Best Selling Books by Theodore Taylor

Discover best selling books by Theodore Taylor from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 132 results
>>

Billy the Kid

release date: Aug 01, 2006
Check price
Billy the Kid
William H. "Billy the Kid" Bonney Jr. isn't afraid to take risks. But during a train heist near his hometown, the odds catch up with him when a passenger recognizes the nineteen-year-old outlaw. Fed up with Billy's bad ways, The Law sends its best man to bring him in: Sheriff Willis Monroe, Billy's own cousin and former best friend. But Willis isn't the only one on Billy's tail. The Kid's two-timing partners are hunting him, too--and a conniving posse wants Billy (and the sheriff!) dead.This fictional tale of real-life legend Billy the Kid imagines William Bonney's fate had his life of crime taken a very different turn.Includes an author's note about the real Billy the Kid.

Timothy of the Cay

release date: Jan 01, 2007
Check price
Timothy of the Cay
Having survived being blinded and shipwrecked on a tiny Caribbean island with the old Black man Timothy, twelve-year-old Phillip is rescued, in the sequel to The Cay. An ALA Best Book for Young Adults. Reissue.

The Cay

release date: Sep 28, 2011
Check price
The Cay
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay. Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed. When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.” But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy. “Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review “A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews * “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred “Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review “A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly “Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist "This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star · A New York Times Best Book of the Year · A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year · A Horn Book Honor Book · An American Library Association Notable Book · A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember · A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year · Jane Addams Book Award · Lewis Carroll Shelf Award · Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award · Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award · Woodward School Annual Book Award · Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine

The Bomb

release date: Aug 01, 2007
Check price
The Bomb
It is 1946, a year after the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and World War II is over. But the U.S. government has decided that further tests of atomic bombs must be conducted. When Bikini Atoll is chosen for the testing site, the inhabitants of the tiny island are told they must relocate for just two years. But sixteen-year-old Sorry Rinamu believes the Americans are lying and that it will never be safe to return. He must find a way to stop the first bomb before it is dropped . . . even if it means risking his own destruction. Includes a reader's guide and an author's note.

Ice Drift

release date: Mar 01, 2006
Check price
Ice Drift
The year is 1868, and fourteen-year-old Alika and his younger brother, Sulu, are hunting for seals on an ice floe attached to their island in the Arctic. Suddenly the ice starts to shake, and they hear a loud crack--the terrible sound of the floe breaking free from land. The boys watch with horror as the dark expanse of water between the ice and the shore rapidly widens, and they start drifting south--away from their home, their family, and everything they've ever known. Throughout their six-month-long journey down the Greenland Strait, the brothers face bitter cold, starvation, and most frightening of all, vicious polar bears. But they still remain hopeful that one day they'll be rescued. This thrilling new adventure story from bestselling author Theodore Taylor is a moving testament to the bond between brothers--and to the strength of the human spirit. Includes a map, a glossary of Inuit words and phrases, and an author's note..

The Odyssey of Ben O'Neal

release date: Aug 01, 2004
Check price
The Odyssey of Ben O'Neal
Ben and Teetoncey take to the sea--he, to find his brother, and she, to escape a forced return to England. But can they survive storms, harsh ship life, and a relentless pursuer?

Teetoncey and Ben O'Neal

release date: Aug 01, 2004
Check price
Teetoncey and Ben O'Neal
Now recovered from the shipwreck that killed her parents, Teetoncey reveals a secret: Two chests full of silver went down with her ship. Can Tee, Ben, and his friends dredge up the treasure without arousing suspicions?

The Trouble with Tuck

release date: Jan 16, 2009
Check price
The Trouble with Tuck
Available for the first time in a Yearling edition, the classic, inspiring story of a dog who triumphs against all odds, by the bestselling author of The Cay. Helen adored her beautiful golden Labrador from the first moment he was placed in her arms, a squirming fat sausage of creamy yellow fur. As her best friend, Friar Tuck waited daily for Helen to come home from school and play. He guarded her through the long, scary hours of the dark night. Twice he even saved her life. Now it's Helen's turn. No one can say exactly when Tuck began to go blind. Probably the light began to fail for him long before the alarming day when he raced after some cats and crashed through the screen door, apparently never seeing it. But from that day on, Tuck's trouble--and how to cope with it--becomes the focus of Helen's life. Together they fight the chain that holds him and threatens to break his spirit, until Helen comes up with a solution so new, so daring, there's no way it can fail.

The Boy Who Could Fly Without a Motor

release date: May 01, 2004
Check price
The Boy Who Could Fly Without a Motor
Jon Jeffers is the loneliest nine-year-old on earth. It's 1935, and he's stuck on a tiny rocky island off the coast of San Francisco with his mother and his lighthouse-keeper father. Jon longs for something more. If only he had a way to escape this forsaken pile of rocks, he could have some real adventures. Then one morning the irritable ghost of an ancient magician appears on the beach and offers—amazingly—to teach Jon to fly. Jon agrees, and at first flying seems to be the answer to his wildest dreams. But then he flies into some serious trouble. . . . From the acclaimed author of The Cay, here is a sweet, funny, and outrageous tale of a boy who gets his dearest wish—and then wishes he hadn't.

A Literature Kit for The Cay by Theodore Taylor

release date: Jan 01, 2015
Check price
A Literature Kit for The Cay by Theodore Taylor
In this State Standards-aligned Literature Kit, we divide Theodore Taylor's classic THE CAY by chapters, and feature reading comprehension and vocabulary questions.
1 - 10 of 132 results
>>


  • Aboutread.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising a program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

  • Copyright © 2021 Aboutread.com