Best Selling Books by John Marsden

Discover best selling books by John Marsden from local library. Read book reviews and check book availability from public library with one click.

For more book recommendations, please check out New York Times® Best Sellers, Children's Book Recommendations or the complete list of Featured Book Lists and Award Winners

Share
1 - 10 of 110 results
>>

Hamlet

release date: Jun 14, 2011
Check price
Hamlet
The Dane as never seen before -- in a daring, dazzling, sexy prose retelling of Shakespeare’s tragedy by best-selling author John Marsden. (Age 14 and up) Something is rotten in the state of Denmark, but Hamlet can’t be sure what’s causing the stench. His rage at his mother’s infidelities -- together with his greed for the sensual Ophelia and his dead father’s call to revenge a "murder most foul" -- have his mind in chaos, and he wants to scatter his traitorous uncle’s insides across the fields. But was it really his father’s ghost that night on the ramparts, or a hell-fiend sent to trick him? "Action is hot," he tells Ophelia, who lives shut up in a tower with her longings and lust. "Action is courage, and reflection is cowardly. Picking up the knife has the colors of truth. As soon as I hesitate. . . ." In this dark, erotically charged, beautifully crafted novel, John Marsden brings one of Shakespeare’s most riveting characters to full-blooded life in a narrative of intense psychological complexity.

So Much to Tell You

release date: Jan 01, 1990
Check price
So Much to Tell You
Sent to a hospital by her mother, Marina, a disfigured Australian girl who refuses to speak, reveals her thoughts and feelings in a diary.

The Dead of Night

release date: Sep 29, 1997
Check price
The Dead of Night
Australia has been invaded. Nothing is as it was. Six teenagers are living out their nightmare in the sanctuary of a hidden valley called Hell. Alone, they make their own rules, protect what is theirs, and struggle for courage and hope in a world changed forever. Seeking supplies, allies, and information, the friends make forays into enemy territory, drawing on nerve and resourcefulness they never even knew they had. As the risks become greater, so too do the sacrifices they must make. Intense, passionate, and compulsive, The Dead of Night continues the frighteningly real story begun in Tomorrow, When the War Began.

The Head Book

release date: Apr 01, 2009
Check price
The Head Book
Is there a geographical centre of Islam? What was Australia’s political crisis in 1975? Are swinging seats found in a playground or in Australian politics? And why is gravity so heavy, man? John Marsden, Australia’s bestselling writer for teenagers, turns his attention to the inside of the human brain and answers these and other vital questions. From Germaine Greer’s politics and the belief systems of Buddhists and Christians to what Harry said when he met Sally and other movie moments that have become myths, The Head Book is an entertaining collection of bite-sized pieces of vital information, wit and wisdom, and interesting and useful facts.

Checkers

release date: Oct 26, 1998
Check price
Checkers
She lives in the best suburb. She goes to the finest school. Her family is wealthy and powerful. She has everything money can buy. So why are there reporters outside her house? And why is her father telling lies on television? And why is the Premier talking about them in State Parliament? Something is wrong. Something is terribly wrong. Riveting and compulsively readable, John Marsden's Checkers plunges us deep in the mind and world of a teenage girl whose life has spun completely out of control.

The Night Is for Hunting

release date: Oct 29, 2001
Check price
The Night Is for Hunting
Hell’s a big place, but it gets crowded when Ellie and her friends take an uncooperative crew of orphans under their wing and into their hidden refuge. It’s not easy to keep four young children busy and happy in the bush, and things only get worse when Ellie and Homer find evidence that mysterious visitors have discovered their sanctuary. Could it be a patrol of enemy soldiers sent on a search and destroy mission? They find out all too soon. In a time and place where war robs your identity, makes you forget your past and fear your future, it seems impossible for Ellie to make sense of a world that is quickly falling apart. And after a peaceful food raid turns into a nightmarish fight for survival, escape back to Hell seems hopeless. Ellie, Fi, Homer, Lee, and Kevin brave the worst in this electrifying continuation of their battle to stay alive and sane in a war zone that was once their home. The Night Is for Hunting is the sixth book in the Tomorrow When the War Began series.

