2020 Pick* *New York Times bestseller* *Selected as Oprah''s Book Club Pick* ''Startlingly intimate'' - The Sunday Times ''Grippingly told and brilliantly reported'' - Mail on Sunday ''Unforgettable'' - The Times For fans of Educated, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and Three Identical Strangers Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don''s work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins - aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony - and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after the other, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institutes of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother, to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amidst profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family''s unforgettable legacy of suffering, love and hope. ''An extraordinary case study and tour de force of reporting'' - Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind ''This book tore my heart out. It is a revelation-about the history of mental health treatment, about trauma, foremost about family-and a more-than-worthy follow-up to Robert Kolker''s brilliant Lost Girls'' -Megan Abbott, Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me and Give Me Your Hand ''Hidden Valley Road contains everything: scientific intrigue, meticulous reporting, startling revelations, and, most of all, a profound sense of humanity. It is that rare book that can be read again and again'' -David Grann, author of Killers of the Flower Moon

Lost Girls

release date: Feb 04, 2020
Lost Girls
New York Times Bestseller • Now a Netflix Film “Rich, tragic...monumental . . . true-crime reporting at its best.”—Washington Post The bestselling account of the lives of five young women whose fates converged in the perplexing case of the Long Island Serial Killer. Now updated, with a new epilogue by the author. One late spring evening in 2010, Shannan Gilbert—after running through the oceanfront community of Oak Beach screaming for her life—went missing. No one who had heard of her disappearance thought much about what had happened to the twenty-four-year-old: she was a Craigslist escort who had been fleeing a scene—of what, no one could be sure. The Suffolk County police, too, seemed to have paid little attention—until seven months later, when an unexpected discovery in a bramble alongside a nearby highway turned up four bodies, all evenly spaced, all wrapped in burlap. But none of them Shannan’s. There was Maureen Brainard-Barnes, last seen at Penn Station in Manhattan three years earlier, and Melissa Barthelemy, last seen in the Bronx in 2009. There was Megan Waterman, last seen leaving a hotel in Hauppauge, Long Island, just a month after Shannon’s disappearance in 2010, and Amber Lynn Costello, last seen leaving a house in West Babylon a few months later that same year. Like Shannan, all four women were petite, in their twenties, and had come from out of town to work as escorts, and they all had advertised on Craigslist and its competitor, Backpage. Lost Girls is a portrait of unsolved murders in an idyllic part of America, of the underside of the Internet, and of the secrets we keep without admitting to ourselves that we keep them. Long considered “one of the best true-crime books of all time” (Time), this edition includes a new epilogue that speaks to developments in the case, including the shocking fate of Mari Gilbert, Shannan’s mother, for whom this case became the crusade of a lifetime.

Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family

release date: Jul 01, 2020
Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family
The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science''s great hope in the quest to understand the disease. Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don''s work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins--aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony--and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after another, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institute of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amid profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family''s unforgettable legacy of suffering, love, and hope

Film, Form, and Culture

release date: Aug 14, 2015
Film, Form, and Culture
Film, Form, and Culture (4th edition) offers a lively introduction to both the formal and cultural aspects of film. With extensive analysis of films past and present, this textbook explores film from part to whole; from the smallest unit of the shot to the way shots are edited together to create narrative. It then examines those narratives (both fiction and non-fiction) as stories and genres that speak to the culture of their time and our perceptions of them today. Composition, editing, genres (such as the gangster film, the Western, science fiction, and melodrama) are analyzed alongside numerous images to illustrate the discussion. Chapters on the individuals who make films - the production designer, cinematographer, editor, composer, producer, director, and actor - illustrate the collaborative nature of filmmaking. This new edition includes: An expanded discussion of the digital ''revolution" in filmmaking: exploring the movement from celluloid to digital recording and editing of images, as well as the use of CGI A new chapter on international cinema that covers filmmaking from Italy to Mumbai offering students a broader understanding of cinema on a worldwide scale A new chapter on film acting that uses images to create a small catalogue of gestures and expressions that are recognizable in film after film Expanded content coverage and in-depth analysis throughout, including a visual analysis of a scene from Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight An expanded chapter on the cultural contexts of film summarizes the theories of cultural and media studies, concluding with a comparative analysis of Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo and Judd Apatow’s This is 40 Over 260 images, many in color, that create a visual index to and illustration of the discussion of films and filmmaking Each chapter ends with updated suggestions for further reading and viewing, and there is an expanded glossary of terms. Additional resources for students and teachers can also be found on the companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/kolker), which includes additional case studies, discussion questions and links to useful websites. This textbook is an invaluable and exciting resource for students beginning film studies at undergraduate level.

Media Studies

release date: Mar 03, 2009
Media Studies
Media Studies is a comprehensive text for introductory and advanced courses in the growing field of media studies, integrating history with close textual analysis in a concise, readable style. Explores the growing synergies between print and online journalism, and the growth of independent journalism through blogging Discusses the ways advertising is connected to print and screen, economically and from the perspective of the reader Gives students the analytical skills they need in a presentation that is readable without sacrificing complexity Allows students to move within the media they know while increasing comprehension
5 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com