New Release Books by Rosanne Parry

Rosanne Parry is the author of Big Truck Day (2022), A Whale of the Wild (2020), Last of the Name (2019), The Turn of the Tide (2017) and other 6 books.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

10 results found

Big Truck Day

release date: Sep 27, 2022
Big Truck Day
Get ready for Big Truck Day! Celebrate trucks, reading, sharing, and community with award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author Rosanne Parry and debut illustrator Niki Stage. Big Truck Day is a wonderful choice for readers who love vehicles of all kinds and for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site and Little Blue Truck. Told in a lively rhyming text, two parallel stories follow children and drivers motoring to the library for a very special event: a book drive! Join friends and neighbors of all ages as they salute big trucks, great books, and community helpers . . . and stay for the reveal of the new library bookmobile made possible by book donations from the community. Hooray! With New York Times-bestselling author Rosanne Parry''s irresistible text and debut illustrator Niki Stage''s vibrant and detailed illustrations, Big Truck Day is a celebration of libraries, books, communities, and things that go. Includes a note with archival photographs about the history of bookmobiles.

A Whale of the Wild

release date: Sep 01, 2020
A Whale of the Wild
“A spellbinding, heart-stopping adventure.” —Booklist (starred review) “A dreamily written, slyly educational, rousing maritime adventure.” —New York Times Book Review In the stand-alone companion to the New York Times–bestselling A Wolf Called Wander, a young orca whale must lead her brother on a tumultuous journey to be reunited with their pod. This gorgeously illustrated animal adventure novel explores family bonds, survival, global warming, and a changing seascape. Includes information about orcas and their habitats. For Vega and her family, salmon is life. And Vega is learning to be a salmon finder, preparing for the day when she will be her family’s matriarch. But then she and her brother Deneb are separated from their pod when a devastating earthquake and tsunami render the seascape unrecognizable. Vega must use every skill she has to lead her brother back to their family. The young orcas face a shark attack, hunger, the deep ocean, and polluted waters on their journey. Will Vega become the leader she’s destined to be? A Whale of the Wild weaves a heart-stopping tale of survival with impeccable research on a delicate ecosystem and threats to marine life. New York Times-bestselling author Rosanne Parry’s fluid writing and Lindsay Moore’s stunning artwork bring the Salish Sea and its inhabitants to vivid life. An excellent read-aloud and read-alone, this companion to A Wolf Called Wander will captivate fans of The One and Only Ivan and Pax. Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout, a map, and extensive backmatter about orcas and their habitats.

Last of the Name

release date: Apr 02, 2019
Last of the Name
In 1863, twelve-year-old Danny and his older sister Kathleen arrive in New York City to start a new life, but they soon find themselves navigating through the same prejudices and struggles they experienced in Ireland.

The Turn of the Tide

release date: Feb 21, 2017
The Turn of the Tide
From acclaimed author of A Wolf Called Wander, Rosanne Parry comes an exciting and tender friendship story about two cousins looking for their destiny. On a beautiful day in June, the ground broke open. In Japan, you’re always prepared for an earthquake. That’s why Kai knows just what to do when the first rumbles shake the earth. But he does the exact opposite of what you’re supposed to do: He runs. And then the tsunami hits. Meanwhile, on the other side of the Pacific, Kai’s cousin Jet sets sail off the coast of Astoria, Oregon. She knows she should have checked the tide—she always checks the tide. Except this time she didn’t. When the biggest mistakes of their lives bring them together, Jet and Kai spend the summer regretting that one moment when they made the wrong decision. But there’s something about friendship that heals all wounds, and together, Jet and Kai find the one thing they never thought they’d have again—hope.

Shout

release date: Feb 02, 2020
Shout
The 25 incredibly talented authors and poets in this anthology aren''t politicians asking for your vote. They aren''t policy wonks peddling a three-point plan to undo the damage of the Trump administration. They aren''t partisans concerned with winning at any cost. They are artists of different genders, races, nationalities, and religions. They''re emerging authors and New York Times bestsellers. In this collection, you''ll find stories that explore futures where climate change, sexism, racism, and capitalism have run rampant in ways that should only be left to the imagination. These writers are staring, clear-eyed, at the rising tide of fascism in the United States and around the globe. They''re asking you: "What kind of world do you want to live in tomorrow?" and "Who do you want to be today?" And they aren''t asking quietly.

Written in Stone

release date: Aug 08, 2014
Written in Stone
A young girl in a Pacific Northwest Native American tribe in the 1920s must deal with the death of her father and the loss of her tribe''s traditional ways.

Second Fiddle

release date: Mar 13, 2012
Second Fiddle
When 13-year-old Jody and her friends save a badly beaten Russian soldier from drowning, they put into motion a chain of events that will take them from Berlin to Paris and straight into danger. Jody must quickly learn to trust herself, because in the time directly after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the border between friend and enemy is not as clear as it once was. Award-winning author of Heart of a Shepherd, Rosanne Parry, offers a fast-paced, coming-of-age story filled with adventure, music, friendship, and intrigue.

Heart of a Shepherd

release date: Jul 13, 2010
Heart of a Shepherd
From acclaimed author of A Wolf Called Wander, Rosanne Parry welcomes readers into the Heartland in this tender coming-of-age story. When Brother''s dad is shipped off to Iraq, along with the rest of his reserve unit, Brother must help his grandparents keep the ranch going. He’s determined to maintain it just as his father left it, in the hope that doing so will ensure his father’s safe return. The hardships Brother faces will not only change the ranch, but also reveal his true calling.

A Wolf Called Wander

release date: Aug 15, 2022

Daddy's Home!

release date: Jan 01, 2009
Daddy's Home!
Pictures and rhyming text depict a father coming home at the end of the day and unwinding from work as he participates in the bedtime rituals of his son.
10 results found


  • Aboutread.com makes it one-click away to discover great books from local library by linking books/movies to your library catalog search.

  • Copyright © 2022 Aboutread.com