Somerled

release date: Jan 01, 2008
Check price
Somerled
Depicting a man who was both denounced as an intractable rebel against his rightful king and esteemed as the honored ancestor of the Lord of the Isles, this investigation recounts the life and times of Somerled. Illustrating how he can now be recognized as a complex figure of major prominence in 12th-century Scotland, this overview charts his emergence in the forefront of the Gaelic-Norse aristocracy. All major events are recounted, from his war on the Manx King of the Isles to his extraordinary invasion of the Clyde?cut short by his violent death at Renfrew in 1164. From Scottish chroniclers and Irish annalists to Gaelic tradition bearers, this recollection brilliantly assembles, evaluates, and interprets the full spectrum of historical evidence. Through exhaustive research and painstaking detail, this in-depth study brings Somerled to life as the complex and incredibly influential figure that he was.

The Boy You Brought Home

release date: Jul 01, 2002
Check price
The Boy You Brought Home
From John Marsden, the highly-acclaimed and bestselling author of Secret Men's Business, comes a practical guide to help single mothers enjoy and celebrate raising their sons. Drawing on his years as teacher and mentor to young people, John Marsden follows the child from baby to young man and identifies 101 important steps in fostering a boy's developing masculinity. Written with humour and compassion, John understands what it means to be a boy and how to help a boy grow into a well-adjusted man. RECENT STATISTICS from the Australian Bureau of Statistics: - Out of Australia's 4.6 million children aged under eighteen, 1.1 million children live with only one of their natural parents, usually as a result of relationship or marriage breakdown. - The vast majority of children, who had a natural parent living elsewhere, were in the sole care of the parent with whom they lived, while 3 per cent of children had parents who shared care more evenly between them. - In April 1997, there were 978,000 Australian children who were living with one natural parent and who had a natural parent living elsewhere. The vast majority (88%) lived with their natural mother in either one-parent families (68%) or in step or blended families (20%).

Circle of Flight: The Ellie Chronicles 3

release date: Sep 01, 2010
Check price
Circle of Flight: The Ellie Chronicles 3
The follow-up to the bestselling Tomorrow series BOOK 3 IN THE ELLIE CHRONICLES TRILOGY "Addictive reading" Sydney Morning Herald "Australia's king of young adult fiction" The Australian "Skilfully paced, brimming with well-rounded characters whom you can believe in" The Age You jam on the brakes and stop the ute right at your front door. You jump out. Not for the first time you run into a house that could be full of guns, with death waiting for you. You don't even think of that until you're crossing the threshold... You already know what you're going to find. Underneath the fear and horror and panic there's a cold realisation that Gavin's body will be somewhere in the house. You can picture what those bullets will have done to his little body It is a time of profound change for Ellie Linton. Enemies are everywhere. Some come crawling over the hills; others drive in and knock on the front door. Sometimes her friends are there and sometimes they are not. Ellie fights every inch of the way. But when courage and imagination are not enough, when she is trapped and helpless, Ellie must face the end of life as she knows it... standing alone, sustained only by her own strength. Fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins and John Flanagan will love John Marsden.

Secret Men's Business

release date: Apr 01, 1998
Check price
Secret Men's Business
With Tomorrow, When the War Began, John Marsden wrote the most powerful novel for teenagers ever published in this country. Now he has written the most powerful non-fiction work ever made available to young men. Where Steve Biddulph's bestselling Raising Boys talks to parents and teachers, Secret Men's Business talks to young men themselves, in the way that only John Marsden can. It sets out, in direct, honest language, the things every young man needs to know... And the things young men aren't being told. Young men who read this book will learn how to be strong, how to be honest, how to confront their fears. They'll understand how to deal with men and women, parents and teachers, male friends and female friends. They'll get a sense of the integrity that every true man needs. They'll find ways to resolve problems without being destructive or self-destructive. They'll have their questions about sex answered... In clear, straightforward language. As John Marsden says: "In one way all you have to do to become a man is to stay alive. Physically you'll grow into a man. But to become a man who is mature, independent, responsible and wise, you'll need to do more than just have birthdays."
1 - 10 of 110 results
>>


  • Aboutread.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising a program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

  • Copyright © 2021 Aboutread.